Aucune correspondance d'année

 

Outlook and specific developments

  • In Sweden, river-sea actors are calling for further alignment of the Swedish inland waterway regulation (implementing the EU Directive 2006/87) with other inland water regulations in the EU, in order to strengthen the competitivity of river-sea transport. Sweden is also one of the very few countries that applies fairway dues for calling ships (with fees dependent on the size of the ship and the weight of the cargo carried). Added to this, pilot fees are expensive.

 

RIVER-SEA TRANSPORT IN ROMANIA

 

Definitions and waterway areas

  • The Lower Danube region in Romania plays an important role for river-sea transport in Europe. Three categories of Danube ports can be identified in Romania: seaports (such as the port of Constanza), river-sea ports (Galati, Braila and Tulcea) and river ports.
  • The river-sea status of the ports of Galati, Braila and Tulcea enables seagoing ships coming from the Black Sea to sail upstream on the Danube to these ports where they can load or unload cargo. The statistical data concerning these three ports are therefore a major source for evaluating the level and the structure of river-sea transport on the Lower Danube.
  • Braila is the boundary port between the “maritime” Danube and the “river” Danube. Downstream of Braila, the Danube is often also called the “maritime Danube”, due to its river-sea character. Upstream of Braila, Danube traffic is classic river traffic (See the article by Radu SAGEATA (2011), River and Sea transports in Romania in the EU strategy for the Danube region perspective). Galati is the biggest river-sea port in Romania and the city of Galati hosts a large industrial area (steel industry).

 


Source: CCNR

Transport by origin and destination

  • Data from the Romanian National Institute of Statistics indicate a volume of almost 1.9 million tonnes of traffic loaded or unloaded by seagoing ships in 2018 in the three river-sea ports mentioned above. The three ports of Galati, Braila and Tulcea represent the river-sea ports of Romania, while Constanza is a seaport.

 

TABLE 2: CARGO VOLUME TRANSHIPPED BY SEAGOING VESSELS IN THE ROMANIAN RIVER-SEA PORTS OF GALATI, TULCEA AND BRAILA (IN 1,000 TONNES)

 201020112012201320142015201620172018
Galati1,7831,5901,3011,2971,2221,3571,2481,1771,320
Braila841703352555565494490410481
Tulcea52125804918999056
Total2,6762,4181,7421,9011,8051,8601,7471,6771,857

Source: Romanian National Institute of Statistics (several annual reports of the series “Harbour transport of goods and passengers”)

 

  • The evolution of river-sea traffic in the three Romanian river-sea ports has shown a constant tendency since 2012, but a certain decrease between 2010 and 2012.

 

FIGURE 6: EVOLUTION OF RIVER-SEA TRANSPORT IN ROMANIAN RIVER-SEA PORTS (IN 1,000 TONNES)

Chart by Visualizer

Source: Romanian National Institute of Statistics (several annual reports of the series “Harbour transport of goods and passengers”)

 

  • There is no detailed statistical information about the countries of loading and unloading of cargo transhipped by river-sea transport for Romania. However, the following table shows that non-EU countries play a quite important role in export traffic (loaded goods). From the Danube Commission’s Market Observation, it can be concluded that the countries of loading and unloading are located mainly in the Mediterranean basin, and in particular in northern Africa, as agricultural products are exported from the Danube region to north Africa and to Spain.

 

TABLE 3: STRUCTURE OF CARGO VOLUME TRANSHIPPED BY SEAGOING SHIPS IN THE RIVER-SEA PORTS OF GALATI, TULCEA, BRAILA (IN 1,000 TONNES, IN 2018)

Loaded goods (exports) Unloaded goods (imports)Total
Intra EU tradeExtra EU tradeIntra EU tradeExtra EU tradeTotal
Galati396560752891,320
Braila2581523536481
Tulcea6050056
Total6607121603251,857

Source: Romanian National Institute of Statistics

 

  • Apart from the loading and unloading activities of seagoing ships in the three river-sea ports themselves, the Sulina Canal, which runs from Tulcea to the Black Sea, is mainly used by seagoing ships.
  • Regarding the volume of cargo traffic on the Sulina Canal, viadonau’s annual report explains that within maritime transport on the Danube, via river-sea ships or sea ships, 4.3 million tonnes of goods were transported via the Romanian Sulina Canal in 2017 (+14.4% compared to 2016) (Source: viadonau (2019), Jahresbericht Donauschifffahrt in Österreich (Annual Report on Danube Navigation in Austria), page 41).
  • In addition, the Danube Commission’s market observation reports mention the Sulina Canal as a waterway with river-sea traffic and indicate the same amount of traffic as viadonau.

