Foreword

CENTRAL COMMISSION FOR THE NAVIGATION OF THE RHINE

The Central Commission for the Navigation of the Rhine (CCNR) is pleased to present the 2021 edition of the European Inland Navigation Market Observation report, which analyses the main developments in European inland navigation in 2020. This year again, I would like to thank the European Commission for their valuable collaboration and support in our market observation activities.

In line with its objective of providing informed decision-making support for all stakeholders involved in inland navigation, this report covers a wide range of subjects, including macroeconomic conditions, trend developments related to goods segments and river basins, inland waterway transport in ports, operating conditions related to water levels and freight rates, the structure and evolution of the fleet of inland vessels, data on employment, the number of companies and the level of turnover, as well as data on river cruises. In addition to a section on the short and long-term macroeconomic outlook for the main inland navigation market segments, this year’s report also includes a statistical annex, a valuable tool for data analysis.

Unfortunately, this year’s report cannot avoid a particular emphasis on the dramatic and still ongoing Covid pandemic. Although the current vaccination campaigns offer some hope for the future, the health emergency caused by the coronavirus has weighed heavily on the economic indicators for 2020 and has not spared inland navigation. The fall in GDP in the EU in 2020 was indeed higher than during the financial crisis of 2009. In addition, delays in vaccination rollouts as well as threats of new Covid variants are likely to create additional uncertainties in all sectors of our economy. While the recovery path is still uncertain, GDP forecasts for 2021 and 2022 point to a recovery with expected growth rates of 4.4% in 2021 and 4.0% in 2022.

Both freight and passenger transport were affected by the pandemic and the ensuing policy actions and health measures. The damage reported by the entire inland waterway passenger transport industry was particularly severe, not only on the demand side but also on the fleet and supply side. My dearest wish is, of course, for a rapid and complete recovery of the whole sector, with the active support of all actors involved in inland waterway transport.

As in the past, the present work that you are about to consult is the result of intense collaboration with many actors, both public and private. As in previous years, we have been able to use statistical data and market information of the Danube, Moselle and Sava Commissions for their specific catchment areas. Equally important was our cooperation with Eurostat and national statistical offices, ports, national and regional waterway administrations as well as professional organisations, in particular the European Barge Union (EBU), the European Skippers’ Organisation (ESO) and the Corporation of Inland Tanker Barge Owners (CITBO). It is only thanks to this fruitful cooperation with all stakeholders and their valuable input and expertise that we can collect all relevant data for our sector on a European scale, in a timely and efficient manner, for our annual report.

Last but not least, on the following page you will also find a message from my counterpart at the Danube Commission, Mr Manfred Seitz, with whom we continue and intensify our cooperation. The said Danube Commission sends us every year a detailed market report with very valuable data and information about freight and passenger transport on the different sections of the Danube. We are very grateful to the Commission for this annual contribution. It is therefore a great pleasure to share the foreword of the new annual report with its Director General.

In the hope that the pandemic and its continued strain on economies will soon be behind us, and that our European inland waterway transport sector will soon be thriving again, I wish you a good read of the annual report.

 

Bruno Georges
CCNR Secretary General

DANUBE COMMISSION

It is an honour for me to write a short foreword for the Market Observation Report 2021, which is published by the Central Commission for the Navigation of the Rhine (CCNR) as a joint project with the European Commission for the European Inland Navigation sector.

The cooperation between the Danube Commission (DC) and the Central Commission for the Navigation of the Rhine (CCNR) relating to market observation has followed a systematic approach since the signing of an administrative agreement in 2015 between the DC and the Directorate General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission. Based on this agreement, a common methodology for the market observation publication was developed between the Secretariats in 2017 and has since further evolved during bilateral meetings.

The Secretariat of the DC transmits to the CCNR four reports per year providing a detailed insight into the structure and development of the IWT market in the Danube region and thus contributes to the overall European market observation coordinated by the CCNR.

