• Compared to 2015, 2016 and 2018, fewer days of critical navigating conditions were recorded for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021 on the Rhine. Nevertheless, water levels and navigating conditions deteriorated in late 2021, thereby inflicting temporary losses for cargo transport on the Rhine. On average, days with critical low water conditions are slightly more frequent on the Danube than on the Rhine.
• For 2021, the dry bulk spot market index and container freight rate index remained on a recovery trend. The liquid bulk freight index has not shown such a positive trend in the last two years due to the weak transport demand for liquid bulk caused by the pandemic.
• Spot market data for liquid cargo in the FARAG region confirm the difficult market environment for liquid bulk in 2020 and 2021. The calculated freight rate indices for gasoil and biodiesel show a downward trend for the most part of these two years.

 

WATER LEVELS AND AVAILABLE DRAUGHTS

  • The overall performance of inland waterway transport is essentially linked to water levels, which determine the amount of cargo that a vessel can load and transport under safe navigation conditions. The load factor (ratio of cargo loaded to loading capacity of the vessel) influences the profitability of inland waterway transport. A high load factor means a high volume of cargo transported per trip, and therefore a high level of revenues for a vessel, for any level of fixed costs.
  • Although the reduction of the load factor could be compensated by putting more vessels into operation, there are obvious limitations to this.28 Low water periods therefore reduce the overall cargo transport on inland waterways. An example is the low water period in autumn 2018.
  • The amount of cargo that a vessel is able to load at a certain water level, while keeping safe navigation conditions, is determined by the available draught. Draught hereby means the distance between the waterline (or the intersection of the water level with vessel ship hull) and the keel or bottom part of the vessel, as can be seen in the figure below. The total vertical distance, by which a sailing vessel sinks into the water also comprises the ‘squat’. The latter results from hydrodynamic effects and leads to a higher draught of a sailing vessel compared to a vessel at rest. The squat effect is stronger the less water there is under the vessel, and the faster it is sailing.
  •  

    FIGURE 1: ACTUAL WATER LEVEL, ACTUAL DRAUGHT, EQUIVALENT WATER LEVEL MINIMUM NAVIGATION CHANNEL DEPTH AND POSSIBLE OR AVAILABLE DRAUGHT AT KAUB/MIDDLE RHINE

    Source: CCNR based on German Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG) (2015)
    * The distances in this drawing are not at scale. In this illustration, the date chosen to determine the available or possible draught is 3 September 2020, when the actual water level was 239 cm on average. The actual draught contains also the squat effect.

     

  • The waterway administrations recommend calculating the available draught on the basis of the actual water level and certain waterway parameters, in the following way:29
    Actual water level
    – Equivalent water level
    + Minimum navigational channel depth
    = Actual fairway depth
    – Under keel clearance
    = Available or possible draught of vessel
  • For the Rhine in Germany, the equivalent water level is a low water level under which, on a 100-year average, the water levels do not fall below more than 20 ice free days per year. The minimum navigational channel depth corresponds to the minimum depth that should be present in the area of the fairway (depth of the fairway box below the equivalent water level). This minimum depth is related to the equivalent water level, as it is the channel depth, that waterway managers aim to achieve even under critical low water situations.
  • If water levels drop below the equivalent water level, the minimum navigation channel depth can no longer be achieved. In order to assess the stability of navigating conditions for a particular year, it is therefore straightforward to determine the number of days per year on which the actual water levels fell below the equivalent water level.
  •  
     

THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE AVAILABLE DRAUGHT FOR RHINE AND DANUBE GAUGE STATIONS

    RHINE GAUGE STATIONS

    • For important Rhine gauge stations, the parameters are listed in Table 1.
    •  

      TABLE 1: HYDRAULIC PARAMETERS FOR IMPORTANT RHINE GAUGE STATIONS *

      Gauge stationMinimum navigation channel depth Equivalent water level
      Duisburg-Ruhrort (Lower Rhine)280 cm233 cm
      Cologne (Lower Rhine)250 cm139 cm
      Kaub (Middle Rhine)190 cm78 cm
      Oestrich (Middle Rhine)190 cm87 cm
      Maxau (Upper Rhine) 210 cm369 cm

