6. Companies, employment, personnel costs and gross operating rate

Download the PDF

 

• In 2017, 5,600 IWW goods transport companies employing 23,291 persons were active in Europe, which was slightly less than in the previous year. 88.5% of those companies were registered in Rhine countries, representing 73% of all persons employed in Europe.

• In the same year, 4,000 IWW passenger transport companies in Europe employed 21,581 persons, which is around 800 more than in the previous year. 43% of those companies were registered in Rhine countries, representing 63% of all persons employed in Europe.

• The highest net turnover in IWW goods transport is in the Netherlands, and for IWW passenger transport it is in Switzerland. In both sectors, turnover is generally much lower in Danube countries due to a lower share in transport performance and a lower wage and price level.

 

COMPANIES AND EMPLOYMENT IN GOODS TRANSPORT

 

    FIGURE 1: NUMBER OF COMPANIES IN IWW GOODS TRANSPORT IN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH)
    *Data for 2017

     

  • According to Eurostat, in 2017 (The year 2017 was the most recent year for Eurostat statistics on companies) 5,600 IWW freight transport companies were active in Europe (EU plus Serbia and Switzerland), compared to 5,669 the previous year. Of these, 88.5% were registered in Rhine countries (the Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, France, Switzerland). The countries with the highest number of companies are four Rhine countries and Poland, which together account for 92% of all companies in Europe.
  •  

    FIGURE 2: NUMBER OF COMPANIES IN IWW GOODS TRANSPORT IN EUROPE


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH)
    No data for Belgium for 2013.

     

  • The number of employed persons included the self-employed, helping family members and employees. The total number of this variable stood at 23,291 in 2017 compared to 23,666 in 2016 (It should be noted that figures obtained from national institutions are often higher than the figures obtained from Eurostat. This particularly applies to the case of Belgium. While Eurostat gives about 700 persons employed in 2017 in IWW goods and passenger transport, the two social security organisations ONSS (employees) and INASTI (self-employed) report 1,933 persons. However, for cross-country comparisons Eurostat is treated as the preferred source because data are harmonised across countries and are thus comparable). Of these employed persons 73% were working for companies in Rhine countries, 17% for companies in Danube countries and 10% for companies in countries outside the Rhine and Danube regions.
  •  

    FIGURE 3: NUMBER OF PERSONS EMPLOYED IN IWW GOODS TRANSPORT IN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH)
    *Data for 2017

     

  • The countries with the largest employment in IWW goods transport are the Netherlands, Germany, Romania, France, Serbia and Poland. Employment in these countries accounted for 83% of all employment in IWW freight transport in 2017.
  •  

    FIGURE 4: NUMBER OF PERSONS EMPLOYED IN IWW GOODS TRANSPORT IN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH)
    *For France, the values for 2013-2015 are estimated due to missing data. For Poland, data are missing for 2010 and 2011 and for Serbia data are missing for 2009-2015.

     

  • If the number of freight companies in 2017 is compared to 2012, a decrease can be observed for Europe as a whole and for large IWW countries such as the Netherlands and France. The decrease in these two countries outweighed the increase in other countries.
  •  

    FIGURE 5: DIFFERENCE IN THE NUMBER OF COMPANIES IN IWW GOODS TRANSPORT IN 2017 COMPARED TO 2012


    Source: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2]

 
 
 

COMPANIES AND EMPLOYMENT IN PASSENGER TRANSPORT

  • IWW passenger companies in Europe are active in different segments: river cruises, day trip navigation on rivers, canals and lakes. The ferry transport of passengers is also part of the sector. The first position of Italy is due both to the country’s large number of lakes and the canal boats in Venice. The Netherlands have many day trip vessels, ferries on rivers as well as large and small cruise vessels.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: NUMBER OF IWW PASSENGER TRANSPORT COMPANIES IN EUROPE*



    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH)
    *Data for 2017

     

  • The evolution of the total number of European passenger transport companies has followed an upward trend since 2009. There are currently 4,000 companies active in this field of which 74.4% are found in Italy, the Netherlands, Germany, Sweden and France.
  •  

    FIGURE 7: EVOLUTION OF THE NUMBER OF IWW PASSENGER TRANSPORT COMPANIES IN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH), CBS (NL)
    *No data for France for 2009.

