• In 2019, river traffic increased in the seaports of Antwerp, Hamburg and Constanţa while it remained at similar levels as the previous year in the port of Rotterdam and North Sea Port.

• The largest European inland port, Duisburg, recorded a 0.6% reduction in inland water traffic, due to losses in the transport of coal, steel and iron ore. The second largest, Paris, recorded a 14.6% increase, mainly driven by the transport of sands, stones and construction materials.

• A total of 2.1 million tonnes of goods were loaded or unloaded by inland vessels in the main ports from the Sava river basin in 2019. In this region, Serbia is the country where inland waterway traffic is the highest.

 

INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN MAIN EUROPEAN SEAPORTS

 


    Sources: Port Statistics, Eurostat [iww_go_aport], Panteia, CBS
    *North Sea Port is the name of the port formed by the cross-border merger between Zeeland Seaports (Flushing, Borsele and Terneuzen) in the Netherlands and Ghent Port Company in Belgium, signed on 8 December 2017. The cross-border merger port started to operate on 1 January 2018.

     

  • In Rotterdam, the largest European seaport, 85,969 inland vessels visited the port in 2019 (compared to 123,859 in 2018). Rotterdam remains the market leader in the Hamburg-Le Havre range by total maritime cargo throughput as it holds 36.4% of market shares, followed by Antwerp (18.4%), Hamburg (10.7%) and Amsterdam (8.3%) (Port of Rotterdam Authority, annual report 2019). Although the volume of loaded or unloaded IWT cargo at the port of Rotterdam was 152.8 million tonnes in 2019, and therefore on the same level as in 2018, important differences can be seen for dry and liquid cargo. The liquid cargo segment increased by 15%, while the dry cargo segment decreased by 14%. Container transport decreased by 5%. For both, outgoing traffic plays an important role at the port (almost 88% for dry cargo and 65% for liquid cargo).
  •  

    FIGURE 1: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF ROTTERDAM (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: Port of Rotterdam
     

    FIGURE 2: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF ROTTERDAM PER CARGO SEGMENT* (MILLION TONNES)


    Sources: Port of Rotterdam, CBS
    *General cargo is not taken into account in these calculations

     

  • In 2019, major investments were related to the construction of the Container Exchange Route (CER), the energy transition and digitisation (Port of Rotterdam Authority, annual report 2019). Nextlogic, the project which will make incoming container transport by barge more predictable and transhipment processes more efficient, is expected to be up and running in the course of 2020.
  • In Antwerp, 56,585 inland vessels frequented the port in 2019 (compared to 59,724 in 2018). The IWT goods traffic at the port of Antwerp increased in 2019, to reach a volume of 101.3 million tonnes of goods transported via inland navigation (compared to 99.3 in 2018). The share of imports increased slightly while exports remained stable.
  • This positive evolution in 2019 was mainly driven by an increase in transport of chemicals (+ 4.6%), which remains the most important segment for the port of Antwerp together with petroleum products. The two segments make up more than half of the total river traffic at the port.
  • Containers come close behind with a share of 25% of total river traffic and continue to follow a slightly increasing trend. While volumes of fertilizers, foodstuffs, animal fodder, agricultural products and live animals continued to follow an upward trend (+11%), volumes of iron ores, metal ware and metal wastes decreased (-14%). In 2019, the modal split within hinterland traffic was the following: road: 47%, barge: 44.7% and rail: 8.4% (compared to the following figures in 2018, road: 42%, barge: 46% and rail: 12%) ( New methodology implemented by the port for calculation of modal split data which led to an increase in modal split share for rail and IWT against road (with previous method, modal split figures in 2018 were the following: road: 56%, barge: 36% and rail: 8%)).
  •  

    FIGURE 3: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF ANTWERP (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: Port of Antwerp
     

    FIGURE 4: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF ANTWERP PER CARGO SEGMENT* (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: Port of Antwerp
    *Ro/ro, general and not assigned goods are not taken into account in these calculations (in 2019, the volume transported for these three cargo types amounted to 6.2 million tonnes, mostly attributed to conventional goods).