 

TABLE 4: RIVER-SEA TRANSPORT ON THE SULINA CANAL, LINKING THE BLACK SEA WITH THE DANUBE (IN MIO. T)

 20142015201620172018
Total3.663.853.764.314.44
Danube → Black Sea3.243.263.253.613.67
Black Sea → Danube0.420.580.510.700.77

Source: Danube Commission market observation

 

  • A third waterway with river-sea traffic, although at a lower degree, is the Danube-Black Sea Canal, that runs between the seaport Constanza and the Danube. In 2017, according to viadonau, 57,000 tonnes of cargo were transported by river-sea ships or seagoing ships on this canal. The total amount of cargo on this canal was much higher in 2017 and represented 13.8 million tonnes.
  • Navigation on the Danube is endangered in winter, when the water freezes once every 2-3 years for a period of some 30-40 days, with floating ice blocks on the channel when the ice thaws.
  • The difference between the volumes documented for the Sulina Canal (4.4 million tonnes) and the volumes documented for the three Romanian river-sea ports (1.86 million tonnes) can be explained by the fact that the Sulina Canal not only relays the three Romanian river-sea ports to the Black Sea, but also the large Ukrainian ports of Izmail, Reni, and the Moldavian port of Giurgiulesti. These Ukrainian and Moldavian ports are located on the “maritime” stretch of the Danube. Their river-sea cargo volumes are of course not taken into account by the Romanian National Institute of Statistics.

 

Transport by type of good

  • The goods transhipped by seagoing ships are mainly dry cargo and conventional cargo. The most important goods categories in the port of Galati are metals and metal products (27% of total river-sea traffic in 2018), agricultural products (22% of total river-sea traffic in 2018), iron ores (14% of total river-sea traffic in 2018).
  • In Braila, 84% of the total river-sea traffic (481,000 tonnes in 2018) was represented by agricultural products in 2018. In Tulcea, 50,000 of the 56,000 tonnes transhipped were made up of iron ores.
  • The detailed structure of the river-sea cargo traffic in these ports (taken together) is seen in the following figure.

 

FIGURE 7: STRUCTURE OF RIVER-SEA TRAFFIC IN THE ROMANIAN PORTS OF GALATI, BRAILA AND TULCEA

Chart by Visualizer

Source: CCNR analysis based on data from the Romanian National Institute of Statistics (http://www.insse.ro/cms/sites/default/files/field/publicatii/transportul_portuar_de_marfuri_si_pasageri_anul_2018_0.pdf)

 

  • With regard to the goods segments for individual ports, the river-sea port of Galati is dominated by metals and metal products, due to the local steel industry, but also offers transhipment of Agribulk. The goods category of waste and municipal waste has increased in recent years.

 

FIGURE 8: RIVER-SEA TRAFFIC IN THE PORT OF GALATI BY TYPE OF GOODS (IN 1,000 TONNES)

Chart by Visualizer

Source: Romanian National Institute of Statistics (several annual reports of the series “Harbour transport of goods and passengers”)

 

  • Braila, the second largest Romanian river-sea port exhibits a majority of grain transport, having had relatively constant volumes between 2015 and 2018. Chemicals do play another, albeit smaller role. And the smallest of the three Romanian river-sea ports, the port of Tulcea, showed a pick-up of iron ore transport in 2017 and 2018, which was not the case in the two previous years.