     

  • Germany is in the leading position regarding employment in passenger transport with more than 6,000 persons employed. The Netherlands follow with more than 3,000 persons, and afterwards Italy, Switzerland and France each have between 2,000 and 2,500 persons employed.
  •  

    FIGURE 8: NUMBER OF PERSONS EMPLOYED IN IWW PASSENGER TRANSPORT IN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Bundesamt für Statistik (CH)
    *Data for 2017

     

  • The total number of persons employed in European IWW passenger transport amounts to 21,581 and is therefore slightly below the employment figures in freight transport. Around 82% of all persons employed in EU inland waterway passenger transport are employed in Germany, the Netherlands, Italy, Switzerland, France and Sweden.
  •  

    FIGURE 9: EVOLUTION OF THE NUMBER OF PERSONS EMPLOYED IN IWW PASSENGER TRANSPORT IN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], Bundesamt für Statistik (CH)
    *No data for France for 2009, no data for Switzerland for 2009 and 2010. Values for EU include Switzerland.

     

  • In almost all European countries the number of companies in IWW passenger transport has increased since 2012. The strongest increase took place in the largest IWW passenger transport countries and in Poland.
  •  

    FIGURE 10: DIFFERENCE IN THE NUMBER OF COMPANIES IN IWW PASSENGER TRANSPORT IN 2017 COMPARED TO 2012



    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] and Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH)
     
     
     

    TURNOVER, OPERATING RATE, PERSONNEL COSTS PER EMPLOYEE

     
    Turnover and operating rate in IWW freight transport

    • Although Danube countries have a share of 18% in transport performance, their share in EU turnover is much lower, due to a lower wage and price level.
    •  

      FIGURES 11 AND 12: ANNUAL NET TURNOVER IN IWW FREIGHT TRANSPORT (IN MIO. €)



      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], CBS (NL), CCNR analysis
       

    • The share of the operating result (profit) in net turnover gives the operating rate, which is an indicator for profitability. For the Netherlands, this indicator was calculated based on CBS data. For other countries, the Eurostat database SBS offers figures, but unfortunately not for all countries and years.
    • The Dutch freight sector reached an operating rate of 20% in 2015 and 2016, 17% in 2017, and 16% in 2018. The operating rate curves for Germany and France lie below the Dutch curve. Hungary had a negative operating rate until 2015. This means that, on average, the freight business activity generated losses for Hungarian companies between 2011 and 2015. In 2016 and 2017, the operating rate in Hungary was slightly positive.
    •  

      FIGURES 13 AND 14: RATIO OF OPERATING RESULT AND TURNOVER – OPERATING RATE – IN FREIGHT TRANSPORT (IN %)



      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], CBS, CCNR analysis
      The data for the Netherlands were calculated by dividing the operating result for freight and passenger transport by the net turnover in freight and passenger transport. However, CBS estimates that 92% of turnover in Dutch IWT is generated by freight transport and 8% by passenger transport. A split between freight and passenger operating result data is not available for the Netherlands.

       
       

    Turnover and operating rate in IWW passenger transport

    • For passenger transport, Switzerland has the highest turnover in Europe followed by Germany, Italy and France. Data for Switzerland were taken from the Swiss Tax Administration database, which produces turnover and other financial data for all economic sectors in Switzerland (via the information on the added value tax paid in each sector). Data for other European countries were taken from the Eurostat database on Structural Business Statistics (SBS).
    • From 2013/2014 onwards, turnover increased strongly in Switzerland, but also for German, Italian and British companies. There is a strong correlation with the demand in river cruises, which also had a take-off phase during these years (see chapter on river cruises, figure on number of passengers). The fact that companies in the United Kingdom show a sharply rising turnover is also reflected by the growing presence of British tour operator companies in the river cruise industry.
    •  

      FIGURES 15 AND 16: ANNUAL NET TURNOVER IN IWW PASSENGER TRANSPORT (IN MIO. €)



      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (CH), analysis CCNR
       

    • In German passenger transport the operating rate increased strongly from 2013 onwards and attained 30% in 2017.

     
    Personnel costs per employee

    • Danube countries are clearly the countries with the lowest personnel costs per employee, due to a lower wage and price level compared to western Europe. France and Sweden have the highest personnel costs per employee.
    •  

      FIGURE 17: AVERAGE ANNUAL PERSONNEL COSTS PER EMPLOYEE IN IWW TRANSPORT* (IN 1,000 € / EMPLOYEE, 2017)


      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], CBS, CCNR analysis
      *For the Netherlands, the value represents personnel costs per employee in freight and passenger transport taken together, but freight transport has a 92% share in overall financial activity. The data on personnel costs have been taken from the national statistical office CBS, as Eurostat does not publish data on this indicator for the Netherlands. A split of personnel costs between freight and passenger transport is not available in the CBS data.
venenatis, libero elit. et, Curabitur consequat. at quis, pulvinar in ut mi,

6. Entreprises, emploi, coûts salariaux et taux brut d’exploitation

Télécharger le PDF

 

• 5 600 entreprises de transport fluvial de marchandises employant 23 291 personnes opéraient en Europe en 2017, ce qui est légèrement inférieur à l’année précédente. 88,5 % de ces entreprises étaient enregistrées dans les pays riverains du Rhin, représentant 73 % de l’ensemble des personnes employées en Europe.

