• Inland waterway freight transport decreased in most seaports and inland ports in 2020.
• The development was less severe in seaports, as the results for Rotterdam (-2%), the North Sea Port (-6.1%), Hamburg (-6.1%) and Constanţa (-2%) show. The port of Antwerp even held IWT volumes constant.
• In major Rhine and Danube ports, the average decrease in IWT was 8%, mainly as a result of the pandemic. The largest European inland port, Duisburg, recorded an 11.3% reduction in its inland waterway transport. The second largest European inland port, Paris, recorded a 9.7% decrease.

 
 

MAIN EUROPEAN SEAPORTS


    Sources: Port Statistics, Eurostat [iww_go_aport], CBS
    * For most ports: data from 2019; Moerdijk: data from 2018; Szczecin, Zeebrugge, Brugge: data from 2016
     

     
    ROTTERDAM

    • Rotterdam, the largest European seaport, remains the market leader in the Hamburg-Le Havre range by total maritime cargo throughput as it holds 36.6% of market shares, followed by Antwerp (19.4%), Hamburg (10.6%) and Amsterdam (8%).13 The volumes of loaded or unloaded IWT cargo at the port of Rotterdam decreased by 2% to 149.7 million tonnes in 2020 (compared to 152.8 million tonnes in 2019). The liquid cargo segment increased by 15%, while the dry cargo segment decreased by 14%. Container transport decreased by 5%. As observed in previous years, outgoing traffic continues to play an important role at the port (almost 70%). In 2020, 92,552 inland vessels visited the port of Rotterdam.
    •  

      FIGURE 1: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF ROTTERDAM (IN MILLION TONNES)


      Source: Port of Rotterdam based on CBS
       

      FIGURE 2: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF ROTTERDAM PER CARGO SEGMENT (IN MILLION TONNES) *


      Source: Port of Rotterdam based on CBS
      * General cargo is not taken into account in these calculations. In 2020, the volume transported for general cargo amounted to 4.9 million tonnes.

       
       

    ANTWERP

    • In 2020, 56,583 inland vessels frequented the port of Antwerp (compared to 56,585 in 2019). The IWT goods traffic at the port of Antwerp remained stable in 2020, reaching a volume of 101 million tonnes (compared to 101.3 in 2019). The share of imports increased slightly while exports decreased marginally. Overall, compared to 2010, an increase of 15% in total IWT traffic at the port can be observed.
    • The modal split for total maritime throughput (but excluding industrial traffic) in 2020 was as follows: 45% road, 47.3% IWT and 7.7% rail (compared to the following figures in 2019:  47% road, 44.7% barge and 8.4% rail).
    • As in 2019, the main IWT market segments at the port in 2020 were petroleum products, chemicals and containers. The first two make up for more than half of the total river traffic at the port. Containers come close behind with a share of 25% of total river traffic.
    • Despite the Covid pandemic, imports of petroleum products increased by 28.5% in 2020 compared to 2019, while imports of metal products (-22.4%), fertilizers (-5.7%), chemicals (-4.1%) as well as crude minerals and building materials (-12.5%) decreased. On the export side, the situation was different, with the crude minerals and building materials segment recording a strong increase (+55.4%) and petroleum products sustaining a limited decrease. However, export of metal products has also strongly decreased (-29.9%).
    • The overall positive results for petroleum products can be explained by the few exceptionally good months for the transport of such goods to and from the port (March, November and December 2020). The main driver for such positive results was the decrease in oil prices.
    • Overall, solid fuels have been following a downward trend since 2010, driven by the energy transition. While reaching a high peak in 2017, volumes of metal products have decreased since then and sustained the most important loss in 2020 (-29%) of all other cargo segments. This negative result can be explained on the one hand by trade limitations (import quotas in particular) which, since Q3 2019, have led to strong declines in maritime volumes. The Covid crisis came as an additional factor which further affected demand, particularly in the automobile industry, thereby leading to a major decline in transport for this cargo segment.
    • With regard to building materials, volumes have increased since 2015. For this segment, 2020 was quite particular since it recorded exceptionally good results (February 2020) but also extremely low ones (December 2020). Overall, the first half year 2020 was rather positive, while the second part of the year remained stable compared to the other years.
    • Container volumes remained stable in 2020 compared to 2019 but in general have been following an upward trend.
    •  

      FIGURE 3: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF ANTWERP (IN MILLION TONNES)


      Source: Port of Antwerp
       

      FIGURE 4: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF ANTWERP PER CARGO SEGMENT (IN MILLION TONNES) *


      Source: Port of Antwerp
      * Ro/ro, general and not assigned goods are not taken into account in these calculations (in 2020, the volume transported for these three cargo types amounted to 5.1 million tonnes, mostly attributed to conventional goods).