 

FIGURE 9: RIVER-SEA TRAFFIC IN THE PORT OF BRAILA AND THE PORT OF TULCEA BY TYPE OF GOODS (IN 1,000 TONNES)

Braila

Chart by Visualizer

Tulcea
Chart by Visualizer

Source: Romanian National Institute of Statistics (several annual reports of the series “Harbour transport of goods and passengers”)

 

RIVER-SEA TRANSPORT IN THE NETHERLANDS

 

Definitions and waterway areas

  • The Netherlands have a number of rivers and canals such as the Rhine, Ghent-Terneuzen canal, Maas and IJssel and the Amsterdam-Rijnkanaal, all of which are accessible to river-sea ships.
  • The Dutch waterway administration Rikswaterstaat delivered a dataset in which only seagoing ship traffic is recorded. This dataset was analysed in order to extract information about river-sea transport in the Netherlands. The regions of origin (loading) and destination (unloading) were sorted out according to their location, whether along an inland or a maritime waterway. Based on this classification, river-sea traffic was defined as composed by the following two cases, trips made by seagoing ships partly by inland waterways and partly by sea between:
    1. a region/city of loading located along an inland waterway and a region of unloading located either along an inland or a maritime waterway or a maritime port. If the region of unloading is along an inland waterway, the vessel must cross over maritime waterways between its origin and its destination.
    2. a region/city of loading located along a maritime waterway or a maritime port and a region/city of unloading located along an inland waterway.
  • Trips made by seagoing ships between cities or ports that are both located along a maritime waterway, or if both origin and destination are maritime ports, were not counted as river-sea traffic, because these trips do not fulfil the definition of river-sea transport but are rather short-sea traffic.

 

Transport by origin and destination

  • This analysis delivered a total volume of 4.48 million tonnes of river-sea transport in the Netherlands in 2018. The most important region of destination (where the cargo is unloaded) is the port of Ghent (Ghent was classified as a seaport. Trips where a seagoing ship goes from a river port (e.g. Duisburg) to Ghent were therefore classified as river-sea-traffic. The same applies if a seagoing ship makes a trip from Ghent to a river port. However, trips between Ghent and another seaport, such as Amsterdam or Antwerp, were not classified as river-sea traffic but as short-sea traffic). Indeed, seagoing ships going to Ghent must cross over Dutch territory as Ghent can only be reached via the Lower Scheldt River and the Ghent-Terneuzen-Canal which are wholly or partly on Dutch territory. Around 1.75 million tonnes of cargo (39% of total river-sea transport in the Netherlands) is transported from different regions of origin to the port of Ghent. For example, from the Lower Danube in Romania or Bulgaria (Ruse), from the Lower Rhine (port of Duisburg) as well as from London (the Thames) in the UK.

 

FIGURE 10: COUNTRIES OF UNLOADING WITHIN RIVER-SEA-TRAFFIC IN THE NETHERLANDS (MIO. T) IN 2018

Chart by Visualizer

Source: CCNR analysis based on data from Rijkswaterstaat

2. Transport fluvio-maritime en Europe : le cas des navires de mer exploités sur des voies de navigation intérieure

Télécharger le PDF

 

Perspectives et évolutions spécifiques

  • En Suède, les acteurs fluvio-maritimes appellent à un alignement plus poussé de la réglementation suédoise applicable sur les voies de navigation intérieure (mise en œuvre de la directive 2006/87 de l’UE) sur d’autres réglementations applicables sur les voies de navigation intérieure dans l’UE, afin de renforcer la compétitivité du transport fluvio-maritime. La Suède est aussi l’un des très rares pays à appliquer des redevances fluviales pour les escales de bateaux (les redevances sont calculées en fonction des dimensions du bateau et du poids des marchandises transportées). En outre, les frais de pilotage sont élevés.