• La même année, 4 000 entreprises de transport fluvial de passagers en Europe employaient 21 581 personnes, soit environ 800 de plus que l’année précédente. 43 % de ces entreprises étaient enregistrées dans les pays riverains du Rhin, représentant 63 % de l’ensemble des personnes employées en Europe.

• Le chiffre d’affaires net le plus élevé dans le transport fluvial de marchandises est atteint aux Pays-Bas, et, dans le transport fluvial de passagers, en Suisse. Dans ces deux secteurs, le chiffre d’affaires est généralement beaucoup plus faible dans les pays riverains du Danube en raison d’une part plus faible dans les prestations de transport et d’un niveau de salaire et de prix inférieur.

 

ENTREPRISES ET EMPLOI DANS LE TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES

 

    FIGURE 1: NOMBRE D’ENTREPRISES DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE MARCHANDISES EN EUROPE*


    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Administration fédérale des contributions (CH)
    * Données pour 2017

     

  • Selon Eurostat, 5 600 entreprises de transport fluvial de marchandises étaient exploitées en Europe (UE plus Serbie et Suisse) en 2017 (2017 était l’année la plus récente par rapport à l’ensemble des statistiques réunies par Eurostat sur les entreprises), contre 5 669 l’année précédente. Parmi celles-ci, 88,5 % étaient immatriculées dans les pays riverains du Rhin (Pays-Bas, Allemagne, Belgique, France, Suisse). Les pays qui comptent le plus grand nombre d’entreprises sont quatre pays rhénans et la Pologne. Ils représentent conjointement 92 % de l’ensemble des entreprises en Europe.
  •  

    FIGURE 2: NOMBRE D’ENTREPRISES DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE MARCHANDISES EN EUROPE


    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Administration fédérale des contributions (CH)
    Absence de données relatives à 2013 pour la Belgique.

     

  • Le nombre de personnes employées comprenait les travailleurs indépendants, ceux qui aidaient les membres de la famille et les salariés. Le nombre total de cette variable s’est établi à 23 291 en 2017, contre 23 666 en 2016 (Il convient de noter que les chiffres obtenus auprès des institutions nationales sont souvent plus élevés que ceux obtenus auprès d’Eurostat. Ceci vaut particulièrement pour la Belgique. Alors qu’Eurostat indique que quelque 700 personnes y étaient employées en 2017 dans le transport fluvial de marchandises et de passagers, les deux organismes de sécurité sociale, ONSS (salariés) et INASTI (indépendants), font état de 1 933 personnes. En ce qui concerne les comparaisons entre pays, Eurostat est cependant considéré comme la source privilégiée étant donné que les données sont harmonisées entre les pays, et donc comparables). En ce qui concerne ces personnes employées, 73 % travaillaient pour des entreprises dans les pays riverains du Rhin, 17 % pour des entreprises des pays riverains du Danube et 10 % pour des entreprises dans des pays qui ne sont pas riverains du Rhin et du Danube.
  •  

    FIGURE 3: NOMBRE DE PERSONNES EMPLOYEES DANS LE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE MARCHANDISES EN EUROPE*


    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Administration fédérale des contributions (CH)
    * Données pour 2017

     

  • Les pays qui emploient le plus grand nombre de personnes dans le secteur du transport fluvial de marchandises sont les Pays-Bas, l’Allemagne, la Roumanie, la France, la Serbie et la Pologne. En 2017, dans ces pays, l’emploi représentait 83 % de l’ensemble des emplois dans le secteur du transport de marchandises par voies navigables intérieures.
  •  

    FIGURE 4: NOMBRE DE PERSONNES EMPLOYEES DANS LE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE MARCHANDISES EN EUROPE*


    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Administration fédérale des contributions (CH)
    * Pour la France, les valeurs relatives à 2013-2015 sont estimatives, étant donné que ces données n’étaient pas disponibles. Pour la Pologne, ce sont les données relatives à 2010 et 2011 qui n’étaient pas disponibles, et, pour la Serbie, ce sont celles relatives à 2009-2015.

