• Inland waterway transport on German waterways accounted for 36 % of all IWW transport performance in the EU in Q1 2019, compared to 35 % in the year 2018. For container traffic taken separately, this share is 39 %.
• The number of German IWT companies represents 11 % of all IWT companies in the EU, while their share in turnover is much higher: 34 % of all turnover generated in IWW goods transport companies in the EU is produced in German companies.
• This also shows that German companies are on average larger than in many other IWW countries with a high degree of market fragmentation.

 

THE 40 LARGEST GERMAN INLAND PORTS – WATERSIDE TRAFFIC IN Q1 2019

(These 40 inland ports accounted for 74.6 % of all waterside goods traffic in German inland ports in Q1 2019. Detailed information on the 40 largest German inland ports is available on the next page).

Source: Destatis

 
 
Waterside traffic in million tonnes in Q1 2019

Inland portImport from abroadImport from national originsExport to national destinationsExport abroadTotal waterside traffic
Duisburg9.170.380.881.9912.4
Hamburg0.001.081.410.012.5
Mannheim1.330.270.260.472.3
Cologne0.640.450.420.802.3
Neuss1.130.290.210.482.1
Karlsruhe0.690.130.500.431.8
Ludwigshafen am Rhein0.680.440.150.401.7
Frankfurt am Main0.610.270.240.231.3
Gelsenkirchen0.270.150.320.501.2
Kehl0.330.290.230.151.0
Mainz0.370.230.070.260.9
Kiesbaggereien Kreis Wesel0.000.410.030.480.9
Marl0.520.150.050.190.9
Bottrop0.460.030.130.250.9
Hamm0.550.230.020.070.9
Krefeld0.350.230.090.190.9
Brunsbüttel0.000.030.800.000.8
Lünen0.590.080.020.130.8
Bremen0.020.570.140.050.8
Saarlouis0.450.000.030.200.7
Andernach0.100.100.030.450.7
Salzgitter0.020.410.230.010.7
Heilbronn0.240.110.280.040.7
Leverkusen0.330.120.090.070.6
Rheinberg0.470.000.040.090.6
Lingen (Ems)0.100.110.280.090.6
Magdeburg0.020.280.160.110.6
Wesseling0.010.050.260.220.5
Wesel0.160.080.070.220.5
Dormagen0.140.020.180.160.5
Bendorf0.150.100.070.180.5
Berlin0.020.330.120.000.5
Dörpen0.140.240.050.040.5
Kleve0.250.000.050.140.4
Hanau0.150.090.050.140.4
Düsseldorf0.220.020.030.150.4
Emden0.140.020.200.040.4
Brake (Unterweser)0.000.010.350.010.4
Germersheim0.130.020.030.190.4
Essen0.210.070.080.000.4  

 

FACT SHEET IWT IN GERMANY

Source: CCNR analysis based on Eurostat data [sbs_na_1a_se_r2]. [iww_go_atygo]. [iww_go_actygo]. [tran_hv_frmod]. [iww_eq_loadcap]. [road_go_ta_tcrg]. [rail_go_contwgt]. [iww_eq_age]. CCNR fleet database

Notes on the factsheet:

1) “Share in EU total” contains figures for the EU plus Switzerland and Serbia.

2) For container transport, the numbers include the weight of container boxes, according to the Eurostat Reference Manual on Inland Waterways Transport Statistics (See: https://circabc.europa.eu/sd/a/b1c81773-ce2b-47cd-ad43-a0fbfe395402/Reference_Manual_April_2018_.pdf).

# In contrast to transport performance, for transport volume a country-specific share cannot be calculated. Example: when iron ores are transported from Rotterdam to Duisburg, the tonnes transported are counted in the statistics of both countries, while the tonne-kilometres (tkm) are split up between both countries according to the distance (km) travelled in each country. This allows the country-specific share for transport performance (tkm) to be calculated. For transport volumes (tonnes) the share cannot be calculated, as the sum of the shares of all countries would exceed 100 %.