      Sources: German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration and Swiss Association for Shipping and Port Management
       

    • For these five Rhine gauge stations, daily water level data were collected and analysed. The reason for using daily data is that when evaluating navigating conditions on a river, it is important to know the number of days per year when certain navigation conditions were present. The use of monthly averages could lead to a bias within such an evaluation, as high and low water levels would cancel each other out.
    • If water levels drop below the equivalent water level, the minimum navigation channel depth can no longer be achieved. In order to assess the stability of navigating conditions for a particular year, it is therefore straightforward to determine the number of days per year on which the actual water levels fell below the equivalent water level. Table 2 shows this number of days for the above-mentioned gauge stations.
    •  

      TABLE 2: NUMBER OF DAYS PER YEAR WITH A WATER LEVEL BELOW THE EQUIVALENT WATER LEVEL – IMPORTANT GAUGE STATIONS ALONG THE RHINE30

       KaubOestrichMaxauCologneDuisburg
      20152923303739
      20161918272635
      20172827282325
      20181077880121128
      201900003
      20200001114
      20211046913
      Average 2015-20212821243237

      Sources: CCNR calculation based on data from German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, provided by the Federal Office of Hydrology
       

    • Compared to 2015, 2016 and 2018, the years 2019, 2020 and 2021 were, overall, years with fewer days of critical navigating conditions on the Rhine.
    • Infrastructural works that are currently in the planning approval procedure, foresee an increase of the depth of the fairway at low water from 1.90 metres to 2.10 metres (= increase of the minimum navigational channel depth) in the Middle Rhine valley between Budenheim and St. Goar (encompassing Oestrich and Kaub).31
    •  

    DANUBE GAUGE STATIONS

    • The critical low water level of the Danube is not known as equivalent water level but ‘Low Navigable Water Level (LNWL)’. Its definition is similar, but not wholly identical to the equivalent water level. The LNWL is defined as the water level reached or exceeded at a Danube water gauge on an average of 94% of days in a year (i.e. on 343 days) over a reference period of several decades (excluding periods with ice). In other words, the LNWL is a critical low water level under which the water levels do not fall below more than 22 ice free days per year.32
    • Based on this definition, equivalent calculations can be carried out for the Danube. Two gauge stations on the Danube in Austria are considered (Kienstock and Wildungsmauer), as well as two gauge stations on the Danube in Germany (Pfelling and Hofkirchen).
    •  

      TABLE 3: HYDRAULIC PARAMETERS FOR IMPORTANT DANUBE GAUGE STATIONS *

      Gauge stationMinimum navigation channel depth Equivalent water level
      Pfelling (Upper Danube)200 cm290 cm
      Hofkirchen (Upper Danube)200 cm207 cm
      Kienstock (Upper Danube)250 cm164 cm
      Wildungsmauer (Upper Danube)250 cm162 cm

      Sources: German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, viadonau
       

    • The number of days per year, on which the actual water levels fell below the equivalent water level, is shown in Table 4.
    •  

      TABLE 4: NUMBER OF DAYS PER YEAR WITH A WATER LEVEL BELOW THE LOW NAVIGABLE WATER LEVEL – IMPORTANT GAUGE STATIONS ALONG THE UPPER DANUBE

       PfellingHofkirchenKienstockWildungsmauer
      2015106923554
      20162261223
      201738182437
      20181481265691
      20194713430
      20208550432
      202136212248
      Average 2015-202169472245

      Sources: CCNR calculation based on data from German Federal Waterways and Shipping Administration, provided by Federal Office of Hydrology, data from viadonau and from the Federal State of Lower Austria.
       