 

TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME EN ROUMANIE

 

Définitions et secteurs de voies navigables

  • En Roumanie, la région du Danube inférieur joue un rôle important pour le transport fluvio-maritime en Europe. Trois catégories de ports danubiens peuvent être identifiées en Roumanie : les ports maritimes (tels que le port de Constanza), les ports fluvio-maritimes (Galati, Braila et Tulcea) et les ports fluviaux.
  • Le statut fluvio-maritime des ports de Galati, Braila et Tulcea permet aux navires de mer en provenance de la mer Noire de remonter le Danube jusqu’à ces ports pour y charger ou décharger leurs cargaisons. Les données statistiques concernant ces trois ports constituent par conséquent une source importante pour l’évaluation du niveau et de la structure du transport fluvio-maritime sur le Danube inférieur.
  • Le port de Braila constitue la limite entre le Danube « maritime » et le Danube « fluvial ». En aval de Braila, le Danube est souvent appelé « Danube maritime », en raison de son caractère fluvio-maritime. En amont de Braila, le trafic sur le Danube est un trafic fluvial classique. Galati est le plus grand port fluvio-maritime de Roumanie et la ville de Galati comprend une vaste zone industrielle (industrie sidérurgique) (Voir l’article de Radu SAGEATA (2011), River and Sea transports in Romania in the EU strategy for the Danube perspective).

 

Source: CCNR

 

Transports par origine et destination

  • Les données de l’Institut national roumain de statistique font état d’un volume de près de 1,9 million de tonnes de marchandises chargées ou déchargées par des navires de mer en 2018 dans les trois ports fluvio-maritimes susmentionnés. Les trois ports de Galati, Braila et Tulcea sont les ports fluvio-maritimes de la Roumanie, tandis que Constanza est un port maritime.

 

TABLEAU 2: VOLUME DE CARGAISON TRANSBORDE PAR DES NAVIRES DE MER DANS LES PORTS FLUVIO-MARITIMES ROUMAINS DE GALATI, TULCEA ET BRAILA (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)

 201020112012201320142015201620172018
Galati178315901301129712221357124811771320
Braila841703352555565494490410481
Tulcea52125804918999056
Total267624181742190118051860174716771857

Source : Institut national de statistiques de Roumanie (plusieurs rapports annuels de la série « Manutention portuaire de marchandises et transport de passagers »)

  • L’évolution du transport fluvio-maritime dans les trois ports fluvio-maritimes roumains révèle une tendance constante depuis 2012, avec toutefois une baisse entre 2010 et 2012.

 

GRAPHIQUE 6: ÉVOLUTION DU TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME DANS LES PORTS FLUVIO-MARITIMES ROUMAINS (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)


Source : Institut national de statistiques de Roumanie (plusieurs rapports annuels de la série « Transport portuaire de marchandises et de passagers »)

 

  • Il n’existe pas pour la Roumanie des informations statistiques détaillées sur les pays de chargement et de déchargement des marchandises transbordées par transport fluvio-maritime. Toutefois, le tableau ci-après révèle que les pays hors UE jouent un rôle non négligeable dans le trafic d’exportation (marchandises chargées). L’observation du marché de la Commission du Danube permet de conclure que les pays de chargement et de déchargement se situent principalement dans le bassin méditerranéen, en particulier en Afrique du Nord, dans la mesure où les produits agricoles de la région du Danube sont exportés vers l’Afrique du Nord et l’Espagne.

 

TABLEAU 3: STRUCTURE DES VOLUMES DE CARGAISONS TRANSBORDES PAR DES NAVIRES DE MER DANS LES PORTS FLUVIO-MARITIMES DE GALATI, TULCEA, BRAILA (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES, 2018)

Marchandises chargées (exportations) Marchandises déchargées (importations)Total
Commerce intra-UECommerce extra-UECommerce intra-UECommerce extra-UETotal
Galati396560752891320
Braila2581523536481
Tulcea6050056
Total6607121603251857

Source : Office roumain de statistiques

 

  • Outre les activités de chargement et de déchargement des navires de mer dans ces trois ports fluvio-maritimes, le canal de Sulina, qui relie Tulcea à la mer Noire, est principalement utilisé par les navires de mer.
  • En ce qui concerne le volume de marchandises transportées sur le canal de Sulina, il est indiqué dans le rapport annuel de viadonau que, dans le transport maritime sur le Danube, par navire fluvio-maritime ou navire de mer, 4,3 millions de tonnes de marchandises ont été transportées en 2017 sur le canal de Sulina en Roumanie. (+ 14,4 % par rapport à 2016)» (Source : viadonau (2019), Jahresbericht Donauschifffahrt in Österreich (Rapport annuel relatif à la navigation sur le Danube en Autriche) page 41).
  • En outre, les rapports d’observation du marché de la Commission du Danube mentionnent le canal de Sulina comme étant une voie navigable avec un trafic fluvio-maritime et font état du même volume de marchandises que viadonau.