     

  • In the North Sea Port (Ghent, Terneuzen, Borsele, Flushing), total river traffic amounted to 58.5 million tonnes in 2019, a stable figure compared to 2018. In 2019, over 47,000 inland vessels entered North Sea Port to load and unload (around 40,000 in 2018).
  • North Sea Port is mostly a bulk port (both dry and liquid), the most important market segments being petroleum, mineral oil products as well as ores, food products and fertilizers.
  • Fifty-four percent of the goods are transported to the hinterland by means of inland waterway transport. The Port wishes to increase the modal share of inland navigation, particularly for the transport of containers, a segment where great efforts are being deployed. In addition, there is a growing market for parties who ‘bundle’ containers before they are transported to other ports by barge. The port is also looking forward to the realisation of the Seine-Scheldt project, which will allow inland vessels with a load capacity of 4,500 tonnes to travel up to Paris.
  •  

    FIGURE 5: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE NORTH SEA PORT* (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: North Sea Port
    *Ro/ro and conventional cargo are not taken into account in these calculations (in 2019, the volume transported for these two cargo types amounted to 3.3 million tonnes, mostly attributed to conventional cargo).

     

  • Volumes transported by IWT decreased by 9.8% in 2019 compared to 2018 in the port of Hamburg. This result is mainly driven by the negative results for dry cargo, in particular coal. One reason for this decrease is the shift away from coal as a source of electricity generation in Germany. Overall, both dry and liquid cargo have been following a decreasing trend since 2015.
  • However, the situation is more positive for container transport. Contrary to the overall decline of 4.1% registered in Germany, an increase of 13% in container transport by inland vessels, with 145,078 TEU in 2019, has been recorded at the Port (Port of Hamburg press release “Container shipping into the hinterland on a good track“. This figure does not include the increased intra-port transhipment by barges in the Port of Hamburg).
  • Hinterland traffic (all modes) increased by 7.4% between 2018 and 2019. Within this hinterland traffic, inland waterway transport lost market shares to rail. It had a share of 9.2% in 2019, compared to 10.1% in 2018, while rail transport’s modal share was 49.4 % (compared to 47.1% in 2018). The road modal split share decreased from 42.8% to 41.4%. Incoming river traffic has a share of 47% in Hamburg and 53% is outgoing traffic.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF HAMBURG (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: Statistical Office of Hamburg
     

    FIGURE 7: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF HAMBURG PER CARGO SEGMENT* (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: Statistical Office of Hamburg
    *General cargo is not taken into account in these calculations

     
     

     

  • In Constanţa, 10,395 inland vessels called at the port in 2019. River traffic increased by almost 20%, to reach 15.1 million tonnes, mainly driven by an increase in transport of agricultural products, in particular cereals, iron ore and chemical products.
  • Mainly dry cargo is transported in the port of Constanţa, with a high share of 90.7% of the total goods transport. Dry cargo volumes rose by 20.8% compared to 2018. Liquid cargo represents 5.6% of total goods transport. Container, Ro/ro and general cargo amounted to 507 thousand tonnes in 2019, mostly attributed to general cargo. Indeed, container traffic in the port of Constanţa remains relatively low and consisted in 1,761 TEU in 2019.
  • International transport represents 56.2% of total river traffic. Constanţa is the seaport where the most river traffic is registered in Romania, before Galati, Cernavoda, Tulcea and Braila.
  •  

    FIGURE 8: INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN THE SEAPORT OF CONSTANŢA (MILLION TONNES)


    Source: Port of Constanţa/Romanian Statistical Office
     
     
     
     

    INLAND WATERWAY TRAFFIC IN MAIN EUROPEAN INLAND PORTS

     

      RHINE PORTS

       

      TABLE 1: WATERSIDE TRAFFIC IN MAJOR RHINE PORTS (MILLION TONNES)

       2017201820192019/2018
      Duisburg52.248.147.8-0.6%
      Cologne10.78.99.1+2.7%
      Mannheim9.77.57.9+5.3%
      Strasbourg8.05.97.5+28.5%
      Neuss8.07.66.9-9.4%
      Karlsruhe7.26.46.9+7.5%
      Ludwigshafen5.66.16.6+9.4%
      Basel5.84.76.1+29.1%
      Mulhouse4.84.44.9+12.9%
      Kehl3.53.94.2+7.2%
      Mainz2.93.23.7+16.3%
      Krefeld3.43.33.6+6.8%
      Wesseling2.62.02.7+35.9%
      Total124.4112.1118.1+5.4%

      Sources: Destatis, Port de Strasbourg, Swiss Rhine ports, Port de Mulhouse
      The “total” relates only to the ports mentioned in the table, not all Rhine ports.