    • It can be observed that on average, days with critical low water conditions are more frequent on the Danube than on the Rhine.
    • In July 2021, infrastructure works on the 70 km Danube stretch between Straubing and Vilshofen began (encompassing the two gauge stations of Pfelling and Hofkirchen), with the aim of deepening the fairway depth. These works will be carried out over seven years.33 A one-time riverbed dredging of 450,000 cubic metres is necessary to create a greater channel depth. The future annual dredging quantities for maintaining the fairway depth and for securing the riverbed will amount to an average of about 105,000 cubic metres.
    •  
       

FREIGHT RATES IN THE RHINE REGION

    CBS FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR THE RHINE REGION

    • The freight rate index based on the surveys of the CBS are illustrated in Figure 2. Dry bulk and container freight rates followed an increasing path since the third quarter of 2020, as the underlying transport demand recovered from the pandemic. No such recovery can be seen for liquid cargo freight rates. This stems from a weaker development of transport demand compared to dry cargo, both during and after the pandemic.34 Also, the liquid cargo segment experienced a stronger expansion of its supply side, in terms of a higher newbuilding rate and thus more additional cargo carrying capacity. This changed the supply-demand-relationship and put transport prices under pressure.
    • Freight rates for all cargo types increased in the fourth quarter of 2021, due to the low water period. The strongest increase was hereby noted for dry bulk spot market rates.
    •  

      FIGURE 2: CBS FREIGHT RATE INDICES PER QUARTER (2015 = 100) *


      Source: CBS
      * The prices of established routes are observed twice a quarter and include fuel and low water surcharges but exclude loading and unloading. The time of observation is in the middle and at the end of the quarter. All prices are nominal prices.

       

    PJK FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR THE RHINE REGION

    • Figure 3 illustrates the liquid cargo spot market freight rate index for gasoil for ARA-Rhine transport (yearly averages). Since 2010 an overall positive trend is captured with three outliers during the low water periods in 2011, 2015 and 2018. For 2021, only a slight upward movement is noticed, mainly for the Upper Rhine.
    •  

      FIGURE 3: PJK FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR LIQUID CARGO TRANSPORT IN THE ARA-RHINE AREA (2015 = 100)


      Source: CCNR calculation based on PJK International
       
       

CITBO FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR THE FARAG REGION35

  • For the liquid cargo transport within the extended ARA region, a dataset on spot market freight rates provided by the tanker barge corporation CITBO36 was analysed. Within the spot market data, the shares of the different product groups were as follows:
    – Gasoil and components: share of 40.6% in 2021 (55% in 2020; 50% in 2019, 47% in 2018)
    – Gasoline and components: share of 23.6% in 2021 (21% in 2020; 26% in 2019 and 35% in 2018)
    – Biodiesel: share of 28.0 in 2021 (17.6% in 2020; 15% in 2019 and 11% in 2018)
    – Chemicals: share of 4.7% in 2021 (5.4% in 2020; 9% in 2019 and 8% in 2018)
    – Heavy and other products: share of 3.3% in 2021 (1.1% in 2020; 1% in 2019 and 2018).
  • Of all liquid cargo transported during the period under study (January until December 2021), 34% was loaded in Antwerp, 32% in Rotterdam, 8% in Flushing, 9% in Amsterdam, and 15% in all other ports. Regarding the ports of unloading, around 29% of the volumes were unloaded in Antwerp, 24% in Rotterdam, and 14% in Amsterdam.
  • A freight rate index was calculated for gasoil and components, gasoline and components, and biodiesel, based on the spot market freight rates.37 For these three cargo segments, freight rates followed quite different trends in 2021:
    – Gasoil and components: a clear peak in the fourth quarter of 2021 can be observed. The reason for this lies in the low water period towards the end of 2021.
    – Gasoline and components: a stable development throughout the year 2020 continued in 2021 up to the fourth quarter, where a little peak is noticeable.
    – Biodiesel: the overall downward trend during the year 2020 continued into 2021 up to the third quarter. The low water in the fourth quarter of 2021 led to strongly rising freight rates.
  • Gasoline and its components had the highest average spot market freight rates in absolute terms (€/tonne), as these trips are on average relatively long and therefore have to cover higher absolute costs (more fuel consumption, etc.) Transport of gasoline and components had an average duration of 21 hours, compared to 13 hours for gasoil and components and 10 hours for biodiesel.
  •  