     

  • En comparant le nombre de entreprises de fret indiqué pour 2017 à celui de 2012, on observe une diminution dans l’ensemble de l’Europe et dans les grands pays de transport fluvial tels que les Pays-Bas et la France. La diminution dans ces deux pays a été plus importante que l’augmentation dans les autres pays.
  •  

    FIGURE 5: DIFFERENCE DANS LE NOMBRE D’ENTREPRISES DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE MARCHANDISES EN 2017 PAR RAPPORT A 2012


    Source: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2]

 
 
 

ENTREPRISES ET EMPLOI DANS LE TRANSPORT DE PASSAGERS

  • Les entreprises de transport fluvial de passagers en Europe interviennent dans différents segments : croisières fluviales et les excursions journalières sur les fleuves, rivières, canaux et lacs. Le transport de passagers par bac fait également partie du secteur. L’Italie arrive en tête, compte tenu du grand nombre de lacs du pays et de bateaux exploités sur les canaux à Venise. Les Pays-Bas comptent également de nombreux bateaux d’excursions journalières, de bacs pour franchir les cours d’eau, ainsi que de grands et petits bateaux de croisière.
  •  

    FIGURE 6: NOMBRE D’ENTREPRISES DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE PASSAGERS EN EUROPE*



    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Administration fédérale des contributions (CH)
    * Données pour 2017

     

  • L’évolution du nombre total d’entreprises européennes de transport fluvial de passagers suit une tendance à la hausse depuis 2009. Il y a actuellement 4 000 entreprises actives dans ce domaine, dont 74,4 % se trouvent en Italie, aux Pays-Bas, en Allemagne, en Suède et en France.
  •  

    FIGURE 7: ÉVOLUTION DU NOMBRE D’ENTREPRISES DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE PASSAGERS EN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] Administration fédérale des contributions (CH), CBS (NL)
    * Absence de données relatives à 2009 pour la France.

     

  • L’Allemagne occupe la première place en matière d’emploi dans le transport fluvial de passagers avec plus de 6 000 personnes employées. Les Pays-Bas suivent avec plus de 3 000 personnes, puis l’Italie, la Suisse et la France, qui emploient chacune entre 2 000 et 2 500 personnes.
  •  

    FIGURE 8: NOMBRE DE PERSONNES EMPLOYEES DANS LE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE PASSAGERS EN EUROPE*


    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Office fédéral des statistiques (CH)
    * Données pour 2017

     

  • Le nombre total de personnes employées dans le transport fluvial européen de passagers étant de 21 581, il est légèrement inférieur aux chiffres de l’emploi dans le transport de marchandises. Environ 82 % de l’ensemble des personnes employées dans le transport de passagers par voie navigable dans l’UE travaillent en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Italie, en Suisse, en France et en Suède.
  •  

    FIGURE 9: ÉVOLUTION DU NOMBRE DE PERSONNES EMPLOYEES DANS LE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE PASSAGERS EN EUROPE*


    Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Office fédéral des statistiques (CH)
    * Absence de données relatives à 2009 pour la France, absence de données relatives à 2009 et 2010 pour la Suisse. Les valeurs indiquées pour l’UE incluent la Suisse.

     

  • Dans presque tous les pays européens, le nombre d’entreprises de transport fluvial de passagers a augmenté depuis 2012. La plus forte augmentation a eu lieu dans les plus grands pays de transport fluvial de passagers et en Pologne.
  •  

    FIGURE 10: DIFFERENCE DANS LE NOMBRE D’ENTREPRISES DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE PASSAGERS EN 2017 PAR RAPPORT A 2012



    Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2] et Administration fédérale des contributions (CH)
     
     
     

    CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES, TAUX D’EXPLOITATION, COUTS SALARIAUX PAR EMPLOYE

     
    Chiffre d’affaires et taux d’exploitation du transport fluvial de marchandises

    • Bien que 18 % des prestations de transport soient assurées par les pays riverains du Danube, leur part du chiffre d’affaires de l’UE est beaucoup plus faible, en raison d’un niveau de salaire et de prix inférieur.
    •  

      FIGURES 11 ET 12: CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES ANNUEL NET DU TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE MARCHANDISES (EN MIO. €)



      Sources : Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], CBS, analyse de la CCNR
       