       
       
      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (MILLION TONNES)
       

       
       
       

      FRENCH AND BELGIAN PORTS

       

      TABLE 2: WATERSIDE TRAFFIC IN MAJOR FRENCH AND BELGIAN PORTS (MILLION TONNES)

       2017201820192019/2018
      Paris21.222.125.3+14.6%
      Liège15.916.016.00
      Strasbourg8.05.97.5+28.5%
      Brussels4.85.25.20
      Mulhouse4.84.44.9+12.9%
      Namur5.35.14.6-9.2%
      Metz1.61.92.2+14.3%
      Lille1.81.81.9+4.2%
      Lyon1.51.41.1-21.9%
      Villefranche-sur-Saône 0.80.80.80
      Chalon-sur-Saône and Mâcon1.10.80.80
      Thionville0.60.60.7+21.7%
      Total67.466.070.9+7.4%

      Sources: Ports de Paris, Port de Liège, Port de Strasbourg, Port de Mulhouse, Port de Bruxelles, Port de Namur, Nouveau port de Metz, Port de Lille, VNF
      The “total” relates only to the ports mentioned in the table, and not to all French and Belgian inland ports.

       
       
      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (MILLION TONNES)
       

       
       
       

      DANUBE PORTS

       

      TABLE 3: WATERSIDE TRAFFIC IN LARGE DANUBE PORTS (MILLION TONNES)

       2017201820192019/2018
      Constanţa12.112.114.5+20.6%
      Galati6.36.45.9-7.5%
      Ismail5.14.74.3-8.5%
      Smederovo3.23.64.0+13.4%
      Linz4.23.23.4+6.6%
      Bratislava2.11.51.7+7.9%
      Tulcea1.31.71.6-5.0%
      Pancevo1.11.41.5+9.1%
      Novi Sad1.21.01.4+35.0%
      Regensburg1.51.11.3+18.1%
      Reni1.11.31.3-4.4%
      Vienna1.11.01.2+17.8%
      Drobeta Turnu Severin1.21.11.2+4.9%
      Călăraşi-Chiciu0.70.71.1+46.1%
      Prahovo0.91.01.1+5.3%
      Budapest-Csepel1.10.91.1+23.1%
      Măcin-Turcoaia0.80.80.9+18.8%
      Baja0.60.30.5+45.5%
      Total45.543.848.0+9.6%

      Sources: Danube Commission market observation, Romanian Statistical Institute, Hungarian Statistical Office, Destatis, Statistik Austria, Port Governance Agency of Serbia
      The “total” relates only to the ports mentioned in the table and not all Danube ports. The total waterside traffic of the Danube ports in 2019 amounted to 69 million tonnes (+13% compared to 2018).

       
       
      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (MILLION TONNES)
       

       
       

      SAVA PORTS

       

      TABLE 4: WATERSIDE TRAFFIC IN MAJOR SAVA PORTS* (IN THOUSAND TONNES)

      Transhipment place2017201820192018/2019
      Other transhipment places (Serbia)-6829490.39
      Sremska Mitrovica (Serbia)1892345601.39
      Slavonski Brod (Croatia)1171311990.52
      Sabac (Serbia)170149149+/-0%
      Brčko (Bosnia and Herzegovina - BaH)136981250.27
      Sisak (Croatia)6066700.06
      Oil refinery Brod (BaH)9.7298.1-0.72
      Total682139020600.48

      Source: Sava Commission
      *In 2015, the port of Šamac in Bosnia and Herzegovina reported bankruptcy, therefore no transhipment of cargo recorded since then.

       
       
       
      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (IN THOUSAND TONNES)
       

       
       

      FIGURE 9: EVOLUTION OF TRANSHIPPED GOODS IN THE SAVA RIVER BASIN IN TOTAL AND BROKEN DOWN PER COUNTRY OVER THE PERIOD 2010-2019* (THOUSAND TONNES)


      Source: Sava River Commission
      *2014: data for Serbia are missing (a great flood affected the whole basin in that year which may explain this data gap); first year when the Oil refinery in Brod started to operate and data were recorded; after 2015: no more data for port of Šamac; since 2018 and 2019, data for smaller transhipment places in Serbia started to be collected which explains the increasing amount of transhipped goods recorded in Serbia for those years.

