• The still ongoing expansion in the construction sector, which started in 2014, benefited the IWW transport of sand, stone, gravel and building materials.

• This correlation can be seen by comparing construction activity to the volumes of sand, stone, gravel and building materials transported via IWW; this phenomenon is best visible in the Netherlands.

• The EUROCONSTRUCT outlook foresees a slowdown in growth for the European construction market in the period 2019-2021. Nevertheless, the building activity should continue to grow in the medium and long-term.

• Other goods segments also have a positive outlook, for example chemicals, due to the evolution of life sciences in modern economies, and metals.

 

 

TRANSPORT OF SAND, STONES, GRAVEL AND BUILDING MATERIALS

 

  • The transport of sand, stones, gravel and building materials is quite important in inland waterway transport, especially in western Europe. The volumes and shares of this segment in important IWT countries are given below (There are indeed statistical problems for this segment. Within the NST 2007 goods classification, a distinction between sand, stones, gravel and building materials from ores is not possible anymore. (It was possible under the previous goods classification NST/R). Due to this change in the goods classification, a split between the two product segments is only possible on the basis of very detailed data, which are unfortunately not available for many European countries. The data for Rhine countries and for Romania were produced by analysing detailed data from national statistical offices (for Belgium, Germany, the Netherlands, Romania), and VNF (France). In this instance, the following NST 2007 Codes are taken into account: 035 (sands, stones, gravel, tone), 092 (cement, chalk, burnt plaster), 093 (other construction materials)):
    • 74.0 million t in the Netherlands in 2018 (20% of total IWT)
    • 50.0 million t in Belgium in 2017 (25% of total IWT)
    • 26.7 million t in Germany in 2018 (14% of total IWT)
    • 21.9 million t in France in 2018 (37% of total IWT)
    • 6.1 million t in Romania in 2018 (21% of total IWT)
  • The construction sector, which is the underlying sector of activity for this goods segment, expanded its activity in large parts of western Europe in recent years, especially in Germany, the Netherlands and in Belgium. The reasons for this expansion are analysed by economic research institutes, such as the Ifo Institute for Economic Research which has a longstanding tradition of research in the construction sector.

 

PRODUCTION VALUE OF THE TOTAL CONSTRUCTION SECTOR IN EUROPEAN IWW COUNTRIES (IN BILLION EURO)

Source: Eurostat [sbs_na_con_r2]

 

  • The Ifo Institute for Economic Research is a Munich-based research institution and one of Germany’s largest economic think-tanks. According to its assessment, a cyclical upward movement started in 2014 in the European construction sector, caused by several economic and demographic factors (See: Dorffmeister, Ludwig (2019a), Europäische Bauwirtschaft bleibt bis 2021 auf Expansionskurs (European Construction sector stays on expansion path until 2021), in: ifo Schnelldienst 2/2019, p. 47-54; and: Dorffmeister, Ludwig (2018), Europäischer Bausektor: Aufschwung verliert bis 2020 spürbar an Kraft (European Construction sector: upward movement loses momentum until 2020), in: ifo Schnelldienst 13/2018, p. 61-68):
    • The recovery of European macroeconomic framework conditions after the financial crisis
    • Persistently low interest rates in Europe
    • High demand for residential building construction
    • Internal migration towards urban regions and immigration from abroad
    • Higher public investment in the construction of new transport infrastructure
  • The overall level and evolution of the transport of sand, stones, gravel and building materials on inland waterways in Western Europe is shown in the following figure on a quarterly basis:

 

QUARTERLY IWW TRANSPORT VOLUME OF SAND, STONES, GRAVEL AND CONSTRUCTION MATERIAL (MILLION TONNES)

Source: CBS, Stat.Bel, Destatis, VNF

 

  • These quarterly data show seasonal variations in this sector which follow a similar movement between the countries under analysis (see 2013-1, 2015-2, 2016-2, 2018-1, 2018-2, 2018-3) and a rising tendency in Belgium and the Netherlands.
  • Using monthly data for Germany allows tracing the link between the construction activity and the IWW transport of sand, stones, gravel, etc. The correlation is quite intense, but the low water levels disturbed this correlation (in autumn 2015 and 2016, and in the second half of 2018). Large volumes of sand, stones and gravel were lost for German waterway transport due to these low water periods, at least temporarily.

