• Economic indicators in the EU such as industrial production and trade (exports and imports) reduced sharply in 2019. This was aggravated by trade tensions, in particular between the US and China.

• Protectionist measures such as extra tariffs on cars and steel and the slowdown in industry production contributed to a decrease of 15% in iron ore transport on the Rhine between 2017 and 2019, which was aggravated by modal shifts in the wake of the low-water crisis of 2018.

• Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the EU Commission expects the EU economy to contract by 7.5% in 2020 and to grow by around 6% in 2021. A large downside risk to this projection is a longer-lasting pandemic.

 

Key macroeconomic developments in Europe in 2019

  • Europe saw a sharp contraction of several economic indicators in 2019, notably in the manufacturing sector (This part A is mainly based on European Economic Forecast of the European Commission (Autumn 2019), published in November 2019 (Institutional Paper 115)). A major reason for this manufacturing crisis were trade tensions, which already started to emerge between the US and China years ago and escalated further in 2019. Protectionist measures were also introduced by other countries. The most affected goods were grain, particularly soybean, cars and steel products (Source: United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), Review of Maritime Transport 2019).
  • These trade tensions were spilling over to Europe more and more, due to cross-border production and logistics chains. Several European car manufacturers produce cars in the US, which are sold to China, and vice-versa. Protectionist trade barriers such as extra tariffs on steel and cars had negative effects on European steel production, and on iron ore transport on the Rhine. Iron ore transport had been growing between 2013 to 2015, from 24.6 million tonnes up to 26.0 million tonnes, and remained stable until 2017. Between 2017 and 2019 it descended to 21.6 million tonnes. Iron ore transport in 2018 and 2019 also declined because steel manufacturers shifted certain volumes from barge to rail in view of the low water problems on the Rhine.
  • Countries with specific vulnerabilities are export-intensive economies such as Germany, the Netherlands, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovakia. In all of these countries, except for the Netherlands, car manufacturing has a significant share in industry production and the automobile cluster represents a relatively large part in overall added value and employment. The result was a weakening of EU industrial production and of EU exports and imports, which contrasted sharply with the positive trend that was present until 2017.
  •  

    FIGURES 1 AND 2: GROWTH RATE OF EU INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTION, EU EXPORTS AND EU IMPORTS PER QUARTER COMPARED TO THE PREVIOUS QUARTER* (IN %)



    Source: OECD Key Short-Term Economic Indicators
    * Growth rates based on seasonally adjusted data.

     

  • Further improvements in the labour market, such as a declining unemployment rate and rising employment figures, acted as stabilizers for the European economy in 2019, and held up private consumption at a high level.

 
 

Macroeconomic outlook for 2020 and 2021

Macroeconomic scenarios

  • Given the large uncertainties and tremendous challenges that the Covid-19 pandemic imposes on the global economy it is extremely difficult to give an outlook of what can be expected. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has therefore chosen to present an optimistic baseline scenario based on the assumption of a swift recovery of the economy in 2021 and three additional scenarios relating to a longer virus outbreak in 2020, a new outbreak in 2021, and a longer outbreak in 2020 plus a new outbreak in 2021.
  • In the optimistic baseline scenario of the IMF, the pandemic is assumed to fade in the second half of 2020, allowing for a gradual lifting of containment measures. Yet, in this optimistic scenario, the global economy is projected to contract sharply by -3.0% in 2020, far worse than during the 2008-2009 financial crisis. The forecast for the European Union points to a stronger initial decline (-7.1%) than for other parts of the world (This part is based on the World Economic Outlook, published in April 2020 by the International Monetary Fund (IMF)).
  •  

    FIGURE 3: PERCENTAGE CHANGE OF GROSS DOMESTIC PRODUCT (IN CONSTANT PRICES) COMPARED TO ONE YEAR EARLIER AND THE FORECAST FOR 2020 AND 2021 IN THE OPTIMISTIC BASELINE SCENARIO