The DC attaches great importance to the task of market observation with the aim of monitoring in a timely manner the economic activities of the Danube shipping sector in relation to the overall economic development of the Danube region, the competitive position of the sector in relation to the other transport modes and by paying special attention to the strong inter-relationship of fairway conditions and market performance. Our quarterly reports and the consolidated annual report are published on the website of the Danube Commission and are welcomed by the IWT sector and the public administrations alike as important inputs for commercial activities and for policy making.

Since mid-March 2020, the freight transport market on the Danube was strongly affected by the Covid-19 pandemic, thus resulting in economic decline in all Danube states and, respectively, in a drop in supply and demand in the main segments of the Danube transport market. The largest losses concern the passenger transport sector, keeping in mind that in 2019 record traffic volumes were achieved in both the Upper Danube and in the Danube delta with over 190 cabin cruise vessels operating on the Danube.
The freight transport market in 2021 and beyond is likely to be influenced by existing quotas for steel import in EU countries, as well as by the expected introduction of a carbon border tax on the import of metallurgical, chemical, petrol and petroleum products to the EU.

As in 2020, a certain stability in freight transport on the Danube can be ensured in 2021, thanks to grain transport, primarily from the ports on the Middle Danube to the Danube seaports, and especially Constanƫa. Initial grain stocks from the 2020 harvest in the Danube countries, and satisfactory volumes of the 2021 harvest should allow this balance to be realised. Transport of animal fodder and chemical products (fertilizers), as well as petroleum products, are expected to remain stable.

Forecasts for the passenger transport sector on the Danube refer to the possible resumption of its main activity in 2022. This will, first and foremost, depend on the national restrictions linked to the pandemic. At the same time, with the easing of national and local restrictions, separate routes both on cruise and local transport lines could be resumed to a certain level in 2021.

Considering the challenges faced by the inland waterway transport sector with the need to deliver on the objectives of the European Green Deal and the Sustainable & Smart Mobility Strategy, comprehensive and accurate information on the European inland waterway transport sector will become even more important and will be a prerequisite to achieve the ambitious goal of shifting significantly more freight to inland waterways. Thus, I consider the joint report on Market Observation to be a cornerstone for successful future policy measures in line with the Inland Waterway Transport Action Plan NAIADES 2021-2027.

The Secretariat of the Danube Commission appreciates the cooperation with the CCNR in the field of market observation as a most successful and complementary initiative, both in terms of the quality of the market analysis and the forecasting of its development, which certainly will receive further strong support from the Danube Commission.

 

Manfred Seitz
Director General of the Secretariat

Préface

COMMISSION CENTRALE POUR LA NAVIGATION DU RHIN

La Commission Centrale pour la Navigation du Rhin (CCNR) a le plaisir de présenter l’édition 2021 de son rapport sur l’observation du marché de la navigation intérieure européenne, dans lequel sont analysées les principales évolutions de la navigation intérieure européenne en 2020. Cette année encore, je tiens à remercier la Commission européenne pour sa précieuse collaboration et son soutien à nos activités relatives à l’observation du marché.

Dans le droit fil de son objectif de permettre à toutes les parties prenantes à la navigation intérieure de prendre des décisions éclairées, le présent rapport couvre un large éventail de sujets, notamment les conditions macroéconomiques, l’évolution des tendances relatives aux segments de marchandises et aux bassins fluviaux, la manutention fluviale dans les ports, les conditions d’exploitation par rapport aux niveaux des eaux et aux taux de fret, la structure et l’évolution de la flotte de bateaux de navigation intérieure, les données sur l’emploi, le nombre d’entreprises et leur niveau de chiffre d’affaires, ainsi que les données sur les croisières fluviales. Hormis une section consacrée aux perspectives macroéconomiques à court et à long terme pour les principaux segments du marché de la navigation intérieure, le rapport de cette année comprend également une annexe statistique, qui constitue un outil précieux pour l’analyse des données.

