• Navigating conditions on the Rhine and Danube were by far less critical in 2019 than the previous year. Nevertheless, on certain stretches of the Upper and the Lower Danube, water levels dropped to below a critical threshold on a relatively high number of days per year.

• Freight rates for dry cargo transport did not show any major upward movements in 2019, due to the absence of low water periods and because of weak macroeconomic conditions. Towards the end of the year 2019, dry cargo freight rates moved downwards, reflecting the deterioration in dry cargo transport demand.

• Freight rates for liquid cargo also settled at lower levels in 2019, but it could be observed that these levels were nevertheless higher than before the low water period of late 2018.

 
 

WATER LEVELS AND AVAILABLE VESSELS’ DRAUGHT AT GAUGING STATIONS ON RHINE AND DANUBE

 


     

     

  • Overall, in 2019, hydraulicity conditions on the Danube and Rhine were much better than in 2018. However, on the German Upper Danube, the available draught of vessels dropped below 2 metres in the second half of the year, and again in April and May 2020.
  •  

    FIGURES 1 AND 2: AVAILABLE DRAUGHT OF VESSELS AT GAUGING STATIONS ON THE AUSTRIAN AND GERMAN DANUBE (IN CM)



    Sources: CCNR based on data from the German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, provided by the Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG); Federal State of Lower Austria.
     

  • On the Rhine the available draught of vessels was above 2 metres during the whole year 2019. The only month which was slightly more critical was September 2019. In the first semester of 2020, water levels fell during a dry month of April 2020 but recovered in the first half of May 2020.
  •  

    FIGURES 3 AND 4: AVAILABLE DRAUGHT OF VESSELS AT GAUGING STATIONS ON THE GERMAN RHINE (IN CM)



    Sources: CCNR based on data from the German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, provided by the Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG).
     

  • Another method of analysing navigating conditions is to count the number of days during which the water levels fell below a critical threshold. For the Rhine and Danube, such a critical threshold is the Equivalent water level, or the Low navigable water level as it is called on the Danube. It is defined as the water level reached or exceeded at a gauging station on an average of 94% of days in a year (= on 343 days) over a reference period of several decades (For the Danube, see: Via Donau (http://www.viadonau.org/wirtschaft/transportachse-donau/schiffbarkeit)). Its value is different for each gauging station.
  • The number of days during which this critical threshold is not reached indicates the length of time over a year with a severe low water situation. From the nine gauging stations along the Danube, it can be seen that for the German Danube, critical low water situations occurred more frequently in 2015 and 2018 (two recent years with low water periods) than on the neighbouring Austrian Danube, which has similar results to the available draught shown previously. Moving downstream on the Danube, from Austria to Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia and finally to Romania, the tendency for critical low water situations again becoming more frequent, is noted.
  •  

    FIGURE 5: NUMBER OF DAYS BELOW THE LOW NAVIGABLE WATER LEVEL FOR DANUBE GAUGING STATIONS


    Sources: Danube Commission market observation; CCNR based on data from the German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, provided by the Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG); Federal State of Lower Austria.
     

  • In the following graph, nine gauging stations along the Rhine were also ordered in a geographical way, as well as in a downstream direction (which, for the Rhine, is south to north). The graph shows that 2019 did not have any severe low water situations on the Rhine, compared to the Danube. In addition, as a general tendency, the frequency of severe low water days is higher for gauging stations on the Lower and Middle Rhine than on the Upper Rhine.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: NUMBER OF DAYS BELOW THE EQUIVALENT WATER LEVEL FOR RHINE GAUGING STATIONS


    Source: CCNR based on data from the German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, provided by the Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG).

 
 
 

FREIGHT RATES IN THE RHINE REGION

  • Freight rates for the transport of dry cargo remained on a multiannual average level during large parts of 2019. In late 2019 and early 2020, freight rates for dry cargo on the Lower and Middle Rhine dropped significantly. A major reason for this was hydraulicity conditions, which were characterised by high water levels at the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020 (see figures above). Another reason was the cooling off in the overall economic situation, which reduced transport demand and freight rates. This is especially seen for the Lower Rhine, where the reduction in coal and iron ore transport had a strongly negative effect on freight rates.
  •  

    FIGURES 7, 8 AND 9: PANTEIA FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR DRY CARGO TRANSPORT IN THE RHINE AREA (INDEX 2015 = 100)