       
       
      Serbia

      • Sremska Mitrovica/Port Leget is a commercial company which administers the port area and focuses mainly on the exploitation of sediment from the Sava riverbed. Its activities are highly dependent on the demand from the construction sector, thereby registering a significant amount of goods such as gravel, sand and stone aggregates.
      • Šabac/Zorka industrial dock was constructed by the one-time chemical industry giant Zorka and is mostly used by the industry basin in Šabac and Valjevo. Transhipment, mostly general and bulk cargo, is carried out at the Zorka industrial dock and to a lesser extent in the water area of Šabac Free Zone. Plans to increase its capacity are underway which should have a positive effect on the transport services market in the foreseeable future.
      • Since 2018, the Agency for Ports of the Republic of Serbia has kept statistical records for other smaller transhipment places. In all these places, there is a significant increase in the overall transhipment, mainly building materials, oil products, coal and sediment dredged from the Sava river-bed and its tributaries.

       
      Croatia

      • In the last ten years, transhipment in the Slavonski Brod Port mostly involved crude oil and stone and, in smaller quantities, grain, sugar, and biofuels as well as some metal industry products and special types of cargo. In 2017, with co-funding from the EU, the Port Authority started works to create new or upgrade the existing waterside infrastructure, the road network and the container terminal (budget: 11 mio. EUR). In addition, announcements of major investments by Croatian Railways and other private investors have been made and negotiations are under way on long-term transport/transhipment contracts.
      • The Port of Sisak (managed by the Sisak Port Authority) is the most upstream port on the Sava river, which has resulted in modest quantities of transhipped goods, mainly crude oil loaded in Slavonski Brod. It is heavily dependent on the hydrological conditions.

       
      Bosnia and Herzegovina

      • Ports in Bosnia and Herzegovina expected and made plans for an increase in the quantities of transhipped goods. However, many factors such as slow economic growth and delays in the implementation of the project of the Sava river waterway rehabilitation also hindered such developments. Activities and talks are under way with the aim of finding a new model for investing in the rehabilitation of the Sava river waterway and its ports.
      • Port of Brčko is located in the proximity of a developed industrial area. It enables a direct goods flow on the Sava river to the Danube ports as well as to ports in the North Sea and Black Sea. It has a good connection to other modes of transport. The equipment allows for transport of grain and bulk cargo. In the last ten years, transhipment mostly involved coal, soybean meal, coke, steel sheets and cold rolled steel strips.
      • Port of Šamac is characterised by large fluctuations in the quantities of transhipped goods. Indeed, it is owned by and is part of a private company and its transhipment depends on the company’s actual production. The port is mostly used for delivering cold-rolled strips and shipping steel pipes.
      • Brod Oil Refinery was established in 1892 by a Hungarian chemical industry company (Danica). Its main advantages are its position on the Sava river, which is navigable between Sisak and its mouth into the Danube and further on to the Black Sea, as well as its proximity to Jadranski Naftovod (JANAF) a company managing an oil pipeline system, and the highway.
nec dolor. porta. Donec lectus venenatis, mattis velit,

• En 2019, le trafic fluvial a augmenté dans les ports maritimes d’Anvers, de Hambourg et de Constanţa, alors qu’il a conservé des niveaux similaires à ceux de l’année précédente dans le port de Rotterdam et le North Sea Port.

• Le plus grand port intérieur européen, Duisbourg, a affiché une baisse de 0,6 % de son trafic fluvial, en raison de pertes subies par le transport de charbon, d’acier et de minerai de fer. Le deuxième plus grand port, Paris, a connu une hausse de 14,6 %, principalement due au transport de sables, pierres et matériaux de construction.

• En 2019, un total de 2,1 millions de tonnes de marchandises ont été chargées ou déchargées par des bateaux de navigation intérieure dans les principaux ports du bassin de la Save. Dans cette région, la Serbie est le pays où le trafic fluvial est le plus intense.

 

MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS MARITIMES EUROPÉENS

 


    Sources: statistiques portuaires, Eurostat [iww_go_aport], Panteia, CBS
    * North Sea Port est le nom du port issu de la fusion transfrontalière entre Zeeland Seaports (Vlissingen, Borsele et Terneuzen) aux Pays-Bas et Ghent Port Company en Belgique, signée le 8 décembre 2017. L’exploitation du port transfrontalier résultant de cette fusion a débuté le 1er janvier 2018.