Le rapport de cette année ne peut, hélas, éviter de mettre l’accent sur l’inquiétante pandémie de Covid, qui sévit toujours. Si les campagnes de vaccination en cours permettent de nourrir quelque espoir pour l’avenir, l’urgence sanitaire provoquée par le coronavirus pèse lourdement sur les indicateurs économiques de 2020 et n’épargne pas la navigation intérieure. En effet, la chute du PIB dans l’UE en 2020 a été plus importante que lors de la crise financière de 2009. En outre, les retards pris dans le lancement de la vaccination et les risques de voir surgir de nouvelles variantes de Covid sont susceptibles de créer des incertitudes supplémentaires dans tous les secteurs de notre économie. Bien qu’un climat d’incertitude entoure encore la voie que suivra la reprise, les prévisions relatives au PIB pour 2021 et 2022 laissent entrevoir une reprise qui pourrait aller de pair avec des taux de croissance de 4,4 % en 2021 et de 4 % en 2022.

Le transport de marchandises et de passagers ont été tous deux touchés par la pandémie, ainsi que par les actions politiques et les mesures sanitaires qui en ont découlé. L’ensemble du secteur du transport fluvial de passagers a subi des dommages particulièrement graves, non seulement en ce qui concerne la demande, mais aussi en ce qui concerne la flotte et l’offre. Mon vœu le plus cher est bien sûr celui d’un redressement rapide et complet de l’ensemble du secteur, avec le soutien actif de tous les acteurs engagés dans le transport fluvial.

Comme par le passé, le présent recueil que vous vous apprêtez à consulter est le fruit d’une collaboration intense avec de nombreux acteurs, tant publics que privés. Comme pour les années précédentes, nous avons pu nous appuyer sur les données statistiques et les informations relatives au marché que nous ont transmises les Commissions du Danube, de la Moselle et de la Save pour leurs bassins fluviaux respectifs. Tout aussi importante a été notre coopération avec Eurostat et les offices statistiques nationaux, les ports, les administrations nationales et régionales des voies navigables ainsi que les organisations professionnelles, notamment l’Union Européenne de la Navigation Fluviale (UENF), l’Organisation Européenne des Bateliers (OEB) et la Coopérative des propriétaires de bateaux-citernes (CITBO). Ce n’est que grâce à cette coopération fructueuse avec toutes les parties prenantes et à leur précieuse contribution et expertise que nous pouvons recueillir, à l’échelle européenne, en temps utile et de manière efficace, toutes les données pertinentes pour notre secteur aux fins de la publication de notre rapport annuel.

Enfin, vous trouverez également à la page suivante un message de mon homologue à la Commission du Danube, M. Manfred Seitz, avec qui nous poursuivons et intensifions notre coopération. La Commission du Danube nous envoie chaque année un rapport détaillé sur l’observation du marché contenant des données et des informations très précieuses sur le transport de marchandises et de passagers sur les différentes sections du Danube. Nous sommes très reconnaissants envers la Commission pour cette contribution annuelle. C’est donc avec grand plaisir que je partage la préface de ce nouveau rapport annuel avec son directeur général.

Dans l’espoir que la pandémie et la pression constante qu’elle exerce sur les économies appartiendront bientôt au passé, et que notre secteur européen du transport fluvial sera bientôt de nouveau florissant, je vous souhaite une bonne lecture du rapport annuel.

 

Bruno Georges
Secrétaire Général de la CCNR

COMMISSION DU DANUBE

C’est un honneur pour moi d’écrire une brève préface pour le rapport 2021 sur l’observation du marché, publié par la Commission centrale pour la navigation du Rhin (CCNR) en tant que projet réalisé conjointement avec la Commission européenne pour le secteur européen de la navigation intérieure.

En ce qui concerne l’observation du marché, la coopération entre la Commission du Danube (CD) et la Commission centrale pour la navigation du Rhin (CCNR) a été systématisée depuis la signature de l’Arrangement administratif en 2015 entre la CD et la Direction générale de la mobilité et des transports de la Commission européenne. Une méthodologie commune a été définie sur la base de cet arrangement par les Secrétariats en 2017, aux fins de la publication de l’observation du marché, et a ensuite continué à évoluer dans le cadre de réunions bilatérales.