 

TABLEAU 4: TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME SUR LE CANAL SULINA, RELIANT LA MER NOIRE AU DANUBE (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

 20142015201620172018
Total3,663,853,764,314,44
Danube → Mer Noire3,243,263,253,613,67
Mer Noire → Danube0,420,580,510,70,77

Source : Commission du Danube, rapport d’observation du marché

 

  • Une troisième voie navigable avec un trafic fluvio-maritime, bien qu’à un degré moindre, est le canal Danube-mer Noire, qui relie le port maritime de Constanza et le Danube. Selon viadonau, 57 000 tonnes de marchandises ont été transportées sur ce canal en 2017 par des navires fluvio-maritimes ou des navires de mer. Le volume total des marchandises transportées sur ce canal en 2017 était nettement plus élevé et représentait 13,8 millions de tonnes.
  • La navigation sur le Danube est impactée en hiver lorsque, tous les 2 à 3 ans, l’eau gèle pendant 30 à 40 jours, ce qui implique le charriage de blocs de glace sur le canal lors du redoux.
  • La différence entre les volumes rapportés pour le canal de Sulina (4,4 millions de tonnes) et les volumes rapportés pour les trois ports fluvio-maritimes roumains (1,86 million de tonnes) s’explique par le fait que le canal de Sulina relie non seulement ces trois ports fluvio-maritimes roumains à la Mer noire mais permet d’accéder également aux importants ports ukrainiens d’Izmail et de Reni, ainsi qu’au port moldave de Giurgiulesti. Ces ports en Ukraine et en Moldavie sont situés sur le secteur « maritime » du Danube. Les volumes du transport fluvio-maritime de marchandises concernant ces ports ne sont évidemment pas pris en compte par l’Institut national roumain de la statistique.

 

Transport par catégorie de marchandises

  • Les marchandises transbordées par les navires de mer sont principalement des marchandises sèches et conventionnelles. Les principales catégories de marchandises dans le port de Galati sont les métaux et produits métalliques (27 % du total du transport fluvio-maritime en 2018), les produits agricoles (22 % du total du transport fluvio-maritime en 2018), les minerais de fer (14 % du total du transport fluvio-maritime en 2018).
  • À Braila, 84 % du total du transport fluvio-maritime (481 000 tonnes en 2018) concernait les produits agricoles en 2018. À Tulcea, 50 000 des 56 000 tonnes transbordées étaient constituées de minerais de fer.
  • La structure détaillée du transport fluvio-maritime de marchandises dans ces ports (au total) est présentée dans le graphique ci-après.

 

GRAPHIQUE 7: STRUCTURE DU TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME DANS LES PORTS ROUMAINS DE GALATI, BRAILA ET TULCEA


Source: analyse de la CCNR basée sur les données de l’Institut national de statistiques de Roumanie (http://www.insse.ro/cms/sites/default/files/field/publicatii/transportul_portuar_de_marfuri_si_pasageri_anul_2018_0.pdf)

 

  • En ce qui concerne les segments de marchandises dans les différents ports, les métaux et les produits métalliques sont prédominants dans le port fluvio-maritime de Galati en raison de l’industrie sidérurgique locale, mais des transbordements d’Agribulk y sont également effectués. La catégorie de marchandises des déchets et ordures ménagères a augmenté ces dernières années.

 

GRAPHIQUE 8: TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME DANS LE PORT DE GALATI PAR CATEGORIE DE MARCHANDISES (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)


Source : Institut national de statistiques de Roumanie (plusieurs rapports annuels de la série « Transport portuaire de marchandises et de passagers »)

 

  • Braila, le deuxième plus grand port fluvio-maritime roumain, est majoritairement utilisé pour le transport de céréales, avec des volumes relativement constants entre 2015 et 2018. Les produits chimiques y sont également présents, bien que dans une moindre mesure. Le plus petit des trois ports fluvio-maritimes roumains, le port de Tulcea, a connu une hausse des transports de minerai de fer en 2017 et 2018, ce qui n’était pas le cas au cours des deux années précédentes.