       
       

    NORTH SEA PORT

    • In the North Sea Port (Ghent, Terneuzen, Borsele, Flushing), total river traffic amounted to 54.95 million tonnes in 2020, a 6.1% decrease compared to 2019, mostly due to the Covid pandemic. In 2020, 41,446 inland vessels called at the port (compared to 47,000 in 2019). While in normal circumstances the evolution of seagoing and inland traffic is the same, it can be observed that inland waterway traffic was hit to a lesser extent than seagoing traffic (-11% compared to 2019), the latter also having to cope with the impact of Brexit.
    • Regarding inland waterway traffic at the port, dry bulk registered a small decline (-0.5%), mostly related to reduced volumes of minerals and building materials at the beginning of the Covid crisis, as a result of the first lockdown which lasted from March until May 2020. During this period, the construction industry was indeed at a standstill. On the liquid bulk side, the decline was stronger (-8.4%) mainly due to a decrease in liquid petroleum products. This is an indirect effect of the Covid crisis, which impacted transport movements and thereby use of liquid petroleum products. Transport of containers increased by 4.3%. It is worth noting that a decline of 39% was also observed for conventional goods. This was mostly due to a decrease in products from the metallurgical sector. The steel industry was indeed hit quite strongly by the crisis.
    •  

      FIGURE 5: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE NORTH SEA PORT (IN MILLION TONNES)


      Source: North Sea Port
      * Ro/ro and conventional cargo are not taken into account in these calculations (in 2020, the volume transported for these two cargo types amounted to 1.99 million tonnes, mostly attributed to conventional cargo).

       
       

    HAMBURG

    • Volumes transported by IWT decreased by 6.1% in 2020 (8.3 million tonnes) compared to 2019 (8.9 million tonnes) in the port of Hamburg. This result is mainly driven by the strong decrease in export volumes (-23.5%), while the import volumes increased (+13.6%). Of course, this is mostly linked to the Covid pandemic.
    • Overall, liquid cargo suffered the most from the pandemic, with a 23.4% decrease in transport volumes compared to 2019, which can be explained by the reduced transport volumes for coke and petroleum products (-24.3%). This market segment was strongly affected in many regions in Europe.
    • Dry cargo traffic remained rather stable, but had already sustained negative results in 2019, in particular coal transport, as a result of the shift away from coal as a source of electricity generation in Germany. In 2020, the downward trend observed for coal transport continued (-63.1%). This decrease seems to have been compensated by an increase in building material transport volumes (+16.4%), as well as secondary raw materials and waste (+38.4%). Overall, both dry and liquid cargo have, however, been following a decreasing trend since 2015.
    • The situation is more positive for container transport. Container transport increased by 8.9% and has been following an increasing trend, at a slow pace, since 2015.
    • In 2020, hinterland traffic consisted of 92 million tonnes of transported goods. With a share of 50.7%, railway transport is ahead of truck transport with 40.3% and inland waterway transport with 9%.
    •  

      FIGURE 6: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF HAMBURG (IN MILLION TONNES)


      Source: Statistical Office of Hamburg
       

      FIGURE 7: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF HAMBURG PER CARGO SEGMENT (IN MILLION TONNES) *


      Source: Statistical Office of Hamburg
      * General cargo is not taken into account in these calculations (in 2020, the volume transported for this cargo type amounted to 0.3 million tonnes).