Le Secrétariat de la CD transmet quatre rapports par an à la CCNR, donnant un aperçu détaillé de la structure et du développement du marché de la navigation intérieure dans la région du Danube, et contribuant ainsi à l’observation du marché européen dans son ensemble, coordonnée par la CCNR.

La Commission du Danube attache une grande importance à l’observation du marché, qui lui permet de suivre, en temps réel, les activités économiques du secteur de la navigation danubienne par rapport au développement économique global de la région du Danube, d’une part, et le positionnement concurrentiel du secteur par rapport aux autres modes de transport, d’autre part, en accordant une attention particulière à la forte corrélation entre l’état des chenaux et les performances du marché. Nos rapports trimestriels et le rapport de synthèse annuel, publiés sur le site web de la Commission du Danube, sont salués par le secteur de la navigation intérieure et les administrations publiques comme des contributions importantes aux activités commerciales et à l’élaboration des politiques.

Depuis la mi-mars 2020, le marché du transport de marchandises sur le Danube a été fortement impacté par la pandémie de Covid-19, qui a engendré un recul économique dans tous les États danubiens et une baisse de l’offre et de la demande dans les principaux segments du marché danubien des transports. Les pertes les plus importantes ont été enregistrées dans le secteur du transport de passagers, sachant que des volumes de trafic record ont été atteints en 2019, tant sur le Danube supérieur que dans le delta du Danube, avec plus de 190 bateaux de croisière à cabine naviguant sur le Danube.

En 2021 et au-delà, le marché du transport de marchandises pourrait subir les effets des quotas existants pour les importations d’acier dans les pays de l’UE, ainsi que celui de l’introduction attendue aux frontières d’une taxe carbone sur les importations de produits métallurgiques, chimiques, de pétrole et de produits pétroliers dans l’UE.
Comme en 2020, une certaine stabilité pourra être assurée en 2021 en ce qui concerne le transport de marchandises sur le Danube, grâce au transport de céréales, principalement à partir des ports du Danube moyen vers les ports maritimes du Danube, et notamment vers Constanƫa. Les premiers stocks de céréales constitués à partir de la récolte de 2020 dans les pays du Danube, et les volumes satisfaisants récoltés en 2021, devraient permettre de réaliser cet équilibre. Le transport de fourrage et de produits chimiques (engrais), ainsi que de produits pétroliers, devrait rester stable.

Les prévisions pour le secteur du transport de passagers sur le Danube annoncent une éventuelle reprise de son activité principale en 2022. Celle-ci dépendra, avant tout, des restrictions nationales liées à la pandémie. Dans le même temps, avec l’assouplissement des restrictions nationales et locales, les itinéraires distincts, tant sur les lignes de croisière que sur les lignes de transport local, pourraient être repris dans une certaine mesure en 2021.

Compte tenu des défis auxquels est confronté le secteur du transport fluvial et de la nécessité d’atteindre les objectifs du Pacte vert pour l’Europe et de la Stratégie de mobilité durable et intelligente, des informations complètes et précises sur le secteur européen du transport fluvial deviendront encore plus cruciales et constitueront une condition préalable à la réalisation de l’objectif ambitieux consistant à transférer sensiblement plus de marchandises vers les voies navigables intérieures. Par conséquent, je considère que le rapport conjoint sur l’observation du marché est une pierre angulaire de la réussite des mesures politiques futures conformément au plan d’action NAIADES 2021-2027 pour la navigation intérieure.

Le Secrétariat de la Commission du Danube se félicite de la coopération avec la CCNR dans le domaine de l’observation du marché, qui est l’illustration d’une initiative très fructueuse et d’une belle complémentarité, tant pour la qualité de l’analyse du marché que des prévisions en matière de développement, et qui continuera assurément à bénéficier du soutien indéfectible de la Commission du Danube.

 

Manfred Seitz
Directeur général du Secrétariat