    FIGURES 4, 5 AND 6: CITBO FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR LIQUID CARGO SEGMENTS (INDEX AUGUST 2017 = 100)




    Source: CCNR analysis based on CITBO spot market freight rates

 
 

FREIGHT RATES IN THE DANUBE REGION

  • Freight rates on the Danube represent an average of transport prices for bulk cargo transport.
  • In September 2021 there was a blockage at river km 365 (in the Bulgarian-Romanian lower Danube stretch) for about three weeks. The blockage concerned both navigating directions and had a negative impact on freight transport and freight rates. In 2021, grain transport on the Middle Danube was influenced by this blockage and decreased by 32% compared to 2020. The decrease mainly took place in the month of September.
  • Although bunkering prices showed a strong increase of 74% in the Danube region in 2021, this was not reflected in the development of the freight rate index for Danube transport. Slight increases were only recorded in Q1 2021 and in Q3 2021, whereas Q2 2021 and Q4 2021 showed a stagnation in freight rates.38

• Par rapport à 2015, 2016 et 2018, un nombre inférieur de jours présentant des conditions de navigation critiques ont été enregistrés pour les années 2019, 2020 et 2021 sur le Rhin. Cela étant, les niveaux d’eau ont baissé et les conditions de navigation se sont dégradées à la fin de 2021, infligeant ainsi des pertes temporaires au transport de marchandises sur le Rhin. En moyenne, les jours présentant des conditions critiques dues aux basses eaux sont légèrement plus fréquents sur le Danube que sur le Rhin.
• En 2021, l’indice du marché au comptant pour le vrac sec et l’indice des taux de fret applicables aux conteneurs ont conservé une tendance à la reprise. L’indice des taux de fret applicables au vrac liquide n’a pas affiché de tendance aussi positive au cours des deux dernières années en raison de la faible demande de transport de vrac liquide découlant de la pandémie.
• Les données relatives au marché au comptant pour les cargaisons liquides dans la région FARAG confirment l’environnement de marché difficile pour le vrac liquide en 2020 et 2021. Les indices des taux de fret calculés pour le gasoil et le biodiesel traduisent une tendance à la baisse pour la majeure partie de ces deux années.

 

NIVEAUX D’EAU ET TIRANTS D’EAU DISPONIBLES

  • La prestation globale du transport fluvial est essentiellement liée aux niveaux d’eau, qui déterminent la quantité de cargaison qu’un bateau peut charger et transporter dans des conditions de navigation sûres. Le facteur de charge (rapport entre la cargaison chargée et la capacité de chargement du bateau) influe sur la rentabilité du transport fluvial. Un facteur de charge élevé correspond à un volume élevé de marchandises transportées par voyage, et donc à un niveau élevé de revenus pour un bateau, quel que soit le niveau des coûts fixes.
  • Bien que la réduction du facteur de charge puisse être compensée par la mise en service d’un nombre supérieur de bateaux, il y a des limites évidentes à cet égard.28 Les phénomènes de basses eaux réduisent ainsi le volume global de marchandises transportées sur les voies navigables intérieures. La période d’étiage de l’automne 2018 en est un exemple.
  • La quantité de marchandises qu’un bateau est en mesure de charger en fonction d’un niveau d’eau donné, tout en maintenant la sécurité des conditions de navigation, est déterminée par le tirant d’eau disponible. Par « tirant d’eau » on entend la distance entre la ligne de flottaison (ou l’intersection du niveau d’eau avec la coque) et la quille ou la partie inférieure du bateau, comme on peut le voir sur la figure ci-dessous. La distance verticale totale sur laquelle un bateau pénètre dans l’eau en naviguant comprend également l’« enfoncement ». Ce dernier résulte des effets hydrodynamiques et génère un tirant d’eau plus élevé lors de la navigation par rapport à un bateau à l’arrêt. L’effet d’enfoncement est d’autant plus fort lorsqu’il y a moins d’eau sous le bateau et lorsqu’il navigue plus vite.
  •  