 

MONTHLY PRODUCTION LEVEL IN THE GERMAN CONSTRUCTION SECTOR AND IWW TRANSPORT OF SAND, STONES, GRAVEL AND CONSTRUCTION MATERIAL IN GERMANY (INDEX 1/2011 = 100)

Source: CCNR based on Eurostat [sts_copr_m] and Destatis

 

  • In order to answer the question regarding the impact of the upswing that started in 2014, it is necessary to compare the (seasonally adjusted) figures for the activity in the transport sector with seasonally adjusted data for IWW transport on a country level. The seasonal adjustment makes apparent the business cycle and trend components of the series which is crucial for detecting upswing or downswing patterns.

 

QUARTERLY PRODUCTION LEVEL IN THE CONSTRUCTION SECTOR AND IWW TRANSPORT OF SAND, STONES, GRAVEL AND CONSTRUCTION MATERIAL (INDICE 2015 = 100)*

Source: CCNR based on data from Eurostat [sts_copr_m], CBS, VNF, Destatis, Statbel
* Seasonally adjusted data

France

Germany

Belgium

Netherlands

 

  • The upswing in the construction sector from 2014 onwards is best visible in the Netherlands. In the three other countries, it came with a delay. There is a certain correlation between the activity in the construction sector and the transport of related goods, but this correlation is not perfect, due to quite different additional influencing factors which are at play.
  • For Belgium, France and Germany, the recovery of construction activity that occurred in 2015 and at the beginning of 2016 seems to have produced an impulse for the IWW transport of sands, stones, gravel and building materials. For the Netherlands, this impulse came earlier.
  • The Ifo Institute for Economic Research is also a member of a European network of economic research institutes (EUROCONSTRUCT), that conducts forecasts for the whole European construction sector twice a year. At its latest meeting in late November 2018, this consortium made an assessment on the economic outlook for the construction sector during the period 2019-2021. According to this outlook, the growth of the European construction market should slow down in the forecast period (2019-2021), as shown by falling growth rates in the following figure.

 

FORECAST ON YEARLY GROWTH RATE OF TOTAL CONSTRUCTION OUTPUT PER COUNTRY (IN %)

Source: EUROCONSTRUCT

 

  • There are several reasons for easing growth rates, but capacity problems in the building industry seem to play one major role. A shortage of labour, and rising costs, as a result of the strong expansion of building activity in recent years, represent a bottleneck for further development at the same pace as previous years. Secondly, bottlenecks are also present when it comes to zones and areas for newbuilding which have become scarce (See: Dorffmeister, Ludwig (2019b), Zu den Kapazitätsengpässen in der Bauwirtschaft (capacity bottlenecks in the construction sector), in: ifo Schnelldienst, p.50-54).
  • Nevertheless, the building activity will continue to grow, although at a slower pace than in recent years. For inland waterway transport of sand, stones, gravel and building materials, a forecast was established which is based on the expected growth rates of the building sector according to EUROCONSTRUCT.
  • The following figure shows the evolution including the forecast values. The volumes in the Netherlands are expected to grow further until 2021 to a value of more than 80 million tonnes per year. Absolute growth is also foreseen for Belgium. For Germany, the results were corrected for the low water effects in 2018. The outlook for France and Germany points to a more stagnant evolution over the foreseeable horizon.

 

EVOLUTION OF YEARLY VOLUME OF SAND, STONES, GRAVEL AND BUILDING MATERIALS TRANSPORTED BY IWT AND FORECAST FOR 2019, 2020 AND 2021 (IN MILLION T)

Source: CCNR

 

TRENDS FOR IWT MARKETS

 

  • Long-lasting push factors for the construction sector are, as mentioned in the previous part, demographic growth in urban areas and also immigration. The more short- and medium-term factors (macroeconomic climate, interest rates) can change in a cyclical way.
  • For chemicals, the outlook is also positive, and the evolution of life science segments in modern economies can be a push factor for growth in the future. Regarding metals, the outlook is positive as well, although the growth potential is not as strong as for the construction sector and for chemicals.