 

 

The data on all transport indicators are for 2018, while the data on modal split, employment, turnover, companies and number of vessels are for 2017. The modal split share of IWT is calculated as the IWT share within the total transport performance of IWT, rail and road traffic.

 

 
 

IWT SECTOR IN GERMANY WITHIN EUROPE

  • Inland vessels carried 197.9 million tonnes of goods in 2018 and 222.7 million tonnes in 2017 on German inland waterways. In 2018, the transport performance (product of tonnes and distance) represented 35 % of total IWT transport performance in the EU.
  • Within container transport, IWT transport performance in Germany has a share of 39 % of total container transport performance in the EU.
  • In addition to container transport, the liquid cargo transport in Germany also has an over-proportional transport performance in the EU. Mineral oil products and chemical transports in Germany each have a share of 38 % of total European transport performance in these two segments.
  • Around 10.3 thousand persons are employed in German IWT companies and the companies generate a turnover of more than 2.2 billion euros per year.
  • With 10.3 thousand persons employed Germany’s share in EU employment in the IWT sector is 24 % which means that almost one out of four persons active in European IWT companies works in German IWT companies.
  • German IWT companies are larger than the EU average according to two size indicators:
    1) Their share in the total number of EU IWT companies is 11 % but the share of persons active in these German companies is 24 % of all EU employment in IWT.
    2) The share of German companies in the number of IWT companies in the EU is 11 % but they generate 30 % of turnover of European IWT.
  • The fleet of German inland vessels represents 16 % of all European inland vessels. For liquid cargo vessels taken separately this share is 25 % – one out of four tanker vessels registered in Europe is registered in Germany.

 

PORT OF DUISBURG AND PORT OF HAMBURG

  • Duisburg is the largest inland port in Germany as well as in Europe with 48.1 million tonnes of river traffic in 2018. Its river traffic takes place in the public port of Duisburg (duisport GmbH) and in private ports of the local steel industry. The following figure takes into account all waterside traffic in the city of Duisburg. Raw materials (iron ore, coal) for steel production and iron and steel represent a share of 70 %. In 2018 waterside traffic was 48.1 million tonnes and 12.4 million tonnes in Q1 2019, just as in Q1 2018.

 

FIGURE 1: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE PORT OF DUISBURG (JANUARY UNTIL MAY) IN MILLION TONNES

Source: CCNR analysis based on Destatis

  • The port of Hamburg is not only the largest German seaport but also the second largest German inland port. Its waterside traffic in 2018 amounted to 10 million tonnes (source: Destatis) and 2.5 million tonnes in Q1 2019 (2.3 million tonnes in Q1 2018). Liquid cargo is currently the most important type of goods in Hamburg, while container traffic so far plays a relatively small role in the Elbe hinterland compared to the Rhine.

 

FIGURE 2:INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE PORTS OF HAMBURG (JANUARY UNTIL MAY) IN MILLION TONNES

Source: CCNR analysis based on Destatis

• Le transport par les voies de navigation intérieure en Allemagne représentait 36% de la performance totale du transport par voies de navigation intérieure dans l’UE au premier trimestre 2019, par rapport à 35% en 2018. Cette part correspondrait à 39% si seul le transport de conteneurs était pris en compte.
• Le nombre d’entreprises allemandes de transport fluvial représente 11% de l’ensemble des entreprises de navigation intérieure dans l’UE, alors que leur part du chiffre d’affaires est bien plus élevée : 34% du chiffre d’affaires total généré par les entreprises de transport de marchandises par voie fluviale dans l’UE sont produits par des sociétés allemandes.
• Cela montre également que les entreprises allemandes sont en moyenne plus grandes que celles de nombreux autres pays disposant de voies navigables intérieures et présentant un degré élevé de fragmentation du marché.

 

LES 40 PLUS GRANDS PORTS INTERIEURS ALLEMANDS – TRAFFIC FLUVIAL AU 1er SEMESTRE 2019

(Ces 40 ports intérieurs ont représenté 74,6% de l’ensemble du trafic fluvial de marchandises dans les ports intérieurs allemands au 1er trimestre 2019. Des informations détaillées sur les 40 plus grands ports intérieurs allemands figurent à la page suivante).