    FIGURE 1: HAUTEUR D’EAU EFFECTIVE, TIRANT D’EAU EFFECTIF, ÉTIAGE ÉQUIVALENT, PROFONDEUR MINIMALE DU CHENAL NAVIGABLE ET TIRANT D’EAU POSSIBLE OU DISPONIBLE À KAUB/SUR LE RHIN MOYEN


    Source: données communiquées à la CCNR par l’Institut fédéral allemand d’hydrologie (Bundesanstalt für Gewässerkunde – BfG) (2015).
    * Les distances représentées dans ce schéma ne sont pas à l’échelle. Dans cette illustration, la date choisie pour déterminer le tirant d’eau disponible ou possible est celle du 3 septembre 2020, à laquelle les hauteurs d’eau effectives étaient de 239 cm en moyenne. Le tirant d’eau effectif inclut également l’effet d’enfoncement.

     

  • Les administrations des voies navigables recommandent de calculer comme suit le tirant d’eau disponible sur la base du niveau d’eau effectif et de certains paramètres relatifs à la voie navigable :29
    Niveau d’eau effectif
    – Étiage équivalent
    + Profondeur minimale du chenal de navigation
    = Profondeur effective du chenal
    – Pied de pilote
    = Tirant d’eau effectif ou possible du bateau
  • Dans la partie allemande du Rhin, l’étiage équivalent correspond à un seuil de basses eaux en dessous duquel les niveaux d’eau ne descendent pas plus de 20 jours par an sans glace, sur une moyenne de 100 ans. La profondeur minimale du chenal navigable correspond à la profondeur minimale que devrait présenter la zone du chenal (profondeur du chenal navigable en dessous de l’étiage équivalent). Cette profondeur minimale est liée à l’étiage équivalent, étant donné qu’elle correspond à la profondeur du chenal, dont les gestionnaires de voies navigables visent à s’assurer, même dans des situations critiques de basses eaux.
  • Si les hauteurs d’eau descendent sous l’étiage équivalent, la profondeur minimale du chenal de navigation ne peut plus être garantie. Afin d’évaluer la stabilité des conditions de navigation pour une année donnée, il est donc aisé de déterminer le nombre de jours par an pendant lesquels les niveaux d’eau effectifs seront passés en dessous de l’étiage équivalent.
  •  
     

ÉVOLUTION DU TIRANT D’EAU DISPONIBLE AUX ÉCHELLES SUR LE RHIN ET SUR LE DANUBE

    ÉCHELLES SUR LE RHIN

    • Pour les échelles d’importance majeure sur le Rhin, les paramètres décrits sont présentés dans le Tableau 1.
    •  

      TABLEAU 1: PARAMÈTRES HYDRAULIQUES POUR LES ÉCHELLES D’IMPORTANCE MAJEURE SUR LE RHIN *

      ÉchelleProfondeur minimale du chenal de navigationÉtiage équivalent
      Duisburg-Ruhrort (Rhin inférieur)280 cm233 cm
      Cologne (Rhin inférieur)250 cm139 cm
      Kaub (Rhin moyen)190 cm78 cm
      Oestrich (Rhin moyen)190 cm87 cm
      Maxau (Rhin supérieur)210 cm369 cm

      Sources : administration fédérale allemande de l’eau et de la navigation et Association Suisse de navigation et d’économie portuaire 
       

