• Transport performance on inland waterways in the EU increased by 4.3% in the first half year of 2021, compared to the same period one year earlier. The recovery was mainly driven by the dry cargo sector.
• Passenger transport started to recover only in the second half of 2021. However, the number of passengers, and therefore the capacity utilisation of the cruise vessels, remained rather low.

 

FREIGHT TRANSPORT PERFORMANCE IN EUROPE

    TRANSPORT PERFORMANCE IN IWT ON THE NATIONAL TERRITORY OF EACH COUNTRY IN EUROPE – COMPARISON BETWEEN Q1+Q2 2020 AND Q1+Q2 2021 (IN MILLION TKM)*


    Sources: Eurostat [iww_go_qnave], OECD (Republic of Moldova, Switzerland, Ukraine)
    * For the UK, data were not available.

     

    FIGURE 1: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT (IWT) PERFORMANCE IN EUROPE BY REGION AND QUARTER (IN MILLION TKM)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Sources: Eurostat [iww_go_qnave], OECD (Ukraine), Destatis (Rhine and affluents)
    * Danube = TKM in all Danube countries including Ukraine

     

  • The transport performance illustrated in figure 1 shows a steady recovery trend for inland waterway freight transport in Europe, starting in Q3 2020. A weakening in this upward trend occurred in Q3 2021, which can be attributed to floodings in the Rhine region. This period of high water was followed by a period of low water in Q4 2021.
  •  

RHINE AND DANUBE NAVIGATION PER CARGO SEGMENT

    FIGURES 2 AND 3: RHINE TRANSPORT VOLUME UPSTREAM AND DOWNSTREAM FOR MAJOR CARGO SEGMENTS (IN MILLION TONNES, FOR Q1-Q3 OF 2020 AND 2021)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: CCNR analysis based on Destatis
     

  • Cargo transport on the traditional Rhine amounted to 126.4 million tonnes in the first nine months of 2021, compared to 118.1 million tonnes in the same period in the previous year. This implies an increase of 7.0%. Dry cargo and container transport recorded higher volumes (+10.4% and +3.7% respectively) while liquid cargo remained rather stable. Coal transport benefited from high gas prices throughout the year 2021. Overall, the demand for dry cargo ship capacity was rather high in the second half of 2021.
  • For the lock of Iffezheim on the Upper Rhine, data were already available for the entire year 2021. They also indicate an uptake in the first nine months (by 6.0%), but a ‘melting down’ of the latter due to low waters in Q4 2021. For the entire year 2021, cargo volumes remained stable at this lock, which can be regarded as a likely indication also for the entire traditional Rhine for 2021.
  •  

    FIGURES 4 AND 5: MIDDLE DANUBE TRANSPORT VOLUME UPSTREAM AND DOWNSTREAM FOR THE MAJOR CARGO SEGMENTS (IN MILLION TONNES, FOR Q1-Q3 OF 2020 AND 2021)*

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: Danube Commission market observation report
    * Detailed data according to goods segment and quarters are only available for the Middle Danube at Mohács.

     

  • On the Danube, iron ore transport also benefited from higher steel production. The increase in the first three quarters of 2021, compared to the same period in 2020, amounts to 6.8%. However, looking at monthly figures for iron ore, it is seen that this commodity lost about 18-20% of transport volume in August and September 2021 due to a lower available draught of pushed convoys.
  • The agricultural segment of grain follows a rather volatile transport demand on the Danube in general. Whereas grain transport was boosted by good harvests in 2020, it decreased in 2021. There are two main reasons for this. The primary reason lies in developments on the European grain export market. A secondary reason is the start of the above-mentioned low water period.
  •  
     

PASSENGER TRANSPORT IN EUROPE

  • The Danube, as well as the Rhine and its Moselle, Main, Neckar and Saar affluents, are important operating areas for river cruises in Europe, next to the Seine, Rhône and Douro. The Danube alone accounted for around 40% of the European market in terms of the number of cruise passengers (without rivers in Russia and Ukraine) in 2019. Together with the Rhine and Moselle, Main, Neckar, Saar, this share amounted to around 80-85%.1
  • A statistical measurement point for cruise vessels on the Rhine is the lock of Iffezheim on the Upper Rhine.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: NUMBER OF RIVER CRUISE VESSELS PASSING THE LOCK OF IFFEZHEIM ON THE UPPER RHINE PER HALF YEAR

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: German Waterway and Shipping Administration
     

    FIGURE 7: NUMBER OF RIVER CRUISE VESSELS PASSING THE LOCK OF IFFEZHEIM ON THE UPPER RHINE PER MONTH

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: German Waterway and Shipping Administration
     