     

  • Rotterdam, le plus grand port maritime européen, a accueilli 85 969 bateaux de navigation intérieure en 2019 (contre 123 859 en 2018). Rotterdam demeure le premier port dans la région Hambourg-Le Havre en termes de débit total de marchandises, avec 36,4 % de parts de marché, suivi par Anvers (18,4 %), Hambourg (10,7 %) et Amsterdam (8,3 %) (Autorité du Port de Rotterdam, rapport annuel 2019). Bien que le volume des marchandises chargées ou déchargées au port de Rotterdam était de 152,8 millions de tonnes en 2019, et donc au même niveau qu’en 2018, des différences importantes peuvent être observées pour les cargaisons sèches et liquides. Le segment de la cargaison liquide a augmenté de 15%, tandis que celui de la cargaison sèche a diminué de 14%. Le transport de conteneurs a enregistré un recul de 5%. Dans les deux cas, les transports sortants jouent un rôle important au port (près de 88% pour les cargaisons sèches et 65% pour les cargaisons liquides).
  •  

    FIGURE 1: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE ROTTERDAM (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: Port de Rotterdam
     

    FIGURE 2: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE ROTTERDAM, PAR SEGMENTS DE MARCHANDISES* (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Sources: Port de Rotterdam, CBS
    *Les marchandises diverses ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs.

     

  • En 2019, des investissements majeurs ont été liés à la construction du projet Container Exchange Route (CER), à la transition énergétique et à la numérisation (Autorité du Port de Rotterdam, rapport annuel 2019). Nextlogic, le projet qui rendra le transport de conteneurs entrant par barge plus prévisible et les processus de transbordement plus efficaces, devrait être opérationnel dans le courant de l’année 2020.
  • À Anvers, 56 585 bateaux de navigation intérieure ont transité par le port en 2019 (contre 59 724 en 2018). Le transport fluvial de marchandises au port d’Anvers a augmenté en 2019, pour atteindre un volume de 101,3 millions de tonnes de marchandises transportées par navigation intérieure (contre 99,3 en 2018). La part des importations a enregistré une légère hausse, tandis que les exportations sont restées stables.
  • Cette évolution positive en 2019 est principalement due à une augmentation du transport de produits chimiques (+ 4,6%), qui reste le segment le plus important pour le port d’Anvers avec les produits pétroliers. Les deux segments représentent plus de la moitié de la manutention fluviale totale de ce port.
  • La manutention de conteneurs revêt également de l’importance, représentant 25 % du total de la manutention fluviale et poursuivant une légère tendance à la hausse. Alors que les volumes d’engrais, de denrées alimentaires, de fourrage, de produits agricoles et d’animaux vivants ont continué de suivre une tendance à la hausse (+ 11%), les volumes de minerais de fer, d’articles métalliques et de déchets métalliques ont diminué (-14%). En 2019, la répartition modale des flux reliant l’arrière-pays était la suivante : 47 % pour la navigation intérieure, 44,7% pour la route et 8,4% pour le rail (contre 42% pour la route, 46% pour la navigation intérieure et 12% pour le rail en 2018) (Nouvelle méthodologie mise en œuvre par le port pour le calcul de la répartition modale qui a conduit à une augmentation de la part modale du rail et de la navigation intérieure par rapport à la route (avec la méthode précédente, les chiffres de répartition modale en 2018 étaient les suivants : route : 56%, barge : 36 % et rail : 8 %)).
  •  

    FIGURE 3: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME D’ANVERS (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: Port d’Anvers
     

    FIGURE 4: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME D’ANVERS, PAR SEGMENTS DE MARCHANDISES* (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: port d’Anvers
    * Ro/ro, les marchandises diverses et non affectées ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs (en 2019, le volume transporté pour ces trois types de marchandises totalisait 6,2 millions de tonnes, principalement attribuées aux marchandises conventionnelles).

     

  • Dans le North Sea Port (Gand, Terneuzen, Borsele, Vlissingen), la manutention fluviale totale représentait 58,5 millions de tonnes en 2019, soit un chiffre stable par rapport à 2018. En 2019, plus de 47 000 bateaux de navigation intérieure sont entrés dans le North Sea Port pour charger et décharger des cargaisons (environ 40 000 en 2018).
  • Le North Sea Port est principalement un port de vrac (à la fois sec et liquide), les segments de marché les plus importants étant le pétrole, les produits pétroliers, ainsi que les minerais, les produits alimentaires et les engrais.
  • Cinquante-quatre pour cent des marchandises sont transportées vers l’arrière-pays par voie navigable intérieure. Le port vise à accroître la part modale de la navigation intérieure, en particulier en ce qui concerne le transport de conteneurs, un segment dans lequel de grands efforts sont déployés. De plus, il existe un marché croissant pour les parties qui « regroupent » les conteneurs avant qu’ils ne soient transportés vers d’autres ports par barge. Le port attend également la réalisation du projet Seine-Escaut, qui permettra à des bateaux de navigation intérieure d’une capacité de charge de 4 500 tonnes de se rendre à Paris.
  •  

    FIGURE 5: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE NORTH SEA PORT* (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: North Sea Port
    * Ro/ro ainsi que les marchandises conventionnelles ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs (en 2019, le volume transporté pour ces deux types de marchandises totalisait 3,3 millions de tonnes, principalement attribuées aux marchandises conventionnelles).