    • Des données quotidiennes relatives au niveau d’eau ont été collectées et analysées pour ces cinq échelles sur le Rhin. L’utilisation de données quotidiennes aux fins de l’évaluation des conditions de navigation sur un fleuve est essentielle, étant donné qu’elle permet de connaître le nombre de jours par an où certaines conditions de navigation sont réunies. L’utilisation de moyennes mensuelles pourrait fausser une telle évaluation, car les niveaux correspondant aux hautes eaux et aux basses eaux s’annuleraient mutuellement.
    • Si les niveaux d’eau descendent sous l’étiage équivalent, la profondeur minimale du chenal de navigation ne peut plus être garantie. Afin d’évaluer la stabilité des conditions de navigation pour une année donnée, il est aisé de déterminer le nombre de jours par an pendant lesquels les niveaux d’eau effectifs sont inférieurs à l’étiage équivalent. Le Tableau 2 indique le nombre de jours correspondant aux échelles susmentionnées.
    •  

      TABLEAU 2: NOMBRE DE JOURS PAR AN PRÉSENTANT UN NIVEAU D’EAU INFÉRIEUR AU NIVEAU DES BASSES EAUX – ÉCHELLES D’IMPORTANCE MAJEURE LE LONG DU RHIN30

       KaubOestrichMaxauCologneDuisbourg
      20152923303739
      20161918272635
      20172827282325
      20181077880121128
      201900003
      20200001114
      20211046913
      Moyenne 2015-20212821243237

      Sources : calcul de la CCNR basé sur des données de l’administration fédérale allemande de l’eau et de la navigation, fournies par l’Institut fédéral allemand d’hydrologie BfG)
       

    • Par rapport à 2015, 2016 et 2018, les années 2019, 2020 et 2021 ont compté, dans l’ensemble, moins de jours de conditions de navigation critiques sur le Rhin.
    • Les travaux d’infrastructure dont la planification est en cours d’approbation prévoient une augmentation, de 1,90 mètre à 2,10 mètres, de la profondeur du chenal en période de basses eaux (= augmentation de la profondeur minimale du chenal de navigation) dans la vallée du Rhin moyen entre Budenheim et St. Goar (incluant Oestrich et Kaub).31
    •  

    ÉCHELLES SUR LE DANUBE

    • Pour désigner le niveau critique de basses eaux sur le Danube, on ne parle pas d’« étiage équivalent » mais de « niveau d’eau navigable bas (NEB) ». La définition est similaire, mais pas totalement identique à celle de l’étiage équivalent. Le NEB est défini comme le niveau d’eau atteint ou dépassé à une échelle donnée sur le Danube, par rapport à une valeur moyenne correspondant à 94 % du nombre de jours total d’une année (soit 343 jours), sur une période de référence de plusieurs décennies (en dehors des périodes de glace).
      En d’autres termes, le NEB est un niveau critique de basses eaux qui n’est pas atteint durant plus de 22 jours sans glace par an.32
    • Sur la base de cette définition, des calculs équivalents peuvent être effectués pour le Danube. Deux échelles sur le Danube en Autriche (Kienstock et Wildungsmauer) et deux échelles sur le Danube en Allemagne (Pfelling et Hofkirchen) ont été retenues à cette fin.
    •  

      TABLEAU 3: PARAMÈTRES HYDRAULIQUES POUR LES ÉCHELLES D’IMPORTANCE MAJEURE SUR LE DANUBE *

      ÉchelleProfondeur minimale du chenal de navigationÉtiage équivalent
      Pfelling (Danube supérieur)200 cm290 cm
      Hofkirchen (Danube supérieur)200 cm207 cm
      Kienstock (Danube supérieur)250 cm164 cm
      Wildungsmauer (Danube supérieur)250 cm162 cm

      Sources: administration fédérale allemande des voies navigables et de la navigation, viadonau
       

    • Le Tableau 4 indique le nombre de jours par an pendant lesquels les niveaux d’eau effectifs sont descendus sous l’étiage équivalent.
    •  

      TABLEAU 4: NOMBRE DE JOURS PAR AN PRÉSENTANT UN NIVEAU D’EAU NAVIGABLE BAS – ÉCHELLES D’IMPORTANCE MAJEURE SUR LE DANUBE SUPÉRIEUR

       PfellingHofkirchenKienstockWildungsmauer
      2015106923554
      20162261223
      201738182437
      20181481265691
      20194713430
      20208550432
      202136212248
      Moyenne 2015-202169472245

      Sources : calculs de la CCNR basés sur des données de l’administration fédérale allemande des voies navigables et de la navigation (WSV), fournies par l’Institut fédéral d’hydrologie (BfG), ainsi que sur des données de viadonau et de l’État fédéral de Basse-Autriche.
       