  • When analysing monthly and half-year figures for 2020 and 2021, it is seen that the ongoing recovery in the cruise sector is concentrated entirely during the period between July and October. The important spring season could not unfold any activity in 2020 and 2021.
  • For the Danube, data are available for the lock of Jochenstein near Passau and the lock of Gabčikovo near Bratislava. The latter is located on the border between Slovakia and Hungary. It is also situated between Vienna and Budapest. Therefore, the passing cruise vessels reflect the cruising activity between two important destinations within the European river cruise sector. Next to Vienna and Budapest, Passau is also an important place where cruise vessels both start and finish their journey.
  •  

    FIGURE 8: NUMBER OF RIVER CRUISE VESSELS PASSING THROUGH THE LOCK OF JOCHENSTEIN NEAR PASSAU ON THE UPPER DANUBE PER MONTH

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: German Waterway and Shipping Administration
     

  • In 2019, 3,668 cruise vessels passed through the lock of Jochenstein, with a total of 512,458 passengers on board. In 2020, the respective numbers were 324 vessel transits and 25,160 passengers.
  • In 2021, a recovery was seen, with 1,255 cruise vessels and 107,727 passengers.
  • Data for the lock of Gabčikovo show a recovery in the number of passengers for the first three quarters of 2021 compared to 2020, of 77.4%. However, the activity in 2021 still lies at 63.9% below pre-pandemic levels. In total numbers, 98,000 passengers on cruise vessels were counted at this border point in (Q1+Q2+Q3) 2021, compared to 55,000 in (Q1+Q2+Q3) 2020, and 568,000 passengers in (Q1+Q2+Q3) 2019. In the whole year of 2019, 720,800 passengers were counted at Gabčikovo.
  •  
     

TRANSPORT VOLUME IN MAIN EUROPEAN IWT COUNTRIES

    FIGURE 9: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT VOLUME IN MAIN EUROPEAN IWT COUNTRIES (IN MILLION TONNES, QUARTERLY DATA OF TRANSPORT VOLUME ON THE NATIONAL TERRITORY OF EACH COUNTRY)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: Eurostat [iww_go_qnave]
    Due to a lack of plausibility of Stat.Bel data as from Q1 2018, the data for Belgium from this quarter onwards were recalculated. This was done by applying the rate of change that is present in the more plausible data from the Flemish waterway administration (De Vlaamse Waterweg). The series for Belgium then follows the trend for Flanders, but is located on a higher level. Compared to previous editions, it was decided to add Serbia, due to high IWT volumes in this country in recent times.

 
 

DRY BULK, LIQUID BULK AND CONTAINER TRANSPORT IN MAIN IWT COUNTRIES AND REGIONS

    FIGURE 10: DRY CARGO TRANSPORT (IN MILLION TONNES)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

     

    FIGURE 11: LIQUID CARGO TRANSPORT (IN MILLION TONNES)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

     

    FIGURE 12: CONTAINER TRANSPORT (IN MILLION TONNES)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

    Sources: Eurostat [IWW_GO_QCNAVE], Destatis. Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek, De Vlaamse Waterweg, SPW Service Public de Wallonie, Voies Navigables de France, Romanian Institute of Statistics
    Note: For Belgium-Wallonia, infra-annual container statistics in tonnes are not available. The product group “machines/other goods” was assumed to consist mainly of container transport. The data contain total IWT on the territory of the country/region.

• La prestation de transport sur les voies navigables intérieures de l’UE a diminué de 4,3% au cours du premier semestre 2021, par rapport à la même période un an plus tôt. La reprise a été principalement portée par le secteur des cargaisons sèches.
• Le transport de passagers n’a commencé à se redresser qu’au second semestre 2021. Cela étant, le nombre de passagers et, par conséquent, l’utilisation de la capacité des bateaux de croisière sont restés plutôt faibles.

 

PRESTATION DE TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES EN EUROPE

    PRESTATION DE TRANSPORT DE LA NAVIGATION INTÉRIEURE SUR LE TERRITOIRE NATIONAL DE CHAQUE PAYS EN EUROPE – COMPARAISON ENTRE LES 1ER ET 2E TRIMESTRES 2020 ET LES 1ER ET 2E TRIMESTRES 2021 (EN MILLIONS DE TKM)*


    Sources : Eurostat [iww_go_qnave], OCDE (République de Moldavie, Suisse, Ukraine)
    * Les données n’étaient pas disponibles pour le Royaume-Uni.