       
       

    CONSTANŢA

    • In Constanţa, 10,344 inland vessels called at the port in 2020 (10,395 in 2019). Inland waterway transport decreased by almost 2%, to reach 14.9 million tonnes.
    • Mainly dry cargo is transported in the port of Constanţa, with a share above 90% of the total goods transported. Dry cargo volumes registered a slight increase compared to 2019 while liquid cargo registered a 27.3% decrease. Container, Ro/ro and general cargo amounted to 330 thousand tonnes in 2020, mostly attributed to general cargo. Indeed, container traffic in the port of Constanţa is low and has sustained a constant decrease since 2010.
    •  

      FIGURE 8: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN THE SEAPORT OF CONSTANŢA (IN MILLION TONNES)


      Sources: Port of Constanţa / Romanian Statistical Office
       
       
       

MAIN EUROPEAN INLAND PORTS

    RHINE PORTS

      TABLE 1: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN MAJOR RHINE PORTS (IN MILLION TONNES) AND RATE OF CHANGE 2020/2019

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Duisburg52.248.147.842.4-11.3%
      Cologne10.78.99.19.10%
      Mannheim9.77.57.96.9-12.7%
      Strasbourg8.05.97.56.8-9.5%
      Neuss8.07.66.96.5-5.8%
      Karlsruhe7.26.46.96.2-10.1%
      Ludwigshafen5.66.16.66.8+3.0%
      Basel5.84.76.15.1-16.4%
      Mulhouse4.84.44.94.2-14.3%
      Kehl3.53.94.24.4+4.8%
      Mainz2.93.23.73.6-2.7%
      Krefeld3.43.33.63.0-16.7%
      Wesseling2.62.02.72.5-7.4%
      Total124.4112.1118.1108.5-8.0%

      Sources: Destatis, Port de Strasbourg, Swiss Rhine ports, Port de Mulhouse
      The “total” relates only to the ports mentioned in the table, not all Rhine ports.
       

      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (IN MILLION TONNES)


       

    DUTCH PORTS

      TABLE 2: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN MAJOR DUTCH PORTS (IN MILLION TONNES) AND RATE OF CHANGE 2020/2019

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Rotterdam159.2152.8152.8150.6-1.4%
      Amsterdam58.4 60.1 60.0 53.1-11.6%
      Vlissingen13.4 15.3 19.9 17.0-14.8%
      Terneuzen14.1 14.1 14.4 14.3-0.4%
      Moerdijk9.510.2 10.2 10.9+7.1%
      Sittard-Geleen4.26.3 6.8 6.4-6.4%
      Velsen4.84.6 6.4 6.6+3.2%
      Urk3.75.1 6.0 2.5-58.2%
      Dordrecht4.75.3 5.7 6.4+13.1%
      Delfzijl5.66.4 5.2 4.2-19.1%
      Nijmegen2.42.8 4.1 5.1+24.8%
      Hengelo (O)4.53.6 4.0 3.8-3.9%
      Gennep3.53.7 3.2 3.2-1.5%
      Stein3.63.6 3.1 3.1-1.1%
      Sluis3.43.3 2.8 3.0+7.7%

      Source: CBS
       

      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (IN MILLION TONNES)


       

    FRENCH AND BELGIAN PORTS

      TABLE 3: INLAND WATERWAY AND RATE OF CHANGE 2020/2019

       2018201920202020/2019
      Antwerp99.3101.3101.00%
      Paris22.125.322.8-9.7%
      Liège16.016.013.9-12.0%
      Strasbourg5.97.56.8-9.5%
      Rouen4.85.55.9+6.0%
      Brussels5.25.24.9-5.3%
      Mulhouse4.44.94.2-14.3%
      Namur5.14.63.8-16.3%
      Le Havre3.23.42.7-19.6%
      Marseille2.52.82.0-31.0%
      Dunkirk2.42.52.9+16.0%
      Metz1.92.22.0-7.2%
      Lille1.81.92.0+8.0%
      Lyon1.41.11.0-3.4%
      Villefranche-sur-Saône 0.80.80.8-7.0%
      Chalon-sur-Saône and Mâcon 0.80.80.7-10.7%
      Thionville0.60.70.6-17.7%
      Total178.2186.5178.0-4.5%

      Sources: Ministère de la Transition écologique, Voies Navigables de France, Ports de Paris, Port de Liège, Port de Strasbourg, Port de Mulhouse, Port de Bruxelles, Port de Namur, Nouveau port de Metz, Port de Lille, Port de Dunkerque.
      The “total” relates only to the ports mentioned in the table, and not to all French and Belgian ports.
       