    • On observe que le nombre de jours où le seuil critique est atteint en période de basses eaux est, en moyenne, supérieur sur le Danube par rapport au Rhin.
    • En juillet 2021 ont commencé, sur le tronçon du Danube entre Straubing et Vilshofen (englobant les deux échelles de Pfelling et Hofkirchen), d’une longueur de 70 km, des travaux d’infrastructure destinés à augmenter la profondeur du chenal. Ces travaux dureront sept ans.33 Un dragage ponctuel de 450 000 mètres cubes est nécessaire pour augmenter la profondeur du chenal. Les quantités annuelles futures de dragage visant à maintenir la profondeur du chenal et à sécuriser le lit du fleuve atteindront en moyenne environ 105 000 mètres cubes.
    •  
       

TAUX DE FRET DANS LA RÉGION DU RHIN

    INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET CBS POUR LA RÉGION DU RHIN

    • L’évolution de l’indice des taux de fret établi sur la base des enquêtes du CBS est illustrée par la Figure 2. Les taux de fret pour le vrac sec et les conteneurs ont suivi une trajectoire croissante depuis le troisième trimestre 2020, alors que la demande de transport sous-jacente se remettait de la pandémie. En revanche, aucune remontée ne peut être observée en ce qui concerne les taux relatifs aux cargaisons liquides. Cela s’explique par un développement plus faible de la demande de transport par rapport à la cargaison sèche, aussi bien pendant qu’après la pandémie.34 En outre, le segment des cargaisons liquides a connu une plus forte expansion de son offre, affichant un taux plus élevé de nouvelles constructions et, par conséquent, une capacité de transport supérieure pour des cargaisons supplémentaires. La relation entre l’offre et la demande s’en est trouvée modifiée, et les prix du transport ont été mis sous pression.
    • Les taux de fret ont augmenté pour tous les types de cargaisons au quatrième trimestre 2021 en raison de phénomènes d’étiage. La plus forte hausse constatée en l’occurrence concernait les taux du marché au comptant du vrac sec.
    •  

      FIGURE 2: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET CBS PAR TRIMESTRE (2015 = 100) *


      Source : CBS
      * Les prix des itinéraires sont examinés deux fois par trimestre et incluent les majorations pour le carburant et les basses eaux, mais excluent le chargement et le déchargement. Cet examen a lieu au milieu et à la fin du trimestre. Tous les prix correspondent à des valeurs nominales.

       

    INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET PJK POUR LA RÉGION DU RHIN

    • La Figure 3 illustre l’indice du taux de fret au comptant applicable au gasoil dans le cadre du transport ARA-Rhin de cargaisons liquides (moyennes annuelles). Depuis 2010, une tendance globalement positive est enregistrée, avec trois exceptions pendant les périodes de basses eaux de 2011, 2015 et 2018. Pour 2021, seul un léger mouvement à la hausse est observé, principalement en ce qui concerne le Rhin supérieur.
    •  

      FIGURE 3: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET PJK APPLICABLES AUX TRANSPORTS DE CARGAISONS LIQUIDES DANS LA RÉGION ARA-RHIN (2015 = 100)


      Source : calcul de la CCNR basé sur les données de PJK International
       
       

INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET CITBO POUR LA RÉGION FARAG35