 

GRAPHIQUE 9: TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME DANS LES PORTS DE BRAILA ET DE TULCEA PAR CATEGORIE DE MARCHANDISES (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)

Braila


Tulcea

Source : Institut national de statistiques de Roumanie (plusieurs rapports annuels de la série « Transport portuaire de marchandises et de passagers »)

 

TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME AUX PAYS-BAS

 

Définitions et secteurs de voies navigables

  • Les Pays-Bas comptent bon nombre de fleuves, rivières et canaux, tels que le Rhin, le canal Gand-Terneuzen, la Meuse et l’IJssel, ainsi que l’Amsterdam-Rijnkanaal, qui sont tous accessibles navires fluvio-maritimes.
  • L’administration néerlandaise des voies navigables Rikswaterstaat a fourni une série de données dans laquelle seul le transport maritime est enregistré. Cette série de données a été analysée afin d’en extraire des informations sur le transport fluvio-maritime aux Pays-Bas. Les régions d’origine (chargement) et de destination (déchargement) ont été classées en fonction de leur localisation, que ce soit le long d’une voie de navigation intérieure ou maritime. Sur la base de cette classification, le transport fluvio-maritime a été défini comme comprenant deux situations, à savoir les voyages de navires de mer effectués en partie sur des voies de navigation intérieure et en partie en mer entre :

1. une région/ville de chargement située le long d’une voie de navigation intérieure et une région de déchargement située le long d’une voie de navigation intérieure ou maritime, ou un port maritime. Si la région de déchargement est située le long d’une voie de navigation intérieure, le bateau doit traverser des voies de navigation maritime entre son origine et sa destination.
2. une région/ville de chargement située le long d’une voie de navigation maritime ou un port maritime et une région/ville de déchargement située le long d’une voie de navigation intérieure.

  • Les voyages effectués par des navires de mer entre des villes ou des ports qui sont tous deux situés le long d’une voie de navigation maritime, ou entre deux ports maritimes, n’ont pas été comptabilisés comme du transport fluvio-maritime, car ces voyages ne répondent pas à la définition du transport fluvio-maritime mais sont plutôt du transport maritime à courte distance.

 

Transports par origine et destination

  • Cette analyse a révélé un volume total de 4,48 millions de tonnes de transport fluvio-maritime aux Pays-Bas en 2018. La principale région de destination (où la cargaison est déchargée) est le port de Gand (Gand a été classé comme port maritime. Par conséquent, les voyages lors desquels un navire de mer se rend d’un port fluvial (p. ex. Duisburg) à Gand ont été classés comme étant du transport fluvio-maritime. Tel est le cas aussi pour les voyages lors desquels un navire de mer se rend de Gand à un port fluvial. Toutefois, les voyages entre Gand et un autre port maritime, comme Amsterdam ou Anvers, n’ont pas été classés comme du transport fluvio-maritime mais comme du transport maritime à courte distance). En effet, les navires de mer qui se rendent à Gand doivent traverser le territoire néerlandais, Gand n’étant accessible que par le cours inférieur de l’Escaut et par le canal Gand-Terneuzen, qui sont entièrement ou partiellement situés sur le territoire néerlandais. Environ 1,75 million de tonnes de marchandises (39 % du transport fluvio-maritime total aux Pays-Bas) sont transportées de différentes régions d’origine vers le port de Gand. Tel est le cas par exemple depuis le Danube inférieur en Roumanie ou en Bulgarie (Ruse), depuis le Rhin inférieur (port de Duisburg) ainsi que depuis Londres (Tamise) au Royaume-Uni.

 

GRAPHIQUE 10: PAYS DE DECHARGEMENT DU TRANSPORT FLUVIO-MARITIME AUX PAYS-BAS (MILLIONS DE TONNES) EN 2018


Source: analyse de la CCNR basée sur des données de Rijkswaterstaat

eget consectetur nec facilisis Donec vel, amet, lectus libero commodo massa