    Source: Panteia
     

  • Spot market freight rates for the transport of liquid cargo (gasoil) from the ARA region to destinations along the Rhine in France, Germany and Switzerland were also on a downward path at the end of 2019 and at the beginning of 2020.
  •  

    FIGURE 10: PJK FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR GASOIL FROM THE ARA REGION TO DESTINATIONS ALONG THE RHINE (INDEX 2015 = 100)


    Source: CCNR calculation based on PJK International.
    *Gasoil. PJK collects freight rates (in Euro per tonne) for ARA-Rhine trade of liquid bulk. The CCNR transforms these values into an index with base year 2015. Lower Rhine: Duisburg, Cologne. Upper Rhine: Karlsruhe, Basel. Main: Frankfurt/M.

     
     
     
     

FREIGHT RATES IN THE FARAG REGION (FLUSHING, ANTWERP, ROTTERDAM, AMSTERDAM, GHENT, TERNEUZEN)

  • For the liquid cargo transport within the extended ARA region, a dataset on spot market freight rates and time charter renting prices provided by the tanker barge corporation CITBO was analysed. Within the spot market data, gasoil and components had a share of 50% in 2019, compared to 47% in 2018. Gasoline and components followed on rank 2 with 26% (35 % in 2018), biodiesel on rank 3 with 15% (11% in 2018), and chemicals on rank 4 with 9% (8% in 2018). Heavy and other products accounted for 1%.
  • Regarding all liquid cargo transported in the period under study (July 2017 until April 2020), 94 % was loaded in Antwerp, Rotterdam, Flushing, Amsterdam, or Ghent. For the time charter data, the geographical scope is very similar. The ports of unloading of the cargo are more often outside the FARAG region. For example, 20% of the cargo was unloaded in Belgian cities/ports outside the FARAG region. Frequent destinations were Brussels (5.5%), Liège (3.8%), Roeselare (3.6%), Tessenderlo (2.6%) and Hasselt (2.1%). Destinations in Germany had a share of 4.3%.
  •  

    FIGURE 11: CITIES/PORTS OF LOADING WITHIN THE CITBO DATA (SHARE IN %)


     

    FIGURE 12: CITIES/PORTS OF UNLOADING WITHIN THE CITBO DATA (SHARE IN %)


    Sources: CITBO database, CCNR analysis
     

  • A freight rate index was calculated per product segment, based on the spot market freight rates. For all four cargo segments, freight rates peaked during the low-water period in 2018. When water levels recovered, freight rates abated but settled at a higher level than before.
  •  

    FIGURES 13, 14, 15 and 16: CITBO FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR LIQUID CARGO SEGMENTS (INDEX AUGUST 2017 = 100)





    Source: CCNR analysis based on CITBO spot market freight rates
     

  • Gasoline and its components had the highest average spot market freight rates in absolute terms (€/tonne) as these trips are on average relatively long. Destinations outside the FARAG region (e.g. cities in Germany such as Cologne, Frankfurt/Main, Karlsruhe or Basel in Switzerland) are more frequently observed for gasoline (and gasoil) than for chemicals. During the return trip of long-distance journeys, vessels are often empty. To compensate this empty return trip and related costs, a compensation in terms of a higher freight rate is paid. The following figure shows this distance effect where the average trip length is seen on the x-axis, and the distance effect on the y-axis.
  •  

    FIGURE 17: AVERAGE DURATION OF TRIPS AND DISTANCE EFFECT ON SPOT MARKET RATE IN THE CITBO DATABASE*


    Source: CCNR analysis based on CITBO spot market freight rates.
    *The distance effect is measured as the ratio of average freight rates per product group and the freight rate for heavy products (heavy products equalling 100).

     

  • As expected, the time charter rates evolved in a less volatile way over time than the spot market rates. But there was also a peak during the low-water period in October 2018, therefore the time charter rates followed the spot market rates to a certain extent. The general movement of the curve reflects an upward trend from August 2017 until September 2019, which was also influenced by variations due to the low-water period. Since September 2019, however, renting prices followed a decreasing trend.
  •  

    FIGURE 18: AVERAGE MONTHLY RENTING PRICE WITHIN TIME CHARTER DATA IN THE CITBO DATABASE (INDEX)


    Source: CCNR analysis based on CITBO data
     

  • On the Danube, freight rates are above all dependent upon bunker fuel prices which, according to the market observation of the Danube Commission, decreased by 4.2% on the Danube in 2019, compared to the average price in 2018. Freight rates for upstream transport (which are in general higher) therefore eased slightly in 2019 (by around 2%). Freight rates for downstream transport eased a little more (by around 4.5%), which also reflects the less dynamic increase in cargo transported downstream compared to strong growth in upstream traffic (iron ore, foodstuffs).
ut Phasellus consequat. ante. quis eget porta. lectus

• En 2019, les conditions de navigation sur le Rhin et le Danube étaient bien moins critiques que l’année précédente. Néanmoins, sur certains tronçons du Danube supérieur et inférieur, le niveau des eaux est descendu en dessous du seuil critique pendant un nombre relativement élevé de jours par an.

