• With water levels normalising in Q1 2019 and in Q2 2019, inland vessels once again reached higher loading degrees, which in turn had a strong effect on transport prices: transport prices fell, especially on the spot market for deliveries from the ARA region to destinations in the Rhine hinterland (Germany, France, Switzerland).
• Due to falling transport prices in Q1 2019, official statistics on the turnover in IWW goods transport in the Netherlands and in Germany show that turnover decreased in both countries. In Q2 2019, turnover continued to decrease in Germany, while it increased again in the Netherlands.

 

WATER LEVELS AND VESSELS’LOADING DEGREES IN THE RHINE BASIN

 

 
 
 

FIGURE 1: MAXIMUM LOADING DEGREE OF VESSELS WITH A DRAUGHT OF 3 M AT GAUGING STATIONS ALONG THE RHINE (%)

Source: CCNR calculation based on data provided by the Federal German Office of Hydraulicity

 

  • At the beginning of the year 2019, water levels on the Rhine normalised, allowing inland vessels to reach rather high loading degree values again. The two gauging stations of Kaub and Oestrich at the Middle Rhine showed slightly more difficult navigation conditions than Maxau on the Upper Rhine and Duisburg on the Lower Rhine.
  • The correlation between water levels and goods transport on the Rhine remained intact, as shown by the fact that the rising water levels in Q1 2019 were followed by an increase in goods transport.

 

FIGURE 2: QUARTERLY GOODS TRANSPORT ON THE RHINE AND VESSELS’ LOADING DEGREES AT KAUB/RHINE

Source: Destatis and CCNR Calculation based on data provided by the Federal German Office of Hydraulicity


 

WATER LEVELS AND VESSELS’ LOADING DEGREES IN THE DANUBE BASIN

 
 
 

FIGURE 3 : MAXIMUM LOADING DEGREE OF VESSELS WITH A DRAUGHT OF 3 M AT GAUGING STATIONS ALONG THE DANUBE (IN %)

Source: CCNR calculation based on hydrological data provided by the Federal German Office of Hydraulicity, and the Federal State of Lower Austria

  • Within the Danube basin, the differences in hydraulicity conditions between the Austrian and the German Danube remained intact in 2019. While navigating conditions were recovering quickly in Kienstock and Wildungsmauer, both located in Lower Austria, they continued to be quite volatile and less favourable on the German Danube in Lower Bavaria.

 

FIGURE 4 : QUARTERLY GOODS TRANSPORT IN AUSTRIA AND VESSELS’ LOADING DEGREES IN WILDUNGSMAUER, LOWER AUSTRIA

Source: Eurostat [iww_go_qnave] and CCNR calculation based on hydrological data from the Federal State of Lower Austria


 

FREIGHT RATES IN THE RHINE BASIN

FIGURE 5 : CBS FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR INLAND NAVIGATION IN THE NETHERLANDS

Source: CBS (Netherlands)

 

  • The CBS conducts regular surveys among 80 Dutch IWW companies, eight times per year. The revenue of a company determines the influence it has on the price index. According to this index, dry bulk sport market freight rates fell in the first half of 2019, more or less in parallel with normalising water levels on the Rhine.
  • The liquid bulk prices of the CBS index cover freight traffic on the Rhine, but also shorter trips within the ARA area (Amsterdam-Rotterdam-Antwerp) and other locations within the Netherlands. It contains spot market rates as well as (long-term) contract rates, and the delivery of all types of liquid bulk (chemicals, diesel, fuel oil, methanol, naphta, sunflower oil, etc).
  • Another freight rate index is the liquid bulk PJK index (PJK International / Insight Global is a market research company in Breda, the Netherlands, specialised in the liquid cargo sector), which is a spot market index based on the transport of oil products from the ARA region via the Rhine to destinations in Germany, France and Switzerland. Its spot market and its ARA-Rhine trade character make it quite volatile.
  • Within the PJK index, freight rates fell strongly in December 2018 and at the beginning of the year 2019 and settled at a lower level in Q1 and Q2 2019. However, as is the case for the CBS liquid bulk index part, the price level did not fall back completely.

 

FIGURE 6: PJK FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR LIQUID CARGO (GASOIL) FROM THE ARA REGION TO DESTINATIONS ALONG THE RHINE – COMPARED WITH VESSELS’ LOADING DEGREES AT MAXAU/UPPER RHINE

Source: CCNR calculation based on PJK International
*The freight rate index was calculated on the basis of the price per tonne of liquid cargo transport. Index values show the price in a given month in relation to the average price in the year 2015.