      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (IN MILLION TONNES)


       

    DANUBE PORTS

      TABLE 4: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN MAJOR DANUBE PORTS (IN MILLION TONNES) AND RATE OF CHANGE 2020/2019

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Constanţa12.112.114.514.50%
      Galati6.36.45.94.5-23.7%
      Ismail5.14.74.33.2-24.0%
      Smederovo3.23.64.02.6-35.0%
      Linz4.23.23.43.4+4.0%
      Bratislava2.11.51.71.5-11.7%
      Tulcea1.31.71.61.2-26.9%
      Pancevo1.11.41.52.0+35.0%
      Novi Sad1.21.01.41.6+15.5%
      Regensburg1.51.11.31.5+11.9%
      Reni1.11.31.30.8-38.3%
      Vienna1.11.01.20.8-17.3%
      Drobeta Turnu Severin1.21.11.21.0-16.6%
      Călăraşi-Chiciu0.70.71.10.9-11.0%
      Prahovo0.91.01.11.2+8.0%
      Budapest-Csepel1.10.91.11.2+5.5%
      Măcin-Turcoaia0.80.80.91.2+18.6%
      Baja0.60.30.50.8+67.3%
      Total45.543.848.043.9-8.5%

      Sources: Danube Commission market observation, Romanian Statistical Institute, Hungarian Statistical Office, Port Governance Agency of Serbia
      The “total” relates only to the ports mentioned in the table and not all Danube ports.
       

      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (IN MILLION TONNES)


       

    SAVA PORTS

      TABLE 5: INLAND WATERWAY TRANSPORT IN MAJOR SAVA PORTS (IN THOUSAND TONNES) AND RATE OF CHANGE 2020/2019*

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Other ports (Serbia)-6829492,000+111%
      Sremska Mitrovica (Serbia)189234560486-13%
      Slavonski Brod (Croatia)117131199138-31%
      Sabac (Serbia)170149149170+14%
      Brčko (Bosnia and Herzegovina - BaH)1369810365-37%
      Sisak (Croatia)60666755-18%
      Oil refinery Brod (BaH)9.7298.10-100%
      Total6821,3902,0352,91443%

      Source: Sava Commission
      * In 2015, the port of Šamac in Bosnia and Herzegovina reported bankruptcy, therefore no transshipment of cargo has been recorded since then. Since 2018 and 2019, data for smaller transshipment places in Serbia started to be collected which explains the increasing amount of transshipped goods recorded in Serbia for those years.

       

      TOTAL YEARLY WATERSIDE TRAFFIC (IN THOUSAND TONNES)

• La manutention fluviale a diminué dans la plupart des ports maritimes et intérieurs en 2020.
• La baisse a été moins forte dans les ports maritimes, comme le montrent les résultats recueillis pour Rotterdam (-2%), le North Sea Port (-6,1%), Hambourg (-6,1%) et Constanţa (-2%). Le port d’Anvers a même maintenu ses volumes de manutention à un niveau constant.
• Dans les principaux ports du Rhin et du Danube, l’activité de transport fluvial a accusé en moyenne une baisse de 8%, résultant principalement de la pandémie. Le plus grand port intérieur européen, Duisbourg, a enregistré un recul de 11,3 % de sa manutention fluviale. Le deuxième plus grand port intérieur européen, Paris, a subi une baisse de 9,7 %.

 
 

PRINCIPAUX PORTS MARITIMES EUROPÉENS


Sources : statistiques portuaires, Eurostat [iww_go_aport], CBS
* Pour la plupart des ports : données de 2019; Moerdijk : données de 2018; Szczecin, Zeebrugge, Brugge : données de 2016

 
 

 