• Les taux de fret relatifs au transport de cargaisons sèches n’ont pas connu de mouvements majeurs à la hausse en 2019, en raison de l’absence de périodes de basses eaux et des conditions macroéconomiques peu favorables. Vers la fin de l’année 2019, les taux de fret applicables aux cargaisons sèches ont baissé, reflétant la dégradation de la demande de transport correspondante.

• Les taux de fret applicables aux cargaisons liquides se sont également établis à des niveaux inférieurs en 2019, mais il a pu être observé que ces niveaux étaient supérieurs à ceux qui avaient précédé la période de basses eaux survenue à la fin de l’année 2018.

 
 

NIVEAUX D’EAU ET TIRANT D’EAU DES BATEAUX AUX ECHELLES DU RHIN ET DU DANUBE

 


     
     

     

  • Globalement, en 2019, les conditions d’hydraulicité sur le Danube et le Rhin étaient bien meilleures qu’en 2018. Cependant, sur le Danube supérieur allemand, le tirant d’eau des bateaux est tombé en dessous de 2 mètres au cours du second semestre, et à nouveau en avril et mai 2020.
  •  

    FIGURES 1 ET 2: TIRANT D’EAU DES BATEAUX AUX ECHELLES DU DANUBE AUTRICHIEN ET ALLEMAND (EN CM)



    Sources  (droite et gauche) : Calcul de la CCNR sur la base de données fournies par l’Administration fédérale allemande de l’eau et de la navigation (VSW), mises à disposition par l’Institut fédéral d’hydrologie (BfG); État fédéral de Basse-Autriche.
     

  • Sur le Rhin, le tirant d’eau des bateaux était supérieur à 2 mètres pendant toute l’année 2019. Le seul mois ayant été légèrement plus critique était septembre 2019. Au premier semestre 2020, les niveaux d’eau ont baissé pendant un mois d’avril 2020 sec mais ont récupéré au cours de la première moitié du mois de mai 2020.
  •  

    FIGURES 3 ET 4: TIRANT D’EAU DES BATEAUX AUX ECHELLES DU RHIN ALLEMAND (EN CM)



    Sources  (droite et gauche) : calcul de la CCNR sur la base de données de l’Administration fédérale allemande de l’eau et de la navigation (VSW), mises à disposition par l’Institut fédéral d’hydrologie (BfG).
     

  • Une autre méthode d’analyse des conditions de navigation consiste à compter le nombre de jours pendant lesquels les niveaux d’eau sont tombés en dessous d’un seuil critique. Pour le Rhin et le Danube, ce seuil critique est l’étiage équivalent, ou le «niveau d’eau navigable bas» comme on l’appelle sur le Danube. Il est défini comme le niveau d’eau atteint ou dépassé à une échelle par rapport à une moyenne de 94% des jours d’une année (= 343 jours) sur une période de référence de plusieurs décennies (Pour le Danube, voir : Via Donau (http://www.viadonau.org/wirtschaft/transportachse-donau/schiffbarkeit)). Sa valeur est différente pour chaque échelle.
  • Le nombre de jours pendant lesquels ce seuil critique n’est pas atteint indique la durée d’une situation d’étiage grave sur une année. Les neuf échelles situées le long du Danube montrent que, pour le Danube allemand, les situations critiques d’étiage ont été plus fréquentes en 2015 et 2018 (deux années récentes avec des périodes de basses eaux) que sur le Danube autrichien voisin, qui présente des résultats similaires par rapport au tirant d’eau indiqué précédemment. En descendant le Danube, de l’Autriche vers la Slovaquie, la Hongrie, la Croatie, la Serbie et enfin la Roumanie, on constate que les situations d’étiage critique tendent à devenir de plus en plus fréquentes.
  •  

    FIGURE 5: NOMBRE DE JOURS SOUS LE «NIVEAU D’EAU NAVIGABLE BAS» POUR LES ECHELLES SUR LE DANUBE


    Sources: Rapport d’observation du marché de la Commission du Danube; CCNR sur la base de données fournies par l’Administration fédérale allemande de l’eau et de la navigation, mises à disposition par l’Institut fédéral d’hydrologie (BfG); État fédéral de Basse-Autriche.
     