Source : Destatis
 

 

 

Trafic fluvial en millions de tonnes au 1er trimestre 2019

Ports intérieursImportations de l'étrangerImportations d'origine nationaleExportations vers des destinations nationalesExportations à l'étrangerTrafic fluvial total
Duisbourg9,170,380,881,9912,4
Hambourg01,081,410,012,5
Mannheim1,330,270,260,472,3
Cologne0,640,450,420,82,3
Neuss1,130,290,210,482,1
Karlsruhe0,690,130,50,431,8
Ludwigshafen am Rhein0,680,440,150,41,7
Francfort-sur-le-Main0,610,270,240,231,3
Gelsenkirchen0,270,150,320,51,2
Kehl0,330,290,230,151
Mayence0,370,230,070,260,9
Kiesbaggereien Kreis Wesel00,410,030,480,9
Marl0,520,150,050,190,9
Bottrop0,460,030,130,250,9
Hamm0,550,230,020,070,9
Krefeld0,350,230,090,190,9
Brunsbüttel00,030,800,8
Lünen0,590,080,020,130,8
Brême0,020,570,140,050,8
Sarrelouis0,4500,030,20,7
Andernach0,10,10,030,450,7
Salzgitter0,020,410,230,010,7
Heilbronn0,240,110,280,040,7
Leverkusen0,330,120,090,070,6
Rheinberg0,4700,040,090,6
Lingen (Ems)0,10,110,280,090,6
Magdebourg0,020,280,160,110,6
Wesseling0,010,050,260,220,5
Wesel0,160,080,070,220,5
Dormagen0,140,020,180,160,5
Bendorf0,150,10,070,180,5
Berlin0,020,330,1200,5
Dörpen0,140,240,050,040,5
Clèves0,2500,050,140,4
Hanau0,150,090,050,140,4
Düsseldorf0,220,020,030,150,4
Emden0,140,020,20,040,4
Brake (Unterweser)00,010,350,010,4
Germersheim0,130,020,030,190,4
Essen0,210,070,0800,4  

 

FICHE D’INFORMATION SUR LE TRANSPORT PAR NAVIGATION INTERIEURE EN ALLEMAGNE

Source : analyse de la CCNR basée sur des données d’Eurostat data [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], [iww_go_atygo], [iww_go_actygo], [tran_hv_frmod], [iww_eq_loadcap], [road_go_ta_tcrg], [rail_go_contwgt], [iww_eq_age], base de données de la CCNR concernant les flottes

Notes sur la fiche d’information :

1) la colonne «Part du total pour l’UE» contient les données pour l’UE, la Suisse et la Serbie.

2) En ce qui concerne le transport de conteneurs, les chiffres comprennent le poids des conteneurs, selon le Manuel de référence sur les statistiques des transports par voies intérieures publié par Eurostat (Voir : https://circabc.europa.eu/sd/a/b1c81773-ce2b-47cd-ad43-a0fbfe395402/Reference_Manual_April_2018_.pdf).

# Contrairement à la prestation de transport, il n’est pas possible de calculer une part spécifique par pays pour les volumes transportés. Exemple: lorsque des minerais de fer sont transportés de Rotterdam à Duisbourg, les tonnes transportées sont comptées dans les statistiques des deux pays, tandis que les tonnes-kilomètres (tkm) sont réparties entre les deux pays en fonction de la distance (km) parcourue dans chaque pays. Cela permet de calculer la part spécifique par pays pour la prestation de transport (tkm). Pour les volumes de transport (tonnes), la part ne peut pas être calculée, étant donné que la somme des parts de tous les pays serait supérieure à 100%.

 

 

Les données pour tous les indicateurs de transport concernent 2018, tandis que les données sur la répartition modale, l’emploi, le chiffre d’affaires, les entreprises et le nombre de bateaux concernent 2017. La répartition modale de la navigation intérieure est calculée comme la part de navigation intérieure dans la prestation totale de transport fluvial, ferroviaire et routier.