    ROTTERDAM

    • Rotterdam, le plus grand port maritime européen, demeure le premier port de la région Hambourg-Le Havre en termes de débit total de marchandises, avec 36,6 % de parts de marché, suivi par Anvers (19,4 %), Hambourg (10,7 %) et Amsterdam (8 %).13 Les volumes des marchandises, transportées par voie fluviale, chargées ou déchargées au port de Rotterdam, ont diminué de 2 % pour descendre à 149,7 millions de tonnes en 2020 (contre 152,8 millions de tonnes en 2019). Le segment de la cargaison liquide a augmenté de 15 %, tandis que celui de la cargaison sèche a diminué de 14 %. Le transport de conteneurs a enregistré un recul de 5 %. Comme observé lors des années précédentes, les transports sortants continuent de jouer un rôle important dans le port (près de 70 %). En 2020, le port de Rotterdam a accueilli 92 552 bateaux de navigation intérieure.
    •  

      FIGURE 1 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE ROTTERDAM (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


      Source : Port de Rotterdam sur la base des données CBS
       

      FIGURE 2 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE ROTTERDAM, PAR SEGMENTS DE MARCHANDISES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)*


      Source : Port de Rotterdam sur la base des données CBS
      * Les marchandises diverses ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs. En 2020, le volume de marchandises diverses transporté s’est élevé à 4,9 millions de tonnes.

       
       

    ANVERS

    • En 2020, les bateaux de navigation intérieure qui ont transité par le port d’Anvers (contre 56 585 en 2019) étaient au nombre de 56 585. Le transport fluvial de marchandises au port d’Anvers est resté stable en 2020, affichant un volume de 101,3 millions de tonnes (contre 101,3 en 2019). La part des importations a enregistré une légère hausse, tandis que les exportations ont légèrement diminué. Globalement, par rapport à 2010, on observe une augmentation de 15 % de l’ensemble de la manutention fluviale dans le port.
    • La répartition modale par rapport à la capacité totale de rendement maritime (à l’exclusion du trafic industriel) en 2020 était la suivante : 45 % pour la route, 47,3 % pour la navigation intérieure et 7,7 % pour le rail (par rapport aux chiffres recueillis en 2019 : 47 % pour la route, 44,7 % pour la navigation et 8,4 % pour le rail).
    • Comme en 2019, les principaux segments de marché relatifs à la manutention fluviale au port en 2020 étaient ceux des produits pétroliers, des produits chimiques et des conteneurs. Les deux premiers segments représentent plus de la moitié de la manutention fluviale totale de ce port. La manutention de conteneurs revêt également de l’importance, représentant 25 % du total de la manutention fluviale.
    • Malgré la pandémie de Covid, les importations de produits pétroliers ont augmenté de 28,5 % en 2020 par rapport à 2019, tandis que les importations de produits métalliques (-22,4 %), d’engrais (-5,7 %), de produits chimiques (-4,1 %) ainsi que de minéraux bruts et de matériaux de construction (-12,5 %) ont diminué. En ce qui concerne les exportations, la situation était différente, le segment des minéraux bruts et des matériaux de construction ayant enregistré une forte hausse (+55,4 %) et les produits pétroliers ayant subi une baisse limitée. Cela étant, les exportations de produits métalliques ont aussi fortement diminué (-29,9 %).
    • Les résultats globalement positifs pour les produits pétroliers s’expliquent par quelques mois exceptionnellement favorables au transport de ces marchandises à destination et au départ du port (mars, novembre et décembre 2020). Le principal facteur à l’origine de ces résultats positifs a été la baisse des cours du pétrole.
    • Dans l’ensemble, les combustibles solides suivent une tendance à la baisse depuis 2010, sous l’effet de la transition énergétique. Bien qu’ayant atteint un pic élevé en 2017, les volumes de produits métalliques ont diminué depuis et subi en 2020 la perte la plus importante (-29 %) par rapport à tous les autres segments de marchandises. Ce résultat négatif s’explique, d’une part, par les limitations commerciales (quotas d’importation notamment) qui, depuis le troisième trimestre 2019, ont entraîné de fortes baisses des volumes maritimes. La crise du Covid a été un facteur supplémentaire qui a également touché la demande, notamment dans l’industrie automobile, entraînant ainsi une baisse importante du transport pour ce segment de marchandises.
    • En ce qui concerne les matériaux de construction, les volumes ont augmenté depuis 2015. Pour ce segment, l’année 2020 a été tout à fait particulière puisqu’elle a enregistré des résultats exceptionnellement bons (février 2020) mais aussi extrêmement bas (décembre 2020). Dans l’ensemble, le premier semestre 2020 a été plutôt positif, tandis que la seconde partie de l’année est restée stable par rapport aux autres années.
    • Les volumes de conteneurs sont restés stables en 2020 par rapport à 2019, tout en suivant, de manière générale, une tendance à la hausse.
    •  