     

    FIGURE 1: PRESTATION DE TRANSPORT DE LA NAVIGATION INTÉRIEURE EN EUROPE, PAR RÉGION ET PAR TRIMESTRE (EN MILLIONS DE TKM)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Sources : Eurostat [iww_go_qnave], OCDE (Ukraine), Destatis (Rhin et affluents)
    * Danube = en TKM dans l’ensemble des pays danubiens, y compris en Ukraine

     

  • Les prestations de transport illustrées à la figure 1 présentent, à partir du troisième trimestre 2020, une tendance régulière à la reprise pour le transport fluvial de marchandises en Europe. Cette tendance à la hausse connaît un fléchissement au troisième trimestre 2021, qui peut être attribué aux inondations dans la région du Rhin. Cette période de crues a été suivie d’une période de basses eaux au quatrième trimestre 2021.
  •  

NAVIGATION SUR LE RHIN ET LE DANUBE PAR SEGMENT DE CARGAISON

    FIGURES 2 ET 3 : VOLUMES DES PRINCIPAUX SEGMENTS DE CARGAISON TRANSPORTÉS VERS L’AMONT ET VERS L’AVAL SUR LE RHIN (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES, T1-T3 2020 ET 2021)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source  : analyse de la CCNR basée sur des données de Destatis
     

  • Le transport de marchandises sur le Rhin traditionnel s’élevait à 126,4 millions de tonnes au cours des neuf premiers mois de 2021, contre 118,1 millions de tonnes au même trimestre l’année précédente, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 7,0%. Le transport de cargaisons sèches et de conteneurs a enregistré des volumes plus élevés (+10,4% et +3,7%, respectivement), tandis que le transport de cargaisons liquides est resté plutôt stable. Le transport de charbon a bénéficié des prix élevés du gaz tout au long de l’année 2021. Dans l’ensemble, la demande de capacité de transport en cale sèche a été plutôt forte au second semestre 2021.
  • En ce qui concerne l’écluse d’Iffezheim située sur le Rhin supérieur, les données étaient déjà disponibles pour l’ensemble de l’année 2021. Elles indiquent également une reprise au cours des neuf premiers mois (de 6,0%), suivie d’une « fonte » due à des périodes de basses eaux au quatrième trimestre 2021. Les volumes de marchandises enregistrés à cette écluse, qui sont restés stables pendant toute l’année 2021, constituent un élément d’appréciation susceptible d’être étendu à l’ensemble du Rhin traditionnel pour 2021.
  •  

    FIGURES 4 ET 5 : VOLUMES DES PRINCIPAUX SEGMENTS DE CARGAISON TRANSPORTÉS VERS L’AMONT ET VERS L’AVAL SUR LE DANUBE MOYEN (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES, T1-T3 2020 ET 2021)*

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source : rapport d’observation du marché de la Commission du Danube
    * Les données détaillées par segment de marchandises et par trimestre ne sont disponibles que pour le Danube moyen à Mohács.

     

  • Sur le Danube, le transport de minerai de fer a également bénéficié de la hausse de la production d’acier. L’augmentation enregistrée au cours des trois premiers trimestres 2021, par rapport à la même période en 2020, correspond à 6,8%. Cela étant, si l’on examine les chiffres mensuels relatifs au minerai de fer, on constate que ce type de marchandise a perdu environ 18 à 20% de son volume de transport en août et septembre 2021, en raison de la diminution du tirant d’eau disponible pour les convois poussés.
  • Le segment céréalier suit une demande de transport plutôt volatile sur le Danube en général. Alors que le transport de céréales avait été stimulé par de bonnes récoltes en 2020, il a diminué en 2021. Il y a deux raisons majeures à cela. La principale raison réside dans l’évolution du marché européen des exportations céréalières. L’autre raison, secondaire, correspond au début de la période d’étiage susmentionnée.
  •  
     

TRANSPORT DE PASSAGERS EN EUROPE

  • Le Danube, ainsi que le Rhin et ses affluents, la Moselle, le Main, le Neckar et la Sarre, constituent des zones d’exploitation importantes pour les croisières fluviales en Europe, en plus de la Seine, du Rhône et du Douro. Le Danube représentait, à lui seul, environ 40% du marché européen en 2019 en ce qui concerne le nombre de croisiéristes (sans compter les voies navigables de Russie et d’Ukraine). Avec le Rhin, la Moselle, le Main, le Neckar et la Sarre, cette part atteignait environ 80-85%.1
  • L’un des points de mesure statistique pour les bateaux de croisière sur le Rhin est l’écluse d’Iffezheim sur le Rhin supérieur.
  •  

    FIGURE 6 : NOMBRE DE BATEAUX DE CROISIÈRE FLUVIALE FRANCHISSANT L’ÉCLUSE D’IFFEZHEIM SUR LE RHIN SUPÉRIEUR PAR SEMESTRE

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source : administration allemande des voies navigables et de la navigation
     

    FIGURE 7 : NOMBRE DE BATEAUX DE CROISIÈRE FLUVIALE FRANCHISSANT L’ÉCLUSE D’IFFEZHEIM SUR LE RHIN SUPÉRIEUR PAR MOIS

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source : administration allemande des voies navigables et de la navigation
     