    Source: IMF World Economic Outlook Database, Outlook from April 2020
     

    • Similar to the IMF projections, the macroeconomic forecast of the European Commission of 6 May 2020 (ECFIN Spring 2020 Economic Forecast) (See: European Commission (2020), Spring 2020 Economic Forecast: A deep and uneven recession, an uncertain recovery; https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/ip_20_799 (4 June 2020)) for 2020-2021 projects that the Euro Area economy will contract by a record 7.8% in 2020 and grow by 6.3% in 2021. The EU economy is forecast to contract by 7.5% in 2020 and grow by around 6% in 2021. The risks surrounding this forecast are exceptionally large and concentrated on the downside. A more severe and longer lasting pandemic than currently envisaged could cause a far larger fall in GDP than assumed in the baseline scenario of this forecast.
    • In the optimistic baseline scenario of the IMF, the global economy is projected to recover in 2021, and grow by 5.8% in 2021 (the EU by 4.8%). However, there are also three other IMF scenarios, reflecting the possibility that the pandemic could be more persistent than assumed.
    • The first alternative scenario assumes that the fight against the spread of the virus in 2020 takes roughly 50% longer than assumed in the baseline scenario. If this were to be the case, then global output would be 3% lower than in the optimistic baseline scenario in 2020. Although the initial decline would be stronger for advanced economies such as the European Union, their higher fiscal capacity and greater financial resources to fight against the crisis and to maintain incomes are assumed to result in less economic scars (long term effects on unemployment, public debts) compared to emerging market economies.
    • The second alternative scenario considers the impact of another, but milder, outbreak occurring in 2021. In this second alternative scenario, global output in 2021 would be almost 5% below the optimistic baseline scenario in 2021.
    • The third alternative scenario assumes the potential impact of both the outbreak lasting longer in 2020 and a second outbreak occurring in 2021. In this case, global output in 2021 would be almost 8% below the optimistic baseline scenario. Tighter financial conditions and more limited fiscal space in emerging market economies would again amplify the impact in these countries.
    • The European Central Bank (ECB) and other central banks are fighting against the crisis with large asset purchase programmes. Current forecasts do not point to a high rate of inflation in 2020, at least not for the Euro area (According to the IMF forecast from April 2020, average consumer prices in the Euro area are expected to grow by only 0.23% in 2020, and by 0.98% in 2021, after a rate of 1.2% in 2019). A weak consumer demand and falling energy and commodity prices are thought to hold inflation rates down. For several countries in eastern Europe, however, inflation is nevertheless a threat, as their currencies are devaluating, due to the flight of capital into ‘safe haven currencies’ such as the US Dollar, Japanese Yen and Swiss Franc. For eastern European countries, this might lead to imported inflation.
    •  

    Commodity prices

    • International and domestic travel restrictions throughout the world and a sharp reduction in road traffic are leading to an unprecedented decline in oil demand, as the transport sector accounts for more than 60% of global oil demand. Between August 2019 and March 2020, oil prices fell from $57.60 to $32.30 (-39.6%). Major oil producing countries failed to reach an agreement to reduce production, which accelerated the decline (See: New York Times, Oil Prices Nose-Dive as OPEC and Russia Fail to Reach a Deal, 6 March 2020). This price evolution goes hand in hand with a sharp accumulation in oil stocks, voluntary production cuts and a reduction in oil output. Futures markets indicate that oil prices will remain below $45 per barrel through 2023, reflecting persistently weak demand.
    • Basic metal prices fell by 15% from mid-January to end of March 2020. Metals prices are expected to decrease by 15% in 2020 and by 5.6% in 2021, compared to 2020.
    •  

      FIGURES 4 AND 5: CRUDE OIL PRICE (US-$ PER BARREL) AND METAL PRICES (INDEX 2016 = 100) INCLUDING FORECAST



      Source: IMF World Economic Outlook Database
      Crude oil price = simple average of three spot prices (Dated Brent, West Texas Intermediate, and Dubai Fateh), US$ per barrel. Metals price index includes copper, aluminum, iron ore, tin, nickel, zinc, lead, and uranium price indices.