      FIGURE 3 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME D’ANVERS (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


      Source : Port d’Anvers
       

      FIGURE 4 : TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DANS LE PORT MARITIME D’ANVERS, PAR SEGMENTS DE MARCHANDISES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) *


      Source : Port d’Anvers
      * Ro/ro, les marchandises diverses et non affectées ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs (en 2020, le volume transporté pour ces trois types de marchandises totalisait 5,1 millions de tonnes, principalement imputées aux marchandises conventionnelles).

       
       

    NORTH SEA PORT

    • Dans le North Sea Port (Gand, Terneuzen, Borsele, Vlissingen), la manutention fluviale totale représentait 54,95 millions de tonnes en 2020, soit une baisse de 6,1 % par rapport à 2019, principalement due à la pandémie de Covid. 41 446 bateaux de navigation intérieure y ont fait escale en 2020 (contre 47 000 en 2019). Si, en temps normal, le trafic maritime et le trafic fluvial évoluent de la même manière, on observe que le trafic fluvial a été moins touché que le trafic maritime (-11 % par rapport à 2019), qui doit également faire face à l’impact du Brexit.
    • En ce qui concerne la manutention fluviale au port, le vrac sec a enregistré une légère baisse (-0,5 %), principalement liée à la réduction des volumes de minerais et de matériaux de construction au début de la crise du Covid, en conséquence du premier confinement qui a duré de mars à mai 2020. En effet, pendant cette période, le secteur de la construction était au point mort. En ce qui concerne le vrac liquide, la baisse a été plus forte (-8,4 %), principalement en raison d’une diminution de la consommation des produits pétroliers liquides. Il s’agit là d’un effet indirect de la crise du Covid, qui a eu une incidence sur les transports et donc sur la consommation des produits pétroliers liquides. Le transport de conteneurs a augmenté de 4,3 %. Il convient de noter qu’une baisse de 39 % a également été observée pour les marchandises conventionnelles. Elle résulte principalement d’une diminution de la production du secteur métallurgique. L’industrie sidérurgique a en effet été assez fortement touchée par la crise.
    •  

      FIGURE 5 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE NORTH SEA PORT (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


      Source: North Sea Port
      * Ro/ro ainsi que les marchandises conventionnelles ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs (en 2020, le volume transporté pour ces deux types de marchandises totalisait 1,99 millions de tonnes, principalement attribuées aux marchandises conventionnelles).

       
       

    HAMBOURG

    • Les volumes transportés par bateau de navigation intérieure ont diminué de 6,1 % en 2020 par rapport à 2019 (8,9 millions de tonnes) dans le port de Hambourg. Ce résultat est principalement dû à la forte baisse des volumes d’exportation (-23,5 %), alors que les volumes d’importation ont augmenté (+13,6 %). Bien sûr, cela est surtout lié à la pandémie de Covid.
    • Dans l’ensemble, ce sont les cargaisons liquides qui ont le plus souffert de la pandémie, avec une baisse de 23,4 % des volumes de transport par rapport à 2019, qui peut s’expliquer par la réduction des volumes de transport de coke et de produits pétroliers (-24,3 %). Ce segment de marché a été fortement touché dans de nombreuses régions d’Europe.
    • Le transport de cargaisons sèches est resté plutôt stable, alors qu’il avait déjà affiché des résultats négatifs en 2019, notamment celui du charbon, en raison de l’abandon progressif du charbon comme source de production d’électricité en Allemagne. En 2020, la tendance à la baisse observée pour le transport de charbon s’est poursuivie (-63,1 %). Cette baisse semble avoir été compensée par une augmentation des volumes de transport de matériaux de construction (+16,4 %), de matières premières secondaires et de déchets (+38,4 %). Dans l’ensemble, les cargaisons sèches et liquides ont suivi une tendance à la baisse depuis 2015.
    • La situation est plus positive pour le transport de conteneurs, qui a augmenté de 8,9 % et suit, à un rythme lent, une tendance à la hausse depuis 2015.
    • En 2020, le trafic fluvial dans l’arrière-pays représentait 92 millions de tonnes de marchandises transportées. Avec une part de 50,7 %, le transport ferroviaire devance le transport par camion, qui lui a une part de 40,3 %, et le transport fluvial qui a une part de 9 %.
    •  