  • En analysant les chiffres mensuels et semestriels pour 2020 et 2021, on constate que la reprise alors en cours dans le secteur des croisières était entièrement concentrée sur la période comprise entre juillet et octobre. Aucune activité n’a pu être déployée pendant la saison cruciale du printemps en 2020 et 2021.
  • Pour le Danube, les données disponibles sont celles recueillies à l’écluse de Jochenstein près de Passau et à l’écluse de Gabčikovo près de Bratislava. Cette dernière est située à la frontière entre la Slovaquie et la Hongrie. Elle se trouve également entre Vienne et Budapest. Les bateaux de croisière qui la franchissent reflètent donc l’activité de croisière entre deux destinations importantes du secteur européen des croisières fluviales. En plus de Vienne et Budapest, Passau constitue également une étape importante où les bateaux de croisière commencent et terminent leur voyage.
  •  

    FIGURE 8 : NOMBRE DE BATEAUX DE CROISIÈRE FLUVIALE FRANCHISSANT L’ÉCLUSE DE JOCHENSTEIN SUR LE RHIN SUPÉRIEUR PAR MOIS

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source : administration allemande des voies navigables et de la navigation
     

  • En 2019, ce sont 3 668 bateaux de croisière qui ont franchi l’écluse de Jochenstein, comptant un total de 512 458 passagers à leur bord. En 2020, les chiffres sont tombés à 324 passages de bateaux et à 25 160 passagers, respectivement.
  • Une reprise a été observée en 2021, avec 1 255 bateaux de croisière et 107 727 passagers.
  • Les données relevées à l’écluse de Gabčikovo montrent une reprise du nombre de passagers aux trois premiers trimestres de 2021 par rapport à 2020, atteignant 77,4%. Pourtant, l’activité enregistrée en 2021 se situe toujours à 63,9% en dessous des niveaux pré-pandémiques. Au total, 98 000 passagers ont été recensés à bord des bateaux de croisière qui ont franchi ce point frontalier en 2021 (T1+T2+T3), contre 55 000 en 2020 (T1+T2+T3) et 568 000 en 2019 (T1+T2+T3). Sur l’ensemble de l’année 2019 ont été recensés 720 800 passagers à Gabčikovo.
  •  
     

VOLUME TRANSPORTÉ DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PAYS EUROPÉENS CONCERNÉS PAR LA NAVIGATION INTÉRIEURE

    FIGURE 9 : VOLUMES TRANSPORTÉS PAR VOIE DE NAVIGATION INTÉRIEURE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PAYS EUROPÉENS CONCERNÉS PAR LA NAVIGATION FLUVIALE (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES, DONNÉES TRIMESTRIELLES INDIQUANT LE VOLUME TRANSPORTÉ SUR LE TERRITOIRE NATIONAL DE CHAQUE PAYS)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Source: Eurostat [iww_go_qnave]
    En raison d’un manque de plausibilité des données communiquées par Stat.Bel à partir du premier trimestre 2018, les données relatives à la Belgique à partir dudit trimestre ont été recalculées. C’est donc le taux de variation présenté par les données les plus plausibles de l’administration flamande des voies navigables (De Vlaamse Waterweg) qui a été appliqué. La courbe relative à la Belgique suit ainsi la tendance relevée pour la Flandre, en se plaçant toutefois à un niveau plus élevé. Par rapport aux éditions précédentes, il a été décidé d’ajouter la Serbie compte tenu des volumes élevés de transport fluvial enregistrés récemment dans ce pays.

 
 

TRANSPORT DE VRAC SEC, DE VRAC LIQUIDE ET DE CONTENEURS DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PAYS ET RÉGIONS CONCERNÉS PAR LA NAVIGATION FLUVIALE

    FIGURE 10 : TRANSPORT DE CARGAISONS SÈCHES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

     

    FIGURE 11 : TRANSPORT DE CARGAISONS LIQUIDES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

     

    FIGURE 12 : TRANSPORT DE CONTENEURS (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

    Chart by Visualizer

    Chart by Visualizer

    Sources : Eurostat [IWW_GO_QCNAVE], Destatis. Centraal Bureau voor de Statistiek, Destatis, De Vlaamse Waterweg, SPW Service Public de Wallonie, Voies Navigables de France, Institut roumain des statistiques
    Nota : pour la Belgique-Wallonie, aucune statistique infra-annuelle n’est disponible concernant les conteneurs. Il est considéré que le segment de produits « machines/autres marchandises » comprend principalement le transport de conteneurs. Les données recouvrent l’ensemble de la navigation intérieure sur le territoire du pays/de la région.