  • Dans la figure suivante, neuf échelles situées le long du Rhin ont également été classées de manière géographique, de l’amont vers l’aval (ce qui, pour le Rhin, signifie du sud au nord). La figure montre que 2019 n’a pas connu de situation d’étiage grave sur le Rhin par rapport au Danube. En outre, comme tendance générale, la fréquence des jours d’étiage sévère est plus élevée aux échelles du Rhin inférieur et moyen qu’à celles du Rhin supérieur.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: NOMBRE DE JOURS SOUS LE NIVEAU D’ETIAGE EQUIVALENT AUX ECHELLES DU RHIN


    Source (droite et gauche) : calcul de la CCNR sur la base de données fournies par  l’Administration  fédérale  allemande de l’eau et de la navigation, mises à disposition par l’Institut fédéral d’hydrologie (BfG).

 
 
 

TAUX DE FRET DANS LE BASSIN DU RHIN

  • Les taux de fret pour le transport de cargaisons sèches sont restés à un niveau moyen pluriannuel pendant une grande partie de 2019. Fin 2019 et début 2020, les taux de fret pour les cargaisons sèches sur le Rhin inférieur et moyen ont considérablement baissé. Cela s’explique principalement par les conditions d’hydraulicité, caractérisées par des niveaux d’eau élevés fin 2019 et début 2020 (voir figures ci-dessus). Une autre raison a été le ralentissement de la situation économique globale, qui a réduit la demande en matière de transport et les taux de fret. Cela a particulièrement été constaté en ce qui concerne le Rhin inférieur, où la réduction du transport de charbon et de minerai de fer a eu un effet fortement négatif sur les taux de fret.
  •  

    FIGURES 7, 8 ET 9: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET PANTEIA POUR LE TRANSPORT DE CARGAISONS SECHES DANS LA REGION RHENANE (INDICE 2015 = 100)




    Source: Panteia
     

  • Les prix du marché au comptant pour le transport de marchandises liquides (gasoil) de la région ARA vers des destinations situées le long du Rhin en Allemagne, en France et en Suisse étaient également en baisse à la fin de 2019 et au début de 2020.
  •  

    FIGURE 10: INDICE DE TAUX DE FRET PJK POUR LE GAZOLE ACHEMINE DE LA REGION ARA VERS DES DESTINATIONS SITUEES LE LONG DU RHIN (INDICE 2015 = 100)


    Source : calcul de la CCNR basé sur les données de PJK International.
    * Gasoil. PJK enregistre les taux de fret (en euros par tonne) pour le transport de vrac liquide entre la région ARA et le Rhin. La CCNR convertit ces valeurs en un indice avec pour base l’année 2015. Rhin inférieur : Duisbourg, Cologne. Rhin supérieur : Karlsruhe, Bâle. Main : Francfort/M.

     
     
     
     

TAUX DE FRET DANS LA REGION FARAG (VLISSINGEN, ANVERS, ROTTERDAM, AMSTERDAM, GAND, TERNEUZEN)

  • En ce qui concerne le transport de cargaisons liquides dans la région ARA étendue, un ensemble de données a été analysé concernant les taux de fret du marché au comptant et les prix des locations en cas d’affrètement à temps fourni par la coopérative de bateaux-citernes CITBO. Au regard des données du marché au comptant, la part du gasoil et de ses composants était de 48 %, par rapport à 47% en 2018. L’essence et les composants suivent au deuxième rang avec 26 % (3 % en 2018), le biodiesel au troisième rang avec 15 % (11 % en 2018), et les produits chimiques au quatrième rang avec 9 % (8 % en 2018). Les produits lourds et autres représentaient 1%.
  • Sur l’ensemble des cargaisons liquides transportées au cours de la période étudiée (juillet 2017 à avril 2020), 94 % ont été chargées à Anvers, Rotterdam, Vlissingen, Amsterdam ou Gand. Pour les données de la location à temps, l’étendue géographique est très similaire. Les ports de déchargement de la cargaison sont le plus souvent situés en dehors de la région FARAG. Par exemple, 20% des cargaisons ont été déchargés dans des villes/ports belges situés en dehors de la région FARAG. Les destinations fréquentes étaient Bruxelles (5,5%), Liège (3,8%), Roulers (3,6%), Tessenderlo (2,6%) et Hasselt (2,1%). La part des destinations en Allemagne était de 4,3%.
  •  