  • En ce qui concerne le transport de cargaisons liquides dans la région ARA étendue, l’analyse porte sur un ensemble de données illustrant les taux de fret du marché au comptant, fourni par la coopérative de bateaux-citernes CITBO.36 Au regard des données du marché au comptant, les parts des différents groupes de produits se présentaient comme suit :
    – Gasoil et composants : 40,6 % en 2021 (55 % en 2020; 50 % en 2019 et 47 % en 2018)
    – Essence et composants : 23,6 % en 2021 (21 % en 2020; 26 % en 2019 et 35 % en 2018)
    – Biodiesel : 28,0 en 2021 (17,6 % en 2020; 15 % en 2019 et 11 % en 2018)
    – Produits chimiques :4,7 % en 2021 (5,4 % en 2020; 9 % en 2019 et 8 % en 2018)
    – Produits lourds et autres : 3,3 % en 2021 (1,1 % en 2020; 1 % en 2019 et 2018).
  • Sur l’ensemble du fret liquide transporté au cours de la période étudiée (de janvier à décembre 2021), 34 % ont été chargées à Anvers, 32 % à Rotterdam, 8 % à Vlissingen, 9 % à Amsterdam et 15 % dans tous les autres ports. En ce qui concerne les ports de déchargement, environ 29 % des volumes ont été déchargés à Anvers, 24 % à Rotterdam et 14 % à Amsterdam.
  • Un indice des taux de fret a été calculé pour le gasoil et ses composants, l’essence et ses composants, ainsi que le biodiesel, sur la base des taux de fret du marché au comptant.37 Pour ces trois segments de fret, les taux de fret ont suivi des tendances assez différentes en 2021 :
    – Gasoil et composants : un pic net peut être observé au quatrième trimestre 2021. Celui-ci s’explique par la période d’étiage subie vers la fin de l’année 2021.
    – Essence et composants : l’évolution stable, qui a pu être constatée tout au long de l’année 2020, s’est poursuivie en 2021, jusqu’au quatrième trimestre, où un petit pic est perceptible.
    – Biodiesel : la tendance globale à la baisse sur l’année 2020 s’est poursuivie en 2021, et ce jusqu’au troisième trimestre. La période de basses eaux subie au quatrième trimestre 2021 a entraîné une forte hausse des taux de fret.
  • L’essence et ses composants affichaient, en termes absolus (€/tonne), les taux de fret moyens les plus élevés du marché au comptant, ces trajets étant en moyenne relativement longs et devant donc couvrir des coûts absolus plus élevés (augmentation de la consommation de carburant, etc.). Le transport de l’essence et de ses composants durait en moyenne 21 heures, contre 13 heures pour le gasoil et ses composants et 10 heures pour le biodiesel.
  •  

    FIGURES 4, 5 ET 6: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET CITBO POUR LES SEGMENTS DE CARGAISON LIQUIDE (INDICE AOÛT 2017 = 100)




    Source: analyse de la CCNR basée sur les taux de fret du marché au comptant fournis par CITBO

 
 

TAUX DE FRET DANS LA RÉGION DU DANUBE

  • Les taux de fret sur le Danube représentent une moyenne des prix du transport de marchandises en vrac.
  • En septembre 2021, la voie navigable a été bloquée au km 365 (dans la partie inférieure du Danube s’étendant entre la Bulgarie et la Roumanie) pendant environ trois semaines. Le blocage concernait les deux sens de navigation et a eu un impact négatif sur le transport de marchandises et les taux de fret. En 2021, le transport des céréales sur le Danube moyen a été impacté par ce blocage et a diminué de 32 % par rapport à 2020. La baisse s’est produite principalement au mois de septembre.
  • Bien que les coûts de l’avitaillement aient affiché une forte augmentation (74 %) dans la région du Danube en 2021, cela ne s’est pas reflété dans l’évolution de l’indice des taux de fret pour le transport sur le Danube. De légères hausses n’ont été enregistrées qu’aux premier et troisième trimestre 2021, tandis que les deuxième et quatrième trimestres ont présenté une stagnation des taux de fret.38