       

    • Food products and oil seeds are important cargo types in inland navigation. Solid rapeseed is transported by inland vessels to ports, where it is used as raw material for rapeseed oil and biofuel production. Rapeseed oil prices are expected to be 5% lower in 2020 than in 2019. The decrease in prices from 2020 to 2021 should then reach 3%.
ut venenatis, et, Donec id Praesent adipiscing sed quis, odio mi,

• Les indicateurs économiques de l’UE tels que la production industrielle, les exportations et les importations ont fortement diminué en 2019. Cette situation a été aggravée par des tensions commerciales, en particulier, entre les États-Unis et la Chine.

• Les mesures protectionnistes qui en ont résulté, telles que les droits de douane supplémentaires sur les voitures et l’acier et le ralentissement de la production industrielle, ont contribué, entre 2017 et 2019, à une baisse de 15 % du transport de minerai de fer sur le Rhin, aggravée par les reports modaux engendrés par la crise des basses eaux de 2018.

• En raison de la pandémie de Covid-19, la Commission européenne s’attend à ce que l’économie de l’UE se contracte de 7,5 % en 2020 et affiche une croissance d’environ 6 % en 2021. Cette projection tient compte du risque majeur de prolongation de la pandémie.

 
 

Principales évolutions macroéconomiques en Europe en 2019

  • L’Europe a connu une forte contraction de plusieurs indicateurs économiques en 2019, notamment dans le secteur manufacturier (Cette partie A est principalement basée sur les Prévisions économiques européennes de la Commission européenne (automne 2019), qui ont été publiées en novembre 2019 (Document institutionnel 115)). Cette crise manufacturière s’explique principalement par les tensions commerciales qui ont commencé à apparaître entre les États-Unis et la Chine il y a des années déjà et se sont encore aggravées en 2019. Des mesures protectionnistes ont également été introduites par d’autres pays. Les marchandises les plus touchées étaient les céréales, en particulier le soja, les véhicules automobiles et les produits sidérurgiques (Source : Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement (CNUCED), Étude sur les transports maritimes 2019).
  • Ces tensions commerciales se sont étendues de plus en plus en Europe, en raison des chaînes de production et de logistique transfrontalières. Plusieurs constructeurs automobiles européens produisent des voitures aux États-Unis, qui sont vendues à la Chine, et vice-versa. Les barrières commerciales protectionnistes telles que les droits de douane supplémentaires sur l’acier et les voitures ont eu des effets négatifs sur la production européenne d’acier et sur le transport de minerai de fer sur le Rhin. Le transport de minerai de fer a augmenté entre 2013 et 2015, passant de 24,6 millions de tonnes à 26,0 millions de tonnes, et est resté stable jusqu’en 2017. Entre 2017 et 2019, il est descendu à 21,6 millions de tonnes. Le transport de minerai de fer a également diminué en 2018 et 2019, certains volumes ayant été transférés de la barge vers le rail en raison des problèmes d’étiage sur le Rhin.
  • Les pays présentant des vulnérabilités spécifiques sont ceux possédant des économies à forte intensité d’exportation, tels que l’Allemagne, les Pays-Bas, la Hongrie, la République tchèque et la Slovaquie. Dans tous ces pays, à l’exception des Pays-Bas, la construction automobile représente une part importante de la production industrielle et le cluster automobile représente une part relativement importante de la valeur ajoutée globale et de l’emploi. Il en a résulté un affaiblissement de la production industrielle de l’UE ainsi que des exportations et des importations de l’UE, ce qui contraste fortement avec la tendance positive observée jusqu’en 2017.
  •  

    FIGURES 1 ET 2: TAUX DE CROISSANCE TRIMESTRIEL DE LA PRODUCTION INDUSTRIELLE, DES EXPORTATIONS ET DES IMPORTATIONS DE L’UE PAR RAPPORT AU TRIMESTRE PRECEDENT* (EN %)



    Source: OCDE, Indicateurs économiques clés à court terme
    * Taux de croissance basés sur des données corrigées des variations saisonnières.