      FIGURE 6 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE HAMBOURG (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


      Source : Office statistique de Hambourg
       

      FIGURE 7 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE HAMBOURG, PAR SEGMENTS DE MARCHANDISES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) *


      Source : Office statistique de Hambourg
      * Les marchandises diverses ne sont pas prises en compte dans ces calculs (en 2020, le volume transporté pour cette catégorie de marchandises totalisait 0,3 millions de tonnes).

       
       

    CONSTANŢA

    • 10 344 bateaux de navigation intérieure ont fait escale au port de Constanţa en 2020 (contre 10 395 en 2019). Le transport fluvial a diminué de près de 2 %, pour atteindre 14,9 millions de tonnes.
    • Ce sont principalement des cargaisons sèches qui sont manutentionnées dans le port de Constanţa, représentant 90 % du total de marchandises transportées. Les volumes de cargaisons sèches ont légèrement augmenté par rapport à 2018, alors que les cargaisons liquides ont accusé une baisse de 27,3 %. Le fret conteneurisé, Ro/ro et divers s’est élevé à 330 milliers de tonnes en 2020, principalement imputables aux marchandises diverses. En effet, le transport de conteneurs dans le port de Constanţa est resté faible, affichant une baisse constante depuis 2010.
    •  

      FIGURE 8 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LE PORT MARITIME DE CONSTANȚA (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


      Sources : Port de Constanța/Office statistique de Roumanie
       
       
       

PRINCIPAUX PORTS INTÉRIEURS EUROPÉENS

    PORTS RHÉNANS

      TABLEAU 1 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS RHÉNANS (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) ET TAUX DE VARIATION 2020/2019

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Duisbourg52,248,147,842,4-11,3 %
      Cologne10,78,99,19,10 %
      Mannheim9,77,57,96,9-12,7 %
      Strasbourg8,05,97,56,8-9,5 %
      Neuss8,07,66,96,5-5,8 %
      Karlsruhe7,26,46,96,2-10,1 %
      Ludwigshafen5,66,16,66,8+3,0 %
      Bâle5,84,76,15,1-16,4 %
      Mulhouse4,84,44,94,2-14,3 %
      Kehl3,53,94,24,4+4,8 %
      Mayence2,93,23,73,6-2,7 %
      Krefeld3,43,33,63,0-16,7 %
      Wesseling2,62,02,72,5-7,4 %
      Total124,4112,1118,1108,5-8,0 %

      Sources : Destatis, Port de Strasbourg, Ports rhénans suisses, Port de Mulhouse. Le « total » ne concerne que les ports mentionnés dans le tableau, et non l’ensemble des ports rhénans.
       

      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


       

    PORTS NÉERLANDAIS

      TABLEAU 2 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS NÉERLANDAIS (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) ET TAUX DE VARIATION 2020/2019

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Rotterdam159,2152,8152,8150,6-1,4 %
      Amsterdam58,460,160,053,1-11,6 %
      Vlissingen13,415,319,917,0-14,8 %
      Terneuzen14,114,114,414,3-0,4 %
      Moerdijk9,510,210,210,9+7,1 %
      Sittard-Geleen4,26,36,86,4-6,4 %
      Velsen4,84,66,46,6+3,2 %
      Urk3,75,16,02,5-58,2 %
      Dordrecht4,75,35,76,4+13,1 %
      Delfzijl5,66,45,24,2-19,1 %
      Nijmegen2,42,84,15,1+24,8 %
      Hengelo (O)4,53,64,03,8-3,9 %
      Gennep3,53,73,23,2-1,5 %
      Stein3,63,63,13,1-1,1 %
      Sluis3,43,32,83,0+7,7 %

      Source: CBS
       

      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


       