 

  • A detailed look at the PJK index (per destination along the Rhine) reveals that the Swiss destination (Basel) showed by far the strongest price increase during the low water period in late 2018. In 2019, however, the freight rate level for deliveries to Basel fell very strongly. When water levels normalised, the reduction of the freight rate level for deliveries to lower Rhine destinations (Duisburg, Cologne) and to Ruhr destinations (Dortmund) was relatively inferior than for Basel.

 

FIGURE 7: PJK FREIGHT RATE INDEX FOR LIQUID CARGO (GASOIL) FROM THE ARA REGION TO DESTINATIONS ALONG THE RHINE – INDEX VALUES PER DESTINATION

Source: CCNR calculation based on PJK International

 

QUARTERLY IWT TURNOVER EVOLUTION PER COUNTRY IN EUROPE

Quarterly data on turnover in IWT are at present only available for very few countries, due to statistical limitations. EUROSTAT presents data for the NACE sector H50 (water transport) which covers maritime and IWT transport together. Based on this dataset, it is possible to identify turnover in IWT only for countries with almost no activity in maritime shipping. For France, Germany and the Netherlands, quarterly turnover data are provided by the national statistical offices (INSEE, Destatis, CBS).

FIGURE 8: TURNOVER DEVELOPMENT IN THE NETHERLANDS AND IN GERMANY – MAINLY GOODS TRANSPORT* (2015=100)

Source: CBS, Destatis
*For the Netherlands, the series contains turnover from total IWT, but goods transport has a very high share of 92 %; for Germany, the series contains only turnover from goods transport.

 

  • Both in the Netherlands and in Germany, turnover from freight transport reached a certain peak in the fourth quarter of 2018. This was a consequence of very high freight rates due to the low water period, notably on the Rhine. With prices decreasing in the first half year 2019, turnover normalised in Germany, while it remained rather high in the Netherlands, reflecting a more positive transport demand evolution in the Netherlands than in Germany.
  • Turnover of Austrian, French and German passenger shipping companies showed the usual seasonal variations. In Q2 2019, turnover of French passenger transport companies was 8 % higher than in Q2 2018, and 16 % higher than in Q2 2017.
  • For German passenger transport companies, the result in Q2 2019 was 1 % lower than the previous year, but 4 % higher than in Q2 2017. The turnover of Austrian IWW companies, the majority of which are linked to passenger transport, was 13 % higher in Q2 2019 than the previous year and 6 % higher than in Q2 2017.

 

FIGURE 9: TURNOVER DEVELOPMENT IN AUSTRIA, FRANCE AND GERMANY – MAINLY PASSENGER TRANSPORT*(2015=100)

Source: Eurostat [sts_setu_q] for Austria, Destatis for Germany and INSEE for France
* For Austria, the series contain turnover from total IWT, but the sector activity is dominated by passenger transport; for Germany and France, the data contain only turnover in passenger transport.

• Avec la normalisation des niveaux d’eau au 1er trimestre 2019 et au 2ème trimestre 2019, les bateaux de navigation intérieure ont à nouveau atteint des degrés de chargement plus élevés, ce qui a eu un effet important sur les prix du transport : ceux-ci ont chuté, en particulier sur le marché au comptant des transports provenant de la région ARA et destinées à l’arrière-pays rhénan (Allemagne, France et Suisse).
• En raison de la baisse des prix du transport au 1er trimestre 2019, les statistiques officielles sur le chiffre d’affaires du transport de marchandises sur les voies de navigation intérieure aux Pays-Bas et en Allemagne montrent que celui-ci a diminué dans les deux pays. Au 2ème trimestre 2019, le chiffre d’affaires a continué de baisser en Allemagne, alors qu’il augmentait à nouveau aux Pays-Bas.

 

HAUTEURS D’EAU ET DEGRES DE CHARGEMENT DES BATEAUX DANS LE BASSIN DU RHIN

 


 
 
 

GRAPH. 1: DEGRE MAXIMAL DE CHARGEMENT DES BATEAUX D’UN TIRANT D’EAU DE 3M AUX ECHELLES DU RHIN (%)

Source : Calcul de la CCNR basé sur des données fournies par l’Office fédéral allemand d’hydrologie

  • Au début de l’année 2019, les hauteurs d’eau sur le Rhin se sont normalisées, permettant aux bateaux de navigation intérieure d’atteindre à nouveau des degrés de chargement assez élevés. Les échelles de Kaub et d’Oestrich sur le Rhin moyen ont mis en évidence des conditions de navigation légèrement plus difficiles qu’à Maxau, sur le Rhin supérieur, et à Duisbourg, sur le Rhin inférieur.
  • La corrélation entre les niveaux d’eau et le transport de marchandises sur le Rhin est restée intacte, comme le montre le fait que la hausse des niveaux d’eau au 1er trimestre a été suivie d’une augmentation du transport de marchandises.