     

  • De nouvelles améliorations du marché du travail, telles qu’une baisse du taux de chômage et une augmentation des chiffres de l’emploi, ont agi comme des stabilisateurs pour l’économie européenne en 2019, et ont maintenu la consommation privée à un niveau élevé.

 
 

Perspectives macroéconomiques pour 2020 et 2021

Scénarios macroéconomiques

  • Compte tenu des grandes incertitudes et des défis considérables que la pandémie de Covid-19 impose à l’économie mondiale, il est extrêmement difficile de donner un aperçu de ce à quoi on peut s’attendre. Le FMI a donc choisi de présenter un scénario de référence optimiste reposant sur l’hypothèse d’une reprise rapide de l’économie en 2021 et trois autres scénarios envisageant une épidémie de virus plus longue en 2020, une nouvelle épidémie en 2021 et une épidémie plus longue en 2020 suivie d’une nouvelle épidémie en 2021.
  • Dans le scénario de référence optimiste du FMI, la pandémie devrait s’atténuer au second semestre 2020, permettant une levée progressive des mesures de confinement. Pourtant, dans ce scénario optimiste, l’économie mondiale devrait connaître une forte contraction de -3,0 % en 2020, ce qui serait bien pire que lors de la crise financière de 2008-2009. Les prévisions pour l’Union européenne indiquent une baisse initiale plus forte (-7,1%) que pour d’autres régions du monde (Cette partie repose sur les Perspectives de l’économie mondiale, publiées en avril 2020 par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI)).
  •  

    FIGURE 3: VARIATION EN POURCENTAGE DU PRODUIT INTERIEUR BRUT (A PRIX CONSTANTS) PAR RAPPORT A L’ANNEE PRECEDENTE ET AUX PREVISIONS POUR 2020 ET 2021 DANS LE SCENARIO DE REFERENCE OPTIMISTE


    Source: Base de données du FMI sur les perspectives de l’économie mondiale, perspectives d’avril 2020
     

    • Tout comme les projections du FMI, les prévisions macroéconomiques de la Commission européenne du 6 mai 2020 (Prévisions économiques du printemps 2020 faites par la DG ECFIN) (Voir Commission européenne (2020), Prévisions économiques du printemps 2020 : une récession profonde et inégale, une reprise incertaine ; https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/fr/ip_20_799 (4 juin 2020)) pour 2020-2021 prévoient que l’économie de la zone euro enregistrera une contraction record de -7,8 % en 2020, et augmentera de 6,3 % en 2021. L’économie de l’UE devrait se contracter de -7,5% en 2020 et croître d’environ 6% en 2021. Les risques entourant cette prévision sont exceptionnellement importants et concentrés sur la baisse. Une pandémie plus grave et plus durable que celle qui est actuellement envisagée pourrait entraîner une chute du PIB bien plus importante que celle envisagée dans le scénario de référence de cette prévision.
    • Dans le scénario de référence optimiste du FMI, l’économie mondiale devrait se redresser et croître de 5,8% en 2021 (l’UE de 4,8%). Il existe toutefois également trois autres scénarios du FMI incluant la possibilité que la pandémie soit plus persistante que prévu.
    • Le premier scénario alternatif suppose que la lutte contre la propagation du virus en 2020 prendra environ 50% plus de temps que prévu dans le scénario de référence. Si tel était le cas, la production mondiale serait de 3% inférieure à celle envisagée dans le scénario de référence optimiste de 2020. Bien que la baisse initiale serait plus forte pour les économies avancées telles que l’Union européenne, leur capacité fiscale plus élevée et leurs ressources financières plus importantes pour lutter contre la crise et pour maintenir les revenus devraient laisser moins de séquelles économiques (effets à long terme sur le chômage, dettes publiques) par rapport aux économies de marché émergentes.
    • Le deuxième scénario alternatif envisage l’impact d’une autre épidémie, plus modérée, qui surviendrait en 2021. Dans ce deuxième scénario alternatif, la production mondiale en 2021 serait inférieure de près de 5% au scénario de référence optimiste en 2021.
    • Le troisième scénario alternatif suppose l’impact potentiel combiné d’une épidémie qui durerait plus longtemps en 2020 et d’une seconde épidémie qui surviendrait en 2021. Dans ce cas, la production mondiale serait, en 2021, inférieure de près de 8% au scénario de référence optimiste. Un resserrement des conditions financières et une marge de manœuvre budgétaire plus limitée dans les économies de marché émergentes amplifieraient à nouveau l’impact dans ces pays.
    • La Banque centrale européenne (BCE) et d’autres banques centrales luttent contre la crise en s’appuyant sur de vastes programmes d’achat d’actifs. Les prévisions actuelles n’indiquent pas un taux d’inflation élevé pour 2020, du moins pas dans la zone euro (Selon les prévisions faites par le FMI en avril 2020, les prix moyens à la consommation dans la zone euro ne devraient augmenter que de 0,23 % en 2020, et de 0,98 % en 2021, après avoir affiché un taux de 1,2 % en 2019). La faiblesse de la demande des consommateurs et la baisse des prix de l’énergie et des matières premières devraient maintenir les taux d’inflation à un niveau bas. Pour plusieurs pays d’Europe de l’Est, l’inflation constitue néanmoins une menace, car leurs monnaies se dévaluent en raison de la fuite des capitaux vers des « monnaies refuges » telles que le dollar américain, le yen japonais et le franc suisse. Pour les pays d’Europe de l’Est, cela pourrait conduire à une inflation importée.
    •  