 

GROSS REAL OUTPUT IN DIFFERENT ECONOMIC SECTORS IN THE EUROPEAN UNION *

Source: Oxford Economics
* in billion US-$, 2010 prices

 

  • Coal demand in the energy sector (steam coal) is decreasing, but for coal used in the steel industry, (coke), the outlook is far better. The transport of mineral oil products has a quite positive underlaying trend, and besides, IWT can gain further market shares in this segment due to its high safety level. The production of fertilizers is also expected to increase until 2050, as it is the case for the agricultural production and for food production.

 

GROSS REAL OUTPUT IN DIFFERENT ECONOMIC SECTORS IN THE EUROPEAN UNION *

Source: Oxford Economics
* in billion US-$, 2010 prices

• La progression constante du secteur de la construction, qui a débuté en 2014, a été favorable à la navigation intérieure qui assure le transport de sables, pierres et matériaux de construction.

• Cette corrélation peut être observée en comparant l’activité de construction aux volumes de sables, pierres, graviers et matériaux de construction transportés par bateau de navigation intérieure ; ce phénomène est particulièrement marqué aux Pays-Bas.

• Les perspectives d’EUROCONSTRUCT prévoient un ralentissement de la croissance du marché européen de la construction pour la période 2019-2021. L’activité dans le secteur de la construction devrait toutefois poursuivre sa progression à moyen et long terme.

• Les perspectives sont favorables aussi pour d’autres segments de marchandises tels que celui des produits chimiques, en raison de l’évolution des sciences de la vie dans les économies modernes, et celui des métaux.

 

 

TRANSPORT DE SABLES, PIERRES, GRAVIERS ET MATÉRIAUX DE CONSTRUCTION

 

  • Le transport de sables, pierres, graviers et matériaux de construction est relativement important pour le transport fluvial, en particulier en Europe occidentale. Les volumes et parts de ce segment dans les pays où la navigation intérieure est très développée sont indiqués ci-dessous (Il existe en effet des problèmes concernant les statistiques pour ce segment. Dans la classification des marchandises NST 2007, il n’est plus possible de distinguer les sables, pierres, graviers et matériaux de construction des minerais. (Cela était possible avec l’ancienne nomenclature de marchandises NST/R). En raison de ce changement dans la classification des marchandises, une répartition entre les deux segments de produits n’est possible que sur la base de données très détaillées, qui ne sont malheureusement pas disponibles pour de nombreux pays européens. Les données pour les pays rhénans et pour la Roumanie ont été produites en analysant des données détaillées provenant des offices statistiques nationaux (pour la Belgique, l’Allemagne, les Pays-Bas, la Roumanie) et VNF (France). Dans ce cas, les codes NST 2007 suivants sont pris en compte : 035 (sables, pierres, graviers, argiles), 092 (ciment, craie, plâtre brûlé), 093 (autres matériaux de construction)) :
    • 74,0 millions de tonnes aux Pays-Bas en 2018 (20 % du total des transports effectués par la navigation intérieure)
    • 50,0 millions de tonnes en Belgique en 2017 (25 % du total des transports effectués par la navigation intérieure)
    • 26,7 millions de tonnes en Allemagne en 2018 (14 % du total des transports effectués par la navigation intérieure)
    • 21,9 millions de tonnes en France en 2018 (37 % du total des transports effectués par la navigation intérieure)
    • 6,1 millions de tonnes en Roumanie en 2018 (21 % du total des transports effectués par la navigation intérieure).
  • Le secteur de la construction, qui est le secteur d’activité sous-jacent pour ce segment de marchandises, a renforcé son activité dans une grande partie de l’Europe occidentale ces dernières années, notamment en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique. Les raisons de ce développement sont analysées par des instituts de recherche économique, tels que l’Ifo Institute for Economic Research qui a une longue tradition de recherche dans le secteur de la construction.

 

VALEUR DE LA PRODUCTION DU SECTEUR DE LA CONSTRUCTION DANS LES PAYS EUROPÉENS DE TRANSPORT FLUVIAL (EN MILLIARDS D’EUROS)

Source: Eurostat [sbs_na_con_r2]

 