    FIGURE 11: VILLES/PORTS DE CHARGEMENT DANS LES DONNEES CITBO (PART EN %)


     

    FIGURE 12: VILLES/PORTS DE DECHARGEMENT DANS LES DONNEES CITBO (PART EN %)


    Sources : base de données CITBO, analyse CCNR
     

  • Un indice des taux de fret a été calculé par segments de produits, sur la base des taux de fret du marché au comptant. Pour les quatre segments de fret, les taux de fret ont culminé au cours de la période d’étiage en 2018. Lorsque les niveaux d’eau se sont rétablis, les taux de fret ont diminué mais se sont stabilisés à un niveau plus élevé qu’auparavant.
  •  

    FIGURES 13, 14, 15 ET 16: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET CITBO POUR LES SEGMENTS DE LA CARGAISON LIQUIDE (INDICE AOÛT 2017 = 100)





    Source : Analyse de la CCNR basée sur les taux de fret du marché au comptant fournies par CITBO
     

  • L’essence et ses composants affichaient les taux de fret moyens du marché au comptant les plus élevés en termes absolus (€/tonne), ces voyages étant en moyenne relativement longs. Les destinations en dehors de la région FARAG (par exemple des villes d’Allemagne telles que Cologne, Francfort/Main, Karlsruhe, ou Bâle en Suisse) sont plus fréquemment observées pour l’essence (et le gasoil) que pour les produits chimiques. S’agissant des trajets retours de voyages longues distances, les bateaux sont souvent vides. Pour compenser ce voyage retour à vide et les frais connexes, une compensation sous forme d’un taux de fret plus élevé est versée. La figure suivante montre cet effet de distance où la longueur moyenne du trajet est visible sur l’axe des abscisses, et l’effet de distance sur l’axe des ordonnées.
  •  

    FIGURE 17: DUREE MOYENNE DES VOYAGES ET EFFET DE LA DISTANCE SUR LE TAUX DU MARCHE AU COMPTANT DANS LA BASE DE DONNEES CITBO*


    Source : Analyse de la CCNR basée sur les taux de fret du marché au comptant fournies par CITBO
    * L’effet de distance est mesuré en calculant le ratio entre les taux de fret moyens par groupe de produits et le taux de fret pour les produits lourds (produits lourds équivalant à 100)
    .

     

  • Comme attendu, les taux d’affrètement à temps ont, avec le temps, évolué de manière moins volatile que les taux du marché au comptant. Mais comme il y avait également un pic pendant la période d’étiage en octobre 2018, les tarifs d’affrètement à temps ont, dans une certaine mesure, suivi les taux du marché au comptant. Le mouvement général de la courbe reflète une tendance à la hausse d’août 2017 à septembre 2019, également influencée par les variations dues à la période d’étiage. Depuis septembre 2019, cependant, les prix des locations ont suivi une tendance à la baisse.
  •  

    FIGURE 18: PRIX DE LOCATION MENSUEL MOYEN FIGURANT DANS LES DONNEES D’AFFRETEMENT A TEMPS EXTRAITES DE LA BASE DE DONNEES CITBO (INDICE AOÛT 2017 = 100)


    Source: analyse CCNR basée sur les données CITBO
     

  • Sur le Danube, les taux de fret dépendent avant tout des prix du combustible d’avitaillement qui, selon l’observation de marché de la Commission du Danube, ont baissé de 4,2% sur le Danube en 2019, par rapport au prix moyen de 2018. Les taux de fret pour le transport vers l’amont (qui sont en général plus élevés) se sont donc légèrement assouplis en 2019 (d’environ 2%). Les taux de fret du transport vers l’aval se sont un peu plus assouplis (de l’ordre de 4,5%), ce qui traduit également la progression moins dynamique des cargaisons transportées vers l’aval par rapport à la forte croissance du trafic vers l’amont (minerai de fer, produits alimentaires et fourragers).
libero vulputate, fringilla sed dolor. massa Aenean odio mattis