    Prix des produits de base

    • Les restrictions imposées aux voyages internationaux et nationaux dans le monde entier et la forte réduction du trafic routier entraînent une baisse sans précédent de la demande de pétrole, puisque le secteur des transports représente plus de 60 % de la demande mondiale de pétrole. Entre août 2019 et mars 2020, les cours du pétrole sont tombés de 57,60 $ à 32,30 $ (-39,6%). Les principaux pays producteurs de pétrole ne sont pas parvenus à un accord pour réduire la production, ce qui a accéléré la chute (Voir: New York Times, Oil Prices Nose-Dive as OPEC and Russia Fail to Reach a Deal, 6 mars 2020). Cette évolution des prix va de pair avec une forte accumulation des stocks de pétrole, des réductions volontaires de la production et une diminution de la production pétrolière. Les marchés à terme indiquent que les cours du pétrole resteront en dessous de 45 $ le baril jusqu’en 2023, reflétant la faiblesse persistante de la demande.
    • Les prix des métaux de base ont chuté de 15 % entre la mi-janvier et la fin mars 2020. Les prix des métaux devraient diminuer de 15 % en 2020, et de 5,6% en 2021 par rapport à 2020.
    •  

      FIGURES 4 ET 5: COURS DU PETROLE BRUT ($ US LE BARIL) ET PRIX DES METAUX (INDEX 2016 = 100), PREVISIONS INCLUSES



      Source: FMI, base de données des Perspectives de l’économie mondiale
      Cours du pétrole brut = moyenne simple de trois cours au comptant (Dated Brent, West Texas Intermediate et Dubai Fateh), prix du baril en dollars US. L’indice des prix des métaux comprend les indices des cours du cuivre, de l’aluminium, du minerai de fer, de l’étain, du nickel, du zinc, du plomb et de l’uranium.

       

    • Les produits alimentaires et les graines oléagineuses sont des types de marchandises qui tiennent une place importante en navigation intérieure. Les tourteaux de colza sont transportés par des bateaux de navigation intérieure jusqu’aux ports, où ils sont utilisés comme matière première pour la production d’huile de colza et de biocarburants. En 2020, les prix de l’huile de colza devraient être inférieurs de 5 % par rapport à 2019. La baisse des prix de 2020 à 2021 devrait alors atteindre 3%.
adipiscing eget justo venenatis Sed quis, et,