 

GRAPH. 2: TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES SUR LE RHIN PAR TRIMESTRE ET DEGRE DE CHARGEMENT MAXIMAL DES BATEAUX A KAUB/RHIN

Source : Destatis et calcul de la CCNR basé sur des données de l’Office fédéral allemand d’hydrologie


 

HAUTEURS D’EAU ET DEGRES DE CHARGEMENT DES BATEAUX DANS LE BASSIN DU DANUBE

 

 
 

GRAPH. 3: DEGRE MAXIMAL DE CHARGEMENT DES BATEAUX PRESENTANT UN TIRANT D’EAU DE 3M AUX ECHELLES DU DANUBE (%)

Source : calcul de la CCNR basé sur des données de l’Office fédéral allemand d’hydrologie et du Land de Basse-Autriche

  • Dans le bassin du Danube, les différences de conditions hydrologiques entre le Danube autrichien et le Danube allemand sont restées inchangées en 2019. Alors que les conditions de navigation se rétablissaient rapidement à Kienstock et Wildungsmauer, deux localités situées en Basse-Autriche, elles continuaient d’être très instables et moins favorables sur le Danube allemand en Basse-Bavière.

 

GRAPH. 4: TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES EN AUTRICHE PAR TRIMESTRE ET DEGRE DE CHARGEMENT MAXIMAL DES BATEAUX A WILDUNGSMAUER EN BASSE-AUTRICHE

Source : Eurostat [iww-go-qnave] et calcul de la CCNR sur la base des données hydrologiques de l’État fédéral de Basse-Autriche


 

TAUX DE FRET DANS LE BASSIN DU RHIN

GRAPH. 5: INDICE CBS DES TAUX DE FRET POUR LA NAVIGATION INTERIEURE AUX PAYS-BAS

Source : CBS (Pays-Bas)

 

  • Le CBS mène régulièrement (huit fois par an) des enquêtes auprès de 80 entreprises néerlandaises de transport fluvial. Le chiffre d’affaires d’une entreprise conditionne l’influence qu’elle exerce sur l’indice des prix. Selon cet indice, les taux de fret sur le marché du vrac sec au comptant ont chuté au premier semestre 2019, plus ou moins parallèlement à un retour à la norme des niveaux d’eau le long du Rhin.
  • La partie «vrac liquide» de l’indice CBS inclut le transport de marchandises sur le Rhin, mais aussi des trajets plus courts dans le secteur ARA (Amsterdam-Rotterdam-Anvers) et dans d’autres régions des Pays-Bas. Il comprend les taux du marché au comptant, les taux des contrats (à long terme) et l’acheminement de tout type de vrac liquide (produits chimiques, diesel, fioul, méthanol, naphta, huile de tournesol, etc.).
  • Un autre indice des taux de fret est l’indice PJK (PJK International/Insight Global est une société d’étude de marché basée à Breda (Pays-Bas), spécialisée dans le secteur des cargaisons liquides) pour le vrac liquide, qui est un indice du marché au comptant basé sur le transport de produits pétroliers depuis la région ARA via le Rhin vers des destinations en Allemagne, en France et en Suisse. Le fait qu’il soit axé sur le marché au comptant et qu’il repose uniquement sur le marché ARA-Rhin le rendent assez instable.
  • Au sein de l’indice PJK, les taux de fret ont fortement baissé en décembre 2018 et au début de l’année 2019 et se sont stabilisés à un niveau plus bas aux 1er et 2ème trimestres 2019. Toutefois, comme c’est le cas pour la partie CBS de l’indice concernant le vrac liquide, le niveau des prix n’a pas complètement reculé.

 

GRAPH. 6: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET PJK POUR LES MARCHANDISES LIQUIDES (GASOIL) ACHEMINEES DE LA REGION ARA VERS DES DESTINATIONS LE LONG DU RHIN – COMPARE AU DEGRE DE CHARGEMENT DES BATEAUX A MAXAU/RHIN SUPERIEUR

Source : Calcul de la CCNR basé sur des données PJK International
*L’indice du taux de fret a été calculé sur la base du prix par tonne de transport de marchandises liquides. Les valeurs de l’indice montrent le prix à un mois donné par rapport au prix moyen en 2015.