     

  • Les volumes transportés par bateau de navigation intérieure ont diminué de 9,8 % en 2019 dans le Port de Hambourg. Cette baisse est principalement dûe aux résultats négatifs affichés par le transport de cargaisons sèches, en particulier celui du charbon. L’une des raisons de cette baisse est l’abandon du charbon comme source de production d’électricité en Allemagne. Dans l’ensemble, les cargaisons sèches et liquides suivent une tendance à la baisse depuis 2015.
  • En revanche, la situation est plus positive pour le transport de conteneurs. Contrairement à la baisse globale de 4,1% enregistrée en Allemagne, une augmentation de 13% du transport de conteneurs par bateau de navigation intérieure, soit 145 078 EVP en 2019, a été enregistrée au Port de Hambourg (Communiqué de presse du Port de Hambourg : «Container shipping into the hinterland on a good track» [Le transport de conteneurs vers l’arrière-pays est en bonne voie]. Ce nombre n’inclut pas l’augmentation du transbordement intra-portuaire par barge dans le Port de Hambourg).
  • Le trafic fluvial dans l’arrière-pays (tous modes confondus) a augmenté de 7,4% entre 2018 et 2019. Au sein de cette catégorie de trafic, le transport fluvial a perdu des parts de marché au profit du rail. Sa part était de 9,2 % en 2019, contre 10,1 % en 2018, tandis que la part modale du transport ferroviaire était de 49,4 % (contre 47,1 % en 2018). La part modale du transport routier est passée de 42,8 % à 41,4 %. À Hambourg, le transport fluvial entrant représente 47 %, tandis que le transport sortant représente 53 %.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE HAMBOURG (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: Office statistique de Hambourg/Port de Hambourg
     

    FIGURE 7: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE HAMBOURG PAR SEGMENTS DE MARCHANDISES* (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: Office statistique de Hambourg/Port de Hambourg
    * Les marchandises diverses ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs.

     
     

     

  • Dans le port de Constanţa, 10 395 bateaux de navigation intérieure ont fait escale en 2019. Le trafic fluvial a augmenté de près de 20 %, pour atteindre 15,1 millions de tonnes, principalement grâce à l’augmentation des volumes de produits agricoles, notamment de céréales, de minerai de fer et de produits chimiques transportés.
  • Ce sont principalement des cargaisons sèches qui sont transportées dans le port de Constanţa, représentant 90,7 % du transport total de marchandises. Les volumes de cargaison sèche ont augmenté de 20,8% par rapport à 2018. Les cargaisons liquides représentent 5,6 % du transport total de marchandises. Le fret conteneurisé, Ro/ro et divers s’est élevé à 507 milliers de tonnes en 2019, principalement attribuées aux marchandises diverses. En effet, le transport de conteneurs dans le port de Constanţa est resté relativement faible et représentait 1 761 EVP en 2019.
  • Le transport international représente 56,2 % de la manutention fluviale totale. Constanţa est le port maritime où la manutention fluviale enregistrée en Roumanie est la plus importante, avant Galati, Cernavoda, Tulcea et Braila.
  •  

    FIGURE 8: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE CONSTANŢA (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


    Source: port de Constanţa/Office statistique de Roumanie
     
     
     

    MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS INTÉRIEURS EUROPÉENS

      PORTS RHÉNANS

      TABLEAU 1: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS RHÉNANS (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

       2017201820192019/2018
      Duisbourg52,248,147,8-0,6%
      Cologne10,78,99,1+2,7%
      Mannheim9,77,57,9+5,3%
      Strasbourg85,97,5+28,5%
      Neuss87,66,9-9,4%
      Karlsruhe7,26,46,9+7,5%
      Ludwigshafen5,66,16,6+9,4%
      Bâle5,84,76,1+29,1%
      Mulhouse4,84,44,9+12,9%
      Kehl3,53,94,2+7,2%
      Mayence2,93,23,7+16,3%
      Krefeld3,43,33,6+6,8%
      Wesseling2,622,7+35,9%
      Total124,4112,1118,1+5,4%

      Sources: Destatis Port de Strasbourg, Ports rhénans suisses, Port de Mulhouse
      Le «total» ne concerne que les ports mentionnés dans le tableau, et non l’ensemble des ports rhénans.