    PORTS FRANÇAIS ET BELGES

      TABLEAU 3 : MANUTENTION FLUVIALE DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS FRANÇAIS ET BELGES (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) ET TAUX DE VARIATION 2020/2019

       2018201920202020/2019
      Anvers99,3101,3101,00 %
      Paris22,125,322,8-9,7 %
      Liège16,016,013,9-12,0 %
      Strasbourg5,97,56,8-9,5 %
      Rouen4,85,55,9+6,0 %
      Bruxelles5,25,24,9-5,3 %
      Mulhouse4,44,94,2-14,3 %
      Namur5,14,63,8-16,3 %
      Le Havre3,23,42,7-19,6 %
      Marseille2,52,82,0-31,0 %
      Dunkerque2,42,52,9+16,0 %
      Metz1,92,22,0-7,2 %
      Lille1,81,92,0+8,0 %
      Lyon1,41,11,0-3,4 %
      Villefranche-sur-Saône0,80,80,8-7,0 %
      Chalon-sur-Saône et Mâcon0,80,80,7-10,7 %
      Thionville0,60,70,6-17,7 %
      Total178,2186,5178,0-4,5 %

      Sources : Ministère de la Transition écologique, Voies Navigables de France, Ports de Paris, Port de Liège, Port de Strasbourg, Port de Mulhouse, Port de Bruxelles, Port de Namur, Nouveau port de Metz, Port de Lille, Port de Dunkerque. Le « total » ne concerne que les ports mentionnés dans le tableau, et non l’ensemble des ports français et belges.
       

      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


       

    PORTS DU DANUBE

      TABLEAU 4 : TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS DU DANUBE (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) ET TAUX DE VARIATION 2020/2019

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Constanţa12,112,114,514,50 %
      Galati6,36,45,94,5-23,7 %
      Ismail5,14,74,33,2-24,0 %
      Smederovo3,23,64,02,6-35,0 %
      Linz4,23,23,43,4+4,0 %
      Bratislava2,11,51,71,5-11,7 %
      Tulcea1,31,71,61,2-26,9 %
      Pancevo1,11,41,52,0+35,0 %
      Novi Sad1,21,01,41,6+15,5 %
      Ratisbonne1,51,11,31,5+11,9 %
      Reni1,11,31,30,8-38,3 %
      Vienne1,11,01,20,8-17,3 %
      Drobeta Turnu Severin1,21,11,21,0-16,6 %
      Călăraşi-Chiciu0,70,71,10,9-11,0 %
      Prahovo0,91,01,11,2+8,0 %
      Budapest-Csepel1,10,91,11,2+5,5 %
      Măcin-Turcoaia0,80,80,91,2+18,6 %
      Baja0,60,30,50,8+67,3 %
      Total45,643,848,043,9-8,5 %

      Sources : rapport d’observation du marché de la Commission du Danube, Institut statistique de Roumanie, Office statistique de Hongrie, Autorité portuaire de Serbie. Le « total » ne concerne que les ports mentionnés dans le tableau, et non l’ensemble des ports du Danube.
       

      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)


       

    PORTS SUR LA SAVE

      TABLEAU 5 : TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DANS LES PRINCIPAUX PORTS DU DANUBE (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES) ET TAUX DE VARIATION 2020/2019 *

       20172018201920202020/2019
      Autres ports (Serbie)-6829492000+111 %
      Sremska Mitrovica (Serbie)189234560486-13 %
      Slavonski Brod (Croatie)117131199138-31 %
      Sabac (Serbie)170149149170+14 %
      Brčko (Bosnie-Herzégovine - BIH)1369810365-37 %
      Sisak (Croatie)60666755-18 %
      Raffinerie de pétrole de Brod (BIH)9,7298,10-100 %
      Total682139020352914+43 %

      Source : Commission de la Save
      * En 2015, le port de Šamac en Bosnie-Herzégovine a déposé son bilan ; aucun transbordement de cargaison n’a donc été enregistré par la suite. Depuis 2018 et 2019, des données ont commencé à être collectées pour des lieux de transbordement plus modestes en Serbie, ce qui explique la quantité croissante de marchandises transbordées enregistrées en Serbie pour ces années-là.

       

      TRAFIC FLUVIAL ANNUEL TOTAL (EN MILLIERS DE TONNES)