 

 

 

LE SECTEUR ALLEMAND DU TRANSPORT PAR NAVIGATION INTERIEURE DANS LE CONTEXTE EUROPEEN

  • Les bateaux de navigation intérieure ont transporté 197,9 millions de tonnes de marchandises en 2018 et 222,7 millions de tonnes en 2017 sur les voies navigables allemandes. En 2018, la prestation de transport (produit des tonnes et de la distance) représentait 35% de la prestation totale de transport au sein de l’UE.
  • En ce qui concerne le transport de conteneurs, la prestation du transport par voie de navigation intérieure en Allemagne représente 39% de la prestation totale de transport de conteneurs au sein de l’UE.
  • Outre le transport de conteneurs, la prestation relative au transport de marchandises liquides en Allemagne est supérieure à la moyenne de l’UE. Les transports des produits pétroliers et des produits chimiques en Allemagne représentent chacun 38% de la prestation européenne totale de transport dans ces deux segments.
  • Quelque 10,3 milliers de personnes travaillent dans des entreprises allemandes du secteur de la navigation intérieure, et celles-ci génèrent un chiffre d’affaires de plus de 2,2 milliards d’euros par an.
  • Avec les 10,3 milliers de postes occupés, la part de l’Allemagne représente 24% de l’emploi du transport fluvial de l’Union européenne, ce qui signifie que près d’une personne sur quatre travaillant dans des entreprises européennes de transport fluvial est employée dans une entreprise allemande de ce secteur.
  • La taille des entreprises allemandes de transport fluvial est supérieure à la moyenne de l’UE, selon les deux indicateurs suivants :
    1) Elles représentent 11% du nombre total des entreprises de transport fluvial de l’UE, mais la part de personnes actives au sein de ces entreprises allemandes correspond à 24% de la totalité des emplois de ce secteur à l’échelle de l’UE.
    2) Les entreprises allemandes représentent 11% du nombre d’entreprises de transport fluvial de l’UE, mais elles génèrent 30% du chiffre d’affaires du transport fluvial européen.
  • La flotte de bateaux de navigation intérieure allemands représente 16% de l’ensemble des bateaux de navigation intérieure européens. À eux seuls, les bateaux à cargaison liquide représentent 25% – cela signifie que, sur quatre bateaux-citernes immatriculés en Europe, un est immatriculé en Allemagne.

 

PORT DE DUISBOURG ET PORT DE HAMBOURG

  • Duisbourg est le plus grand port intérieur d’Allemagne et d’Europe, représentant 48,1 millions de tonnes de trafic fluvial en 2018. Son trafic fluvial se répartit entre le port public de Duisbourg (duisport GmbH) et les ports privés de l’industrie sidérurgique locale. La figure suivante prend en compte tout le trafic fluvial de la ville de Duisbourg. Les matières premières (minerai de fer, charbon) pour la production d’acier, ainsi que le fer et l’acier représentent une part de 70%. En 2018, le trafic fluvial était de 48,1 millions de tonnes, et de 12,4 millions de tonnes au 1er trimestre 2019, tout comme au 1er trimestre 2018.

 

GRAPH. 1: TRAFIC FLUVIAL DANS LES PORTS DE DUISBOURG (DE JANVIER A MAI) EN MILLIONS DE TONNES

Source : Analyse de la CCNR basée sur Destatis

  • Le port de Hambourg est non seulement le plus grand port maritime allemand, mais également le deuxième plus grand port intérieur allemand. Son trafic fluvial s’élevait à 10 millions de tonnes en 2018 (source : Destatis), et à 2,5 millions de tonnes au 1er trimestre 2019 (2,3 millions de tonnes au 1er trimestre 2018). La cargaison liquide est actuellement le type de marchandises le plus important à Hambourg, alors que le transport de conteneurs a jusqu’à présent joué un rôle relativement modeste dans l’arrière-pays de l’Elbe par rapport au Rhin.

 

GRAPH. 2: TRAFIC FLUVIAL DANS LE PORT DE HAMBOURG (DE JANVIER A MAI) EN MILLIONS DE TONNES

Source : Analyse de la CCNR basée sur Destatis