  • L’Ifo Institute for Economic Research est un institut de recherche basé à Munich et l’un des plus grands think tanks économiques d’Allemagne. Selon son évaluation, un mouvement cyclique à la hausse a commencé en 2014 dans le secteur européen de la construction, provoqué par plusieurs facteurs économiques et démographiques (Voir : Dorffmeister, Ludwig (2019a), Europäische Bauwirtschaft bleibt bis 2021 auf Expansionskurs (Le secteur européen de la construction poursuit son développement jusqu’en 2021), dans : ifo Schnelldienst 2/2019, p. 47-54 ; et : Dorffmeister, Ludwig (2018), Europäischer Bausektor : Aufschwung verliert bis 2020 spürbar an Kraft (Secteur européen de la construction : le mouvement ascendant se ralentira jusqu’en 2020, dans ifo Schnelldienst 13/2018, p. 61-68) :
    • Le rétablissement des conditions-cadres macroéconomiques en Europe après la crise financière
    • Des taux d’intérêt toujours bas en Europe
    • Une forte demande pour la construction de bâtiments résidentiels
    • Des migrations internes vers les régions urbaines et l’immigration en provenance de l’étranger
    • L’accroissement des investissements publics dans la construction de nouvelles infrastructures de transport
  • Le niveau global et l’évolution du transport de sables, pierres, graviers et matériaux de construction sur les voies d’eau d’Europe occidentale sont présentés dans le graphique ci-après sur une base trimestrielle :

 

VOLUME TRIMESTRIEL DES TRANSPORTS DE SABLES, PIERRES, GRAVIERS ET DE MATÉRIAUX DE CONSTRUCTION (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

Source : CBS, Stat.Bel, Destatis, VNF

 

  • Ces données trimestrielles révèlent pour ce secteur des variations saisonnières qui suivent un mouvement similaire entre les pays analysés (voir 2013-1, 2015-2, 2016-2, 2018-1, 2018-2, 2018-2, 2018-3) et une tendance à la hausse en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas.
  • L’utilisation de données mensuelles pour l’Allemagne permet d’établir le lien entre l’activité de construction et le transport fluvial de sables, pierres, graviers, etc.La corrélation est relativement marquée, mais les périodes d’étiage ont perturbé cette corrélation (à l’automne 2015 et 2016, et au second semestre 2018). De grandes quantités de sables, pierres et graviers ont été perdues pour le transport fluvial allemand en raison de ces périodes d’étiage, du moins temporairement.

 

NIVEAU DE PRODUCTION MENSUEL DANS LE SECTEUR ALLEMAND DE LA CONSTRUCTION ET TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE SABLES, PIERRES, GRAVIERS ET MATÉRIAUX DE CONSTRUCTION EN ALLEMAGNE (INDICE 1/2011 = 100)

Source: CCNR sur la base de données d’Eurostat [sts_copr_m] et Destatis

 

  • Afin de répondre à la question sur l’impact de la reprise amorcée en 2014, il est nécessaire de comparer les chiffres (corrigés des variations saisonnières) de l’activité dans le secteur des transports avec les données corrigées des variations saisonnières du transport fluvial au niveau national. La dessaisonalisation met en évidence le cycle économique et les composantes tendancielles de la série, ce qui est essentiel pour détecter les tendances à la hausse ou à la baisse.

 

NIVEAU DE PRODUCTION TRIMESTRIEL DANS LE SECTEUR DE LA CONSTRUCTION ET DU TRANSPORT FLUVIAL DE SABLES, PIERRES, GRAVIERS ET MATÉRIAUX DE CONSTRUCTION (INDICE 2015 = 100)*

Source: CCNR à partir des données d’Eurostat [sts_copr_m], CBS, VNF, Destatis, Statbel
* Données corrigées des variations saisonnières

France

Allemagne

Belgique

Pays-Bas

 

  • La reprise dans le secteur de la construction à partir de 2014 est plus visible aux Pays-Bas. Les trois autres pays ont suivi avec du retard. Il existe une certaine corrélation entre l’activité dans le secteur de la construction et le transport de marchandises connexes, mais cette corrélation n’est pas parfaite, en raison des facteurs d’influence supplémentaires très divers qui interviennent.
  • Pour la Belgique, la France et l’Allemagne, la reprise de l’activité de construction constatée en 2015 et au début de l’année 2016 semble avoir donné une impulsion au transport de sables, pierres, graviers et de matériaux de construction. Pour les Pays-Bas, cette impulsion a produit ses effets plus tôt.
  • L’Ifo Institute for Economic Research est également membre d’un réseau européen d’instituts de recherche économique (EUROCONSTRUCT), qui réalise deux fois par an des prévisions pour l’ensemble du secteur européen de la construction. Lors de sa dernière réunion fin novembre 2018, ce consortium a procédé à une évaluation des perspectives économiques du secteur de la construction pour la période 2019-2021. Selon ces perspectives, la croissance du marché européen de la construction devrait ralentir au cours de la période de prévision (2019-2021), comme le montre la baisse des taux de croissance dans le graphique ci-après.