       
       
      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)
       

       
       
       

      PORTS FRANÇAIS ET BELGES

      TABLEAU 2: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS FRANÇAIS ET BELGES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

       2017201820192019/2018
      Paris21,222,125,3+14,6%
      Liège15,916160%
      Strasbourg85,97,5+28,5%
      Bruxelles4,85,25,20%
      Mulhouse4,84,44,9+12,9%
      Namur5,35,14,6-9,2%
      Metz1,61,92,2+14,3%
      Lille1,81,81,9+4,2%
      Lyon1,51,41,1-21,9%
      Villefranche-sur-Saône0,80,80,80%
      Chalon-sur-Saône et Mâcon1,10,80,80%
      Thionville0,60,60,7+21,7%
      Total67,46670,9+7,4%

      Sources: Ports de Paris, Port de Liège, Port de Strasbourg, Port de Mulhouse, Port de Bruxelles, Port de Namur, Nouveau port de Metz, Port de Lille, VNF
      Le «total» ne concerne que les ports mentionnés dans le tableau, et non l’ensemble des ports intérieurs en France et en Belgique.

       
       
      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)
       

       
       
       

      PORTS DU DANUBE

      TABLEAU 3: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS DE GRANDS PORTS DU DANUBE (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

       2017201820192019/2018
      Constanţa12,112,114,5+20,6%
      Galati6,36,45,9-7,5%
      Ismail5,14,74,3-8,5%
      Smederovo3,23,64+13,4%
      Linz4,23,23,4+6,6%
      Bratislava2,11,51,7+7,9%
      Tulcea1,31,71,6-5,0%
      Pancevo1,11,41,5+9,1%
      Novi Sad1,211,4+35,0%
      Ratisbonne1,51,11,3+18,1%
      Reni1,11,31,3-4,4%
      Vienne1,111,2+17,8%
      Drobeta Turnu Severin1,21,11,2+4,9%
      Călăraşi-Chiciu0,70,71,1+46,1%
      Prahovo0,911,1+5,3%
      Budapest-Csepel1,10,91,1+23,1%
      Măcin-Turcoaia0,80,80,9+18,8%
      Baja0,60,30,5+45,5%
      Total45,543,848+9,6%

      Sources: Commission du Danube, rapport d’observation du marché, Office statistique de la Roumanie, Office statistique de la Hongrie, Destatis, Statistik Austria, Autorité portuaire de Serbie
      Le «total» ne concerne que les ports mentionnés dans le tableau, et non l’ensemble des ports du Danube. La manutention fluviale totale des ports du Danube en 2019 s’élevait à 69 millions de tonnes (+13% par rapport à 2018).

       
       
      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)
       

       
       

      PORTS DE LA SAVE

      TABLEAU 4: MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS SUR LA SAVE* (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)

      Lieu de transbordement2017201820192018/2019
      Autres lieux de transbordement (Serbie)-682949+39%
      Sremska Mitrovica (Serbie)189234560+139%
      Slavonski Brod (Croatie)117131199+52%
      Sabac (Serbie)170149149+/-0%
      Brčko (Bosnie-Herzégovine - BIH)13698125+27%
      Sisak (Croatie)606670+6%
      Raffinerie de pétrole de Brod (BIH)9,7298,1-72%
      Total68213902060+48%

      Source : Commission de la Save
      * En 2015, le port de Šamac en Bosnie-Herzégovine a déposé son bilan ; aucun transbordement de cargaison n’a été par conséquent enregistré depuis.

       
       
       
      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)
       

       
       

      FIGURE 9: ÉVOLUTION DES MARCHANDISES TRANSBORDÉES DANS LE BASSIN DE LA SAVE, EN TOTALITÉ ET VENTILÉES PAR PAYS SUR LA PÉRIODE 2010-2019* (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)


      Source : Commission de la Save
      * 2014 : les données relatives à la Serbie sont manquantes (une crue importante a touché l’ensemble du bassin cette année-là, ce qui peut expliquer cette absence) ; première année où la raffinerie de pétrole de Brod a commencé à fonctionner et où des données ont été enregistrées ; après 2015 : plus de données pour le port de Šamac ; depuis 2018 et 2019, des données ont commencé à être collectées pour des lieux de transbordement plus modestes en Serbie, ce qui explique la quantité croissante de marchandises transbordées enregistrées en Serbie pour ces années-là.