    • La part du résultat d’exploitation (bénéfice) dans le chiffre d’affaires net permet de déterminer le taux d’exploitation, qui est un indicateur de rentabilité. Pour les Pays-Bas, cet indicateur a été calculé sur la base des données de CBS. En ce qui concerne les autres pays, des chiffres figurent dans la base de données SBS d’Eurostat, qui n’englobent malheureusement pas tous les pays ni chaque année.
    • Le secteur néerlandais du fret a atteint un taux d’exploitation de 20 % en 2015 et 2016, de 17 % en 2017 et de 16 % en 2018. Les courbes des taux d’exploitation pour l’Allemagne et la France se situent en dessous de la courbe néerlandaise. La Hongrie a affiché un taux d’exploitation négatif jusqu’en 2015. Cela signifie que, en moyenne, l’activité de fret a généré des pertes pour les entreprises hongroises entre 2011 et 2015. En revanche, en 2016 et 2017, le taux d’exploitation a été légèrement positif en Hongrie.
    •  

      FIGURES 13 ET 14: RATIO DU RESULTAT D’EXPLOITATION ET DU CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES – TAUX D’EXPLOITATION – DANS LE TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES (EN %)



      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], CBS, analyse de la CCNR. Les données pour les Pays-Bas ont été calculées en divisant le résultat d’exploitation du transport de marchandises et de passagers par le chiffre d’affaires net du transport de marchandises et de passagers. Cependant, CBS estime que 92 % du chiffre d’affaires du transport fluvial néerlandais est généré par le transport de marchandises, et 8 % par le transport de passagers. Aucune répartition entre les données relatives aux résultats d’exploitation du fret et des passagers n’est disponible pour les Pays-Bas.
       
       

    Chiffre d’affaires et taux d’exploitation dans le transport fluvial de passagers

    • En ce qui concerne le transport de passagers, c’est la Suisse qui présente le chiffre d’affaires le plus élevé en Europe, suivie de l’Allemagne, de l’Italie et de la France. Les données relatives à la Suisse proviennent de la base de données de l’administration fiscale suisse, qui fournit des données en matière de chiffre d’affaires, ainsi que d’autres données financières pour tous les secteurs économiques en Suisse (via les informations concernant la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée acquittée dans chaque secteur). Les données relatives aux autres pays européens ont été extraites de la base de données d’Eurostat sur les statistiques structurelles relatives aux entreprises (SSE).
    • À partir de 2013/2014, le chiffre d’affaires a fortement augmenté en Suisse, mais aussi pour les entreprises allemandes, italiennes et britanniques. Il existe une forte corrélation avec la demande de croisières fluviales, qui a amorcé une phase de croissance au cours de ces années (voir, dans le chapitre consacré aux croisières fluviales, figure relative au nombre de passagers). Le fait que les entreprises du Royaume-Uni affichent un chiffre d’affaires en forte hausse se reflète également dans la présence croissante des voyagistes britanniques dans le secteur des croisières fluviales.
    •  

      FIGURES 15 ET 16: CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES ANNUEL NET DU TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE PASSAGERS (EN MIO. €)



      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], Administration fédérale des contributions (CH), analyse de la CCNR
       

    • En ce qui concerne le transport de passagers allemands, le taux d’exploitation a fortement augmenté à partir de 2013, pour atteindre 30 % en 2017.

     
    Coûts salariaux par employé

    • Les coûts salariaux par employé sont manifestement les plus bas dans les pays riverains du Danube, en raison d’un niveau de salaire et de prix inférieur à celui pratiqué en Europe occidentale. C’est en France et en Suède que les coûts salariaux par employé sont les plus élevés.
    •  

      FIGURE 17 : COUTS SALARIAUX ANNUELS MOYENS PAR EMPLOYE DANS LES TRANSPORTS FLUVIAUX* (EN MILLIERS D’EUROS PAR EMPLOYE, 2017)


      Sources: Eurostat [sbs_na_1a_se_r2], CBS, analyse de la CCNR
      * En ce qui concerne les Pays-Bas, la valeur résulte de l’addition des coûts salariaux par employé dans le transport de marchandises et de passagers, le transport de marchandises représentant 92 % de l’activité financière globale. Les données relatives aux coûts salariaux sont celles fournies par l’office statistique national (CBS), étant donné qu’Eurostat ne publie pas de données sur cet indicateur pour les Pays-Bas. Aucune répartition des coûts salariaux entre le transport de marchandises et de passagers n’est disponible dans la bases données CBS.
eget velit, facilisis ut leo. nunc at ut lectus pulvinar