 

PRÉVISION DU TAUX DE CROISSANCE ANNUEL DE LA PRODUCTION TOTALE DU SECTEUR DE LA CONSTRUCTION, PAR PAYS (EN %)

Source: EUROCONSTRUCT

 

  • Le fléchissement des taux de croissance s’explique par plusieurs facteurs, mais les problèmes de capacité dans le secteur du bâtiment semblent jouer un rôle majeur. La pénurie de main-d’oeuvre et l’augmentation des coûts, résultat de la forte expansion de l’activité de construction ces dernières années, constituent une entrave à la poursuite du développement au même rythme que les années précédentes. En outre, de telles entraves existent également en ce qui concerne les espaces et sites pour les constructions neuves, qui se raréfient (Voir : Dorffmeister, Ludwig (2019 b), Zu den Kapazitätsengpässen in der Bauwirtschaft (Goulets d’étranglement dans le secteur de la construction), dans : ifo Schnelldienst, p,50-54).
  • Néanmoins, l’activité de construction continuera de croître, mais à un rythme plus lent que ces dernières années. Pour le transport fluvial de sables, pierres, graviers et matériaux de construction, une prévision a été établie sur la base des taux de croissance attendus dans le secteur du bâtiment selon EUROCONSTRUCT.
  • Le graphique ci-après présente cette évolution et les valeurs prévues. Les volumes transportés aux Pays-Bas devraient continuer de croître jusqu’en 2021, pour atteindre plus de 80 millions de tonnes par an. Une croissance absolue est également prévue pour la Belgique. Pour l’Allemagne, les résultats ont été corrigés pour tenir compte des effets des périodes d’étiage en 2018. Les perspectives pour la France et l’Allemagne laissent entrevoir une évolution plus stagnante sur la période couverte par les prévisions.

 

ÉVOLUTION DU VOLUME ANNUEL DE SABLES, PIERRES, GRAVIERS ET MATÉRIAUX DE CONSTRUCTION TRANSPORTÉS PAR LA NAVIGATION INTÉRIEURE ET PRÉVISIONS POUR 2019, 2020 ET 2021 (EN MILLIONS DE TONNES)

Source: CCNR

 

TENDANCES DES MARCHÉS DE LA NAVIGATION INTÉRIEURE

 

  • Comme indiqué précédemment, les facteurs d’incitation à long terme pour le secteur de la construction sont la croissance démographique dans les zones urbaines et l’immigration. Les facteurs à court et moyen terme (climat macroéconomique, taux d’intérêt) peuvent évoluer de manière cyclique.
  • Pour les produits chimiques, les perspectives sont également positives et l’évolution des segments des sciences de la vie dans les économies modernes peut être un facteur de croissance pour l’avenir. Les perspectives sont positives aussi pour les métaux, bien que le potentiel de croissance ne soit pas aussi fort que dans le secteur de la construction et de la chimie.

 

PRODUCTION RÉELLE BRUTE DANS DIFFÉRENTS SECTEURS ÉCONOMIQUES DE L’UNION EUROPÉENNE*

Source : Oxford Economics
* En milliards de dollars US, cours de 2010

 

  • La demande de charbon dans le secteur de l’énergie (charbon vapeur) est en baisse, tandis que les perspectives sont bien meilleures pour le charbon utilisé dans la sidérurgie (coke). Le transport de produits pétroliers bénéficie d’une tendance sous-jacente très positive et le transport fluvial peut gagner de nouvelles parts de marché dans ce segment grâce à son niveau de sécurité élevé. La production d’engrais devrait également augmenter jusqu’en 2050, tout comme la production agricole et la production alimentaire.

 

PRODUCTION RÉELLE BRUTE DANS DIFFÉRENTS SECTEURS ÉCONOMIQUES DE L’UNION EUROPÉENNE*

Source : Oxford Economics
* En milliards de dollars US, cours de 2010