       
       
      Serbie

      • Sremska Mitrovica/Port Leget est une société commerciale qui gère la zone portuaire et se concentre principalement sur l’exploitation des sédiments du lit de la Save. Ses activités sont fortement dépendantes de la demande du secteur de la construction, affichant ainsi une quantité importante de marchandises telles que des graviers, sables et granulats de pierre.
      • Le complexe industriel portuaire de Šabac/Zorka a été construit par l’ancien géant de l’industrie chimique Zorka et est principalement utilisé par le bassin industriel de Šabac et Valjevo. Le transbordement, principalement de marchandises diverses et en vrac, est effectué dans le complexe industriel portuaire de Zorka et, dans une moindre mesure, dans la voie navigable de la zone franche de Šabac. Des projets visant à accroître sa capacité sont en cours, ce qui devrait avoir un effet positif sur le marché des services de transport dans un avenir prévisible.
      • Depuis 2018, l’Agence portuaire de la République de Serbie tient des registres statistiques pour les autres lieux de transbordement de taille plus modeste. Dans tous ces endroits, il y a une augmentation significative du transbordement global, principalement de matériaux de construction, de produits pétroliers, de charbon et de sédiments dragués dans le lit de la Save et de ses affluents.

       
      Croatie

      • Au cours des dix dernières années, la manutention fluviale au port de Slavonski Brod concernaient principalement le pétrole brut et la pierre et, en quantités moindres, les céréales, le sucre et les biocarburants, ainsi que certains produits de l’industrie métallurgique et certains types de marchandises. En 2017, grâce à un cofinancement de l’UE, l’autorité portuaire a lancé des travaux afin de créer de nouvelles infrastructures fluviales ou de moderniser l’infrastructure existante, le réseau routier et le terminal à conteneurs (budget : 11 millions d’euros). En outre, des investissements importants ont été annoncés par les Chemins de fer croates et d’autres investisseurs privés. Des négociations sont en cours au sujet de contrats de transport/transbordement à long terme.
      • Le port de Sisak (administré par l’autorité portuaire de Sisak) est le port situé le plus en amont sur la Save, ce qui explique les quantités modestes de marchandises transbordées, principalement du pétrole brut chargé à Slavonski Brod. Il est fortement tributaire des conditions hydrologiques.
      •  

      Bosnie-Herzégovine

      • Les ports de Bosnie-Herzégovine ont prévu et planifié une augmentation des quantités de marchandises transbordées. Cependant, de nombreux facteurs tels que la lenteur de la croissance économique et les retards dans la mise en œuvre du projet de réhabilitation de la voie navigable de la Save ont également entravé ces développements. Des activités et des discussions sont en cours dans le but de trouver un nouveau modèle d’investissement dans la réhabilitation de la voie navigable de la Save et de ses ports.
      • Le port de Brčko est situé à proximité d’une zone industrielle. Il permet un flux direct de marchandises sur la Save, vers les ports du Danube ainsi que vers les ports de la mer du Nord et de la mer Noire. Il est bien relié aux autres modes de transport. L’équipement permet le transport de céréales et de marchandises en vrac. Au cours des dix dernières années, le transbordement incluait principalement le charbon, la farine de soja, le coke, les tôles d’acier et les bandes d’acier laminées à froid.
      • Le port de Šamac se distingue par de fortes fluctuations dans les quantités de marchandises transbordées. En effet, il est détenu par une entreprise privée, dont il possède des parts, et la manutention fluviale au port dépend de la production effective de l’entreprise. Le port est principalement utilisé pour la livraison de bandes laminées à froid et le transport de tuyaux en acier.
      • La raffinerie de pétrole de Brod a été fondée en 1892 par une société hongroise de l’industrie chimique (Danica). Ses principaux avantages sont sa position sur la Save, qui est navigable entre Sisak et sa confluence avec le Danube, et plus loin vers la mer Noire, ainsi que la proximité de l’autoroute et de Jadranski Naftovod (JANAF), une société assurant la gestion d’un réseau de pipelines.
elementum mi, dapibus Donec elit. consequat.