 

  • Un examen détaillé de l’indice PJK (par destination le long du Rhin) révèle que la destination suisse (Bâle) a affiché de loin la plus forte hausse des prix au cours de la période de basses eaux à la fin de l’année 2018. En 2019, cependant, le niveau du taux de fret pour les livraisons à Bâle a très fortement baissé. Lorsque les niveaux d’eau se sont normalisés, la réduction du taux de fret pour les livraisons vers des destinations du Rhin inférieur (Duisbourg, Cologne) et vers les destinations de la Ruhr (Dortmund) a été relativement inférieure à celle de Bâle.

 

GRAPH. 7: INDICE DES TAUX DE FRET PJK POUR LES MARCHANDISES LIQUIDES (GASOIL) ACHEMINEES DE LA REGION ARA VERS DES DESTINATIONS LE LONG DU RHIN – VALEURS DE L’INDICE PAR DESTINATION

Source : Calcul de la CCNR basé sur des données PJK International

 

ÉVOLUTION TRIMESTRIELLE DU CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES DU TRANSPORT PAR NAVIGATION INTERIEURE EN EUROPE

(Les données trimestrielles concernant le chiffre d’affaires de la navigation intérieure ne sont actuellement disponibles que pour très peu de pays en raison de contraintes statistiques. EUROSTAT fournit des données pour le secteur NACE H50 (transport par bateau) qui couvre les transports maritimes et fluviaux. Sur la base de cette série de données, il n’est possible de déterminer le chiffre d’affaires de la navigation intérieure que pour les pays n’ayant quasiment aucune activité de transport maritime. Pour la France, l’Allemagne et les Pays-Bas, les données trimestrielles concernant le chiffre d’affaires sont fournies par les offices statistiques nationaux (INSEE, Destatis, CBS)).
 

GRAPH. 8: ÉVOLUTION DU CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES AUX PAYS-BAS ET EN ALLEMAGNE – PRINCIPALEMENT LE TRANSPORT DE MARCHANDISES* (2015=100)

Source : CBS, Destatis
*Pour les Pays-Bas, la série de données correspond au chiffre d’affaires total du transport par navigation intérieure, le transport de marchandises représentant toutefois une part très élevée de 92 % ; pour l’Allemagne, la série de données ne porte que sur le chiffre d’affaires du transport de marchandises.

 

  • Aux Pays-Bas et en Allemagne, le chiffre d’affaires du transport de marchandises a atteint un certain pic au 4ème trimestre 2018. C’était une conséquence des taux de fret très élevés dus à la période de basses eaux, notamment sur le Rhin. Avec des prix en baisse au premier semestre 2019, le chiffre d’affaires s’est normalisé en Allemagne, alors qu’il est resté assez élevé aux Pays-Bas, reflétant une évolution plus positive de la demande en matière de transport aux Pays-Bas qu’en Allemagne.
  • Le chiffre d’affaires des entreprises autrichiennes, françaises et allemandes de transport fluvial de passagers a connu les variations saisonnières habituelles. Au 2ème trimestre 2019, le chiffre d’affaires des entreprises françaises de transport fluvial de passagers a augmenté de 8 % par rapport au 2ème trimestre 2018 et de 16 % par rapport au 2ème trimestre 2017.
  • Pour les entreprises allemandes de transport fluvial de passagers, le résultat du 2ème trimestre 2019 a été inférieur de 1 % à celui de l’année précédente, mais supérieur de 4 % à celui du 2ème trimestre 2017. Le chiffre d’affaires des entreprises autrichiennes de transport fluvial, dont la majorité est liée au transport de passagers, a augmenté de 13 % au 2ème trimestre 2019 par rapport à l’année précédente et de 6 % par rapport au 2ème trimestre 2017.

 

GRAPH. 9: ÉVOLUTION DU CHIFFRE D’AFFAIRES EN AUTRICHE, EN FRANCE ET EN ALLEMAGNE – PRINCIPALEMENT POUR LE TRANSPORT DE PASSAGERS*(2015=100)

Source : Eurostat [sts-setu-q] pour l’Autriche, Destatis pour l’Allemagne et l’INSEE pour la France
*Pour l’Autriche, la série de données reflète le chiffre d’affaires total du transport par navigation intérieure, mais le secteur est largement dominé par le transport de passagers ; pour l’Allemagne et la France, la série de données ne porte que sur le chiffre d’